We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Madcat get-together”

Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen
Ranked #578 of 24,258 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $42 - $49
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Using home-grown spices and fresh ingredients, Potli brings Indian market-style cuisine to London. Serving a huge selection of griddled starters and curries cooked in traditional clay pots, the menu features a fantastic array of tastes and aromas. Already included in the much coveted Tatler's Restaurant Guide 2013 & Michelin Guide, Potli brings the best of Indian bazaar spices from the whole of India to Hammersmith & Chiswick districts of London. Potli offers you fantastic value for money. Along with an extensive wine list, authentic Indian-spiced cocktails are popular choices. Non-alcoholic varieties are also available, as well as fresh churned yogurt drink called lassis.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

It was a great experience to meet the Madcats at Potli. Our get together was well complimented by the décor and atmosphere of the restaurant.
We were very much engrossed in chatting and old memories but as soon as starters arrived, we were totally into food.
Although I am also from restaurant industry, starters really amazed me. They were regular Indian street foods with a twist. Specially Aloo Tikki crumb fried with sev (gram flour vermicelli) provided crunchiness and royal touch to this humble potato patty. Similarly prawns and chicken dishes were different and delicious.
The red wine offered to me was from France from Sangiovese Grapes and blended very well with mouth watering Lamb curry.
I had also been offered Rose wine from Malbec, Argentina and it was great, crisp and refreshing.
Dessert was even better, Bengali speciality from Patron Chef Jay Gosh: Sandesh with melted chocolate topping, beyond expectation.
To top it up, we enjoyed aromatic masala chai in the relaxing atmosphere of basement dining area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Manoj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamPotli, Guest Relations Manager at Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor!

We were pleased to welcome you during the Madcat reunion.
We have put much thought into bringing authentic Indian Marketplace cuisine to London, and are happy to see you enjoyed your time here. Indeed, our regularly renovated menu is carefully designed, every dish being individually spiced and cooked using fresh local produce combined with exotic spices.
Our team has also done its best to incorporate a decor which we feel represents our Indian Market Kitchen concept, to enhance Potli’s dining atmosphere.
As a result of our passionate work and the fantastic support of our customers, Potli has been recently admitted into exclusive guides such as the 2013 Tatler's Guide and the Good Food Guide for 2014!
We hope to see you again soon and give you another 5 star dining experience.

Kind regards,
Team-Potli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (445)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

341 - 345 of 445 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

Potli is an Indian restaurant with a Difference, which shines out in its decor, it's ethos, it's service and especially it's food, which wasting no time, is superb.

It is an 'authentic Indian restaurant' in bringing the best dishes from various regions, and cooking them to the highest standards with quality ingredients imported from India or. it's decor from decorations to its unusual cutlery (I must get some!) highlights its difference.

ervice is always excellent, from keen knowledgeable staff, and an energetic engaging manager. as for the food, it is simply some of the best Indian food I Have had anywhere, and this in an area where competition is high and customers demanding. d particularly recommend, the chicken lollipops, paneer shashlick and lamb haramasala, though you may want more than one visit to explore the menu over time.. Check out the cocktail bar with Indian snakes and ladders to pla while you wait!

Really can't recommend tis place highly enough, it is authentic, spicy (unlike other higher end restaurants that have 'food cooked by Indians' that is weakly spiced for western palate) , potli portion generously and spice well.

The only improvements can see would be to increase the range of the menu..and so saying, having dined here many times, there is often 'something we are trying out' that can be had which works its way into seasonal changes by the manager.

Do not miss the experience and the food of this outstanding restaurant, it's atmosphere, service and particularly their food are simply marvellous.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Iain T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamPotli, Guest Relations Manager at Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Dear Customer,

We greatly appreciate your fantastic review on TripAdvisor!
It's always encouraging for us to see that our customers recognise the efforts we have invested in not only the quality of our food and service, but also our decor and atmosphere. We consider the bar to be an important part of the action here at Potli: where drinks are prepared, where customers can come in and order take away, where our guests can enjoy a drink while partaking in conversation with the bartenders. Children and adults alike playing snakes and ladders together at the table near the bar is also a common site.
Potli ensures the quality of food you described thanks to the marrying of spices imported from India and fresh local produce. We are also appreciated for our list of delicious cocktails as well as mocktails, some of which are also spiced.
Despite the amount of fantastic reviews we receive, we always strive to improve and perform to our very maximum in order to offer our guests the best possible experience.
I'm sure you'll be pleased to discover that Potli has recently been included in the distinguished 2013 Tatler's Guide as well as the Good Food Guide for 2014!
We look forward to having you here again soon.

Kind regards,
Team Potli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

What can say about the place where I couldn't find a single negative. Being in the same profession I have been little critical when coming to this wonderful place. But it utterly changed my perception of Indian food in Britain. Having eaten best Indian food around London I can only tell you about "Potli" is.....
"This is it"
Despite the phenomenal food... The service is exceptional. The restaurant's decore gels together with the concept and above all the professionalism delivered by staff can't be explained in mere words.
Bharat the restaurant manager has the best mannerisms one can ever get in service industry. Excellent product knowledge and salesman skills.

"Well done and all the very best for keeping up the good work"

Don't forget to try the special drink--
GOL BAZAAR

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Homebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamPotli, Guest Relations Manager at Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor! It was great having you as our guest last night.
As you noted, we have invested much thought and effort into bringing authentic Indian Marketplace cuisine and excellent service to our customers, as well as a decor which we feel best fits our market kitchen concept. It is thus inspiring to us that you appreciated all these aspects of Potli upon your visit.
We are indeed well known for our cocktails as well as our mocktails, or "unspiked funs" and are delighted that you enjoyed our Gol Bazaar, one of our very popular drinks.
You may be pleased to discover that as a result of our hard and passionate work and the support of our customers, Potli has been recently admitted into exclusive guides such as the 2013 Tatler's Guide and the Good Food Guide for 2014!
We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Team-Potli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Had a very lovely birthday meal tonight. Interesting original dishes, more than generous portions. A real cut above your standard Indian restaurant. Yet the place was half empty. It's bizarre - cooking this good would normally ensure the place was packed. I used to love Indian Zing (just down the road) but the food at Potli is so much more original and flavourful. It's a shame as it means the place seems a little forlorn, and the service is strangely slow for somewhere so quiet.

It must be down to its location, in a particularly dead part of King Street - not exactly London's most salubrious street at the best of times.

But if you want Indian food that's a cut above the norm I can only urge you to go. Just leave me a table!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kahn-B-arsst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamPotli, Guest Relations Manager at Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your lovely review on TripAdvisor!
We have done our best to bring delicious Indian Marketplace cuisine to London by combining exotic spices with fresh local produce in a carefully designed and regularly renovated menu, and are pleased to see that you enjoyed our dishes.
Because we our widely known for our food and cocktail list, many of our guests are regular customers. As a result, we are often very busy, especially on Fridays and Saturdays.
Our team works hard to bring the best possible experience to our customers and are disappointed that your service was slow for some reason. I'm sure we will rectify this and ensure an even better experience upon your next visit.
You may be pleased to discover that we have recently been admitted into the 2013 Tatler's Guide as well as the Good Food Guide for 2014.
We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Team-Potli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Loved the food, loved the service, loved the interesting and different dishes to choose from and tasted nothing quite like it before. Everything was amazing, fresh, perfectly spiced, perfectly cooked lamb that melted in your mouth, bursting full of flavours, perfect entree of red pepper stuffed with paneer which was outstanding. Everything, cold beers, nice wine which the waiter picked for me to drink with my choice of food, definitely definitely will be back next time in the area. In fact, could come back simply to return to this restaurant. Potli was recommended by some locals and thank goodness we listened and went along. Best food all holiday. Highly recommended for everything.....even the toilets were clean and very nicely decorated.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rowena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamPotli, Guest Relations Manager at Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your lovely review on TripAdvisor!
We have done our best to bring Indian Marketplace cuisine to London by marrying exotic spices and the freshest local produce, and are delighted to note that you appreciated these aspects of our dishes. Most of our customers are indeed locals of Hammersmith and Chiswick, and we are renown for our starters.
Our team here at Potli has worked passionately to achieve the quality of food and service you described, and always strive toward providing the best possible experience to our guests.
You may be pleased to discover that we have recently been admitted into the 2013 Tatler Guide as well as the Good Food Guide for 2014!
We hope to see in London again soon.

Kind regards,
Team-Potli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing