We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an absolute find!”

Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen
Ranked #806 of 23,009 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $52
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Using home-grown spices and fresh ingredients, Potli brings Indian market-style cuisine to London. Serving a huge selection of griddled starters and curries cooked in traditional clay pots, the menu features a fantastic array of tastes and aromas. Already included in the much coveted Tatler's Restaurant Guide 2013 & Michelin Guide, Potli brings the best of Indian bazaar spices from the whole of India to Hammersmith & Chiswick districts of London. Potli offers you fantastic value for money. Along with an extensive wine list, authentic Indian-spiced cocktails are popular choices. Non-alcoholic varieties are also available, as well as fresh churned yogurt drink called lassis.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“an absolute find!”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This is a tremendous restaurant. The food is of a very high quality and Potli has a totally different menu to a "standard " Indian menu. The mixture of tastes is exquisite,the quality of ingredients is high and clearly the management care about the standard always coming to your table to ensure that the product is to your satisfaction and taking on board your comments.
The staff are very helpful and charming and the manager is highly competent and welcoming.
We always feel welcome and feel like guests rather than just another passing punter.So much so that the manager remembers what your favourite wines\beers and choices are!
Their poppadum basket is delicious and different together with the accompanying chutneys. the last time I had such good poppadums was in India,
Do try it.It is very good

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank izabela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamPotli, Guest Relations Manager at Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Customer,
Thanks a lot for the fantastic praise you have showered on us!
Our aim is to recreate the market place experience of India. Customers like you have made Potli as one of the best Indian restaurant in London & we promise to keep innovating our self further.

We will be delighted to welcome you at Potli again.

Kind regards-Team Potli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    101
    32
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Amazing all round!”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We were introduced to this place with an offer in Time Out, and it's an amazing place! Nicely away from the hubbub of Hammersmith, this place is a super find. The staff are really friendly, and the food is fantastic - one of the best Indian meals we've ever had! The chutneys to go with the poppadoms are all made in-house - the fresh mint and coriander one is delicious. The starters (tilapia and sheek kebab) and mains (jalfrezi and lamb), as well as the amazingly light naan were all mouth-watering... The salt and pepper tea is also worth a try (sounds questionable, tastes delicious!). The interior and atmosphere is really nice, and we loved the old Indian tin advert boards, and the balti-pan wash basins! We will definitely be returning here!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Orange_Sakura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamPotli, Guest Relations Manager at Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Customer,
It is indeed a pleasure to receive such a good review from you.
As you have experienced, the team at Potli is working very hard to ensure the experience we had during our upbringing in India is replicated the best possible way.
When we receive such good reviews from satisfied customers, it drives us even further.

Kind regards-team Potli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good fresh food well organized”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Consistenty good food served with enthusiasm. Unusual dishes all of which i found worth trying. Don't be put off by the shabby outside, it's comfy and smart inside.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank nettie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamPotli, Public Relations Manager at Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Customer,
Thanks a lot for the great review you have given us.
Potli is a place to get the best Indian market experience and we are working ever so hard to bring the authentic Indian flavors to you.

We will be looking forward to see you soon at Potli.

Kind regards-Team Potli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Best 'British' Indian food I've tasted...”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Firstly I've never had the pleasure of visiting the Indian subcontinent BUT I have tried plenty of Indian restaurants the length and breadth of the UK and Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen comes out on top for me!

The atmosphere in the restaurant is cosy, quiet and relaxed (just what you need after a day in London's hectic city centre) and the service is great too; we were served by probably the most respectful, polite and humble guy imaginable. Bless him!

What we also liked about Potli was the creativity of their dishes...in fact even reading their menu was an enjoyable and mouth watering experience; it was clear that some thought and care had been given to them, which made it a refreshing change from standard Indian menu's everyone is used too here in the UK. I took some ideas away with me for the next time I experiment with Indian food.

The food itself was delicious and packed full of favour as promised by the menu description; I have no idea whether it was authentic or not but it tasted great and I suppose that's what counts, right? We're also weren't lumbered with a big hefty bill that you can become accustomed to whilst visiting London, which represented great value for money.

Location wise...well we were staying in Chiswick, so the restaurant was within walking distance however it's a little out of the way if you're staying in a more central location.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamPotli, Public Relations Manager at Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Customer,
Thanks for the review you have given us. We can assure you that the food at Potli is as close the the authentic market food of Indian as possible. Our inspiration has come from these great eating joints in Indian which only specialize in one kind of dish. The modern Indian cuisine has indeed had a great influence from these places.
The team at Potli is dedicated to bring those experiences to London.
We are looking forward to welcome you at Potli when you visit London again.

Kind regards-Team Potli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fresh ingredients and a bag of special spices”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This little gem has it all... fresh ingredients, sophisticated spicing ... Indian food at is best, investing in the flavors and not overwhelmed by the heat. Hand ground spices that the chef keeps simple and yet exactly right and exciting to the palate. Add to that, a great staff and a very generous and articulate Manager, Bharat... I will take a meal here every visit I make to London.
How refreshing to avoid the "old" Indian cooking with clarified butter and too much "Vindaloo", it has been replaced by clean flavors with appropriate spices.
The desert choices are also a new concept for an Indian restaurant - they are great!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michaelmullally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamPotli, Public Relations Manager at Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Customer,
Thanks a lot for such a great review.
As you have rightly mentioned, we are keen to bring all the flavors of the spices not just chillies and the idea is to keep the identity of the dishes to its origin.
Your mention about the service is also well appreciated. It gives the team a lot of motivation.
We can't wait enough to welcome you here again.

Kind regards- Team Potli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing