We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average Indian food”

Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen
Ranked #976 of 23,873 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $42 - $49
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Using home-grown spices and fresh ingredients, Potli brings Indian market-style cuisine to London. Serving a huge selection of griddled starters and curries cooked in traditional clay pots, the menu features a fantastic array of tastes and aromas. Already included in the much coveted Tatler's Restaurant Guide 2013 & Michelin Guide, Potli brings the best of Indian bazaar spices from the whole of India to Hammersmith & Chiswick districts of London. Potli offers you fantastic value for money. Along with an extensive wine list, authentic Indian-spiced cocktails are popular choices. Non-alcoholic varieties are also available, as well as fresh churned yogurt drink called lassis.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

London is blessed with thousands of Indian restaurants, and I'm very pleased to have found this one - so close to home.
After the over-indulgence of Christmas food, curry was needed to re-boot the taste buds.
The basket of assorted papadems was more interesting than usual, the chutneys were as expected.
First course was Chicken Tikka Trio - three different tikkas: do try and go mildest upwards, as they get quite spicy. The quality of the chicken was reassuring.
My main of course of Chicken Handi was unexciting but that was my fault as I was obviously over-chickened and the sauce seemed similar to the starter. Husband's Mutton curry - on the bone was great.
Side order of Achari Baigan (Baby aubergine) was particularly good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LOVE2EAT56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamPotli, Public Relations Manager at Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Customer,
Thanks a lot for the review. We can constantly trying our best to bring the best of Indian market cuisine to London. We hope next time you will enjoy your main dish too! We have recently launched our new menu & hope this time round the dishes will not disappoint you.
Hope to see you at Potli soon!

Warm regards,
Team Potli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (438)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 316 of 439 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Heard a lot about this place from my friends who have visited this outstanding restaurant so made a visit.
The very first experience of greeting and seating made us feel like home away from home.
The food is excellent with authentic indian flavours and blended with perfect spices.
Sweetpotatoto chaat, lamb chops, fish, chicken tikka trio, and patrani prawns were just amazing.
All my friends also enjoyed their dishes as we all shared the food. The lamb coco fry is a definite to try for and their house speciality in the menu as we ordered all the house specialities.
The staff and the manager are very helpful and attentive and they know about their food and drinks.
Will recommend all my friends n will pay a visit soon with work colleagues
Excellent

Thank barcacity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamPotli, Public Relations Manager at Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Dear Customer,
Thanks for the amazing compliments! Comments like this goes a long way to keep our team motivated to consistently deliver the best of the Indian market cuisine.
Please do visit us to try our new menu where the chefs have created dishes to surprise you.
Look forward to see you soon.

Warm regards,
Team Potli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

So yes, if you want an authentic indian meal in London, forget Southall, East London etc and head to this one in the heart of the city. We have been visitng this place for team dinners and office parties and it is definately "THE BEST". We have tried around 20-25 odd indian restaraunts before we found this place. The best thing about Potli is, they maintain the authenticity of the recipe. Unlike any other indian restaraunt, you can ask the staff for the best dish and the one they recommend you for that night will for sure, not disappoint. Friendly staff, Awesome Food, nice ambience. I cannot point out their best item as everything they do or have on the menu is just awesome. You will see/notice the difference as soon as you enter the place. Oh and how can I forget their big list of cocktails with chillies and ginger? Definately recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rajesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamPotli, Public Relations Manager at Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear Customer,
Season's greetings.
Thanks a lot for the review you have posted for us. To receive a review of this magnitude is overwhelming. Our ambition at Potli is to bring the best of the dishes from the marketplaces in India; from where the modern Indian cuisine has evolved.
You will be happy to know that we have been included in the Lonely Planet Guide recently.
We look forward welcome you at Potli again in the new year.
Warm wishes-Team Potli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We have been there on my hubby's b'day. Restaurant was good,they have two seating ground floor n downstairs. Restaurant was full n they kept our table booked downstairs as our toddler was with us. Kitchen is open in downstairs so we can see how they r cooking through the glass of course. Food was delicious with some thing different. Food quality n quantity both was fine. Price is also fine.Staff was very good,polite n friendly. I recommended this restaurant to our friends. We will go again there

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank swatipareek24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamPotli, Public Relations Manager at Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear Customer,
Season's greetings.
Thanks a lot for the review you have posted for us.
Our ambition at Potli is to bring the best of the dishes from the marketplaces in India; from where the modern Indian cuisine has evolved. Next time please let us know your choice of floor (seating) so that we can reserve a nice table for you.
You will be happy to know that we have been included in the Lonely Planet Guide recently.
We look forward welcome you at Potli again in the new year.
Warm wishes-Team Potli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

They looked after my table, and tweaked dishes for my kids too. I've had takeaways also from this place, simply great value for money, and leagues ahead of the usual curry house.
We eat out a lot and I'm Indian, so know what I'm eating , everything is fresh, well spiced and nicely served with polite staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sp1q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamPotli, Public Relations Manager at Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Dear Customer,
Season's greetings.
Thanks a lot for the review you have posted for us.
Our ambition at Potli is to bring the best of the dishes from the marketplaces in India; from where the modern Indian cuisine has evolved. Next time please let us know in advance for any more special dishes you may require for the kids.
You will be happy to know that we have been included in the Lonely Planet Guide recently.
We look forward welcome you at Potli again in the new year.
Warm wishes-Team Potli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing