We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something changed....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Assaha Lebanese Restuarant - CLOSED

Assaha Lebanese Restuarant
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Something changed....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have been regulars at Assaha for the last three years. The food has been spectacular! The decor unusual and very inviting. We recommended it to a number of friends who also made it a favorite. Then late last year we noticed a subtle change... the owners were no longer present, food became more uneven, service, which was never outstanding, dropped a bit. Then this month, while in London, we made our required and obligatory visit with a group of friends. The menu has changed, prices are up and many of our favorites are gone. The most troublesome issue is that the food is just ordinary and the service is barely OK. It aws also rather empty for a Saturday night. The decor is still there...but something has changed.
Not worth the trip out of your way anymore.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Polichon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    45
    16
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very Nice Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stumbled across this restaurant as I was staying in the area, so thought I would try something different. Overall, very good - friendly staff, good food, and reasonably priced. i would go back again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank grizzly147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Honest Review!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Went there with a group of friends after seeing pictures online and although the reviews on tripadvisor were not as encouraging, decided to take the risk.. Oh what a mistake! We requested to be seated downstairs as online pictures showed it looked nicer but were told it was closed due to the heating not working. We later found out it was due to the hotel not doing very well. So parts of it were closed. Hotel was decorated nicely but this is where the positives ended really. Food came out very cold and in tiny portions. I do understand Lebanese portions could be sometimes smaller than other places but there just wasn’t enough food for anyone to feel satisfied after a starter and the main. Their hummous with bits of lamb looked disgusting and tasted horrible. Lamb looked like from years ago! My kebab would have been nicer, if served warm. But I finished it in 4 bites (could have done in two!). We left hungry and went to “Tinsel Town” around the corner to get something more filling.
Warning: Portion sizes are no indication of the bill size! Be aware, for very little and cold food you would pay a lot!!! I don’t remember the exact prices but I think it came up to nearly £30ish pp with drinks!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank London183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Enjoyed a quick meal at this Lebanese restaurant. Nothing fancy but food was fresh and well made. I was told it is a restaurant run by charity hence profits go to a charity.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad food!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We went here yesterday and the food was not good. Two people in our party got sick. Do not go here!!!

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sesilyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Assaha Lebanese Restuarant also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
Stratford City, London
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing