We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip Off Prices!”
Review of The Sun Inn

The Sun Inn
Reserve a Table
Bookatable
Ranked #7,762 of 28,624 Restaurants in London
Price range: $13 - $20
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Barnes' favourite watering hole.Overlooking the famous Barnes village pond, The Sun Inn is a gem of pub serving fresh, tasty pub food, in a friendly and relaxing atmosphere. We also pour a blimmin' great pint of locally brewed real ale and equally tasty Belgian beer. And being near to the banks of Old Father Thames, we're perfectly located for a spot of Pimm's o'clock during the boat race in April.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was a Barnes man for over 17 years, living in the village from 1988 until 1999, then just around the corner in Mortlake & Sheen until 2005. The Sun was my local, and even then was affordable, with sensible prices. I was shocked to visit recently, not only to discover that it is a chain, being Michel & Butlers, but that the drinks are just horrendously expensive! And 'designer' in style, with lagers that are just not what the real drinker wants, being Peroni, Staropramen , Moreti. Three of us had drinks here, being a pint of Peroni, a pint of lager shandy, being the, so called, 'cheapest' lager, Staropramen, and a cocktail. This was £19.00 plus!

This saddens me, as what I saw in the Sun was a rip off, and a pub trying to be local, but, actually, being run as, almost, a wine bar, with extortionate prices, and a feeling of us being fleeced. If I were STILL a resident in Barnes, I would to my utmost to boot these pubs up the backside, and petition for lower prices, as the problem is too many people put up with medicocrity, and rip off pricing in London. There is no need, when a stone's throw away, in equally leafy, and expensive Putney, The Rocket pub, on the river, charges £3.80 for a pint of premium lager, whereas The Sun, £5.75! We went to Putney and had the same drinks order, for £12.00! So, come on The Sun and M & B, stop fleecing your locals, as this IS a locals' pub, after all!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank BetterYesterdays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 167 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2019 via mobile

Decided to visit when having lunch with friends. I used to live in the area and it was always good but that was ten years ago. Wanted to see if it was still good - it definitely is.

Lovely warm welcome, fantastic selection of beer with a chance to taste a drop to be sure. Wide lunch menu with old favourites and new dishes. My friend had fish and chips. Huge portion, great value! I had the grilled aubergine, really full of oriental flavours. Split a brownie for dessert. Gooey and rich.

Overall it was a great meal and good to be back!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank MachiavellianSheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there! We are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience and of course some great food. Thank you so much for the kind words and the 5 star review! Feel free to stop by again anytime! Cheers, The Sun Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2019

Walking through Richmond park on Bank holiday Monday,decided instead of cooking lets go to Sun inn for quiz night.I understand it was busy so wine is warn easily fixed with ice bucket and water.And could have overlooked starters and mains being served at the same time.If not for the fact when we brought it to the servers attention she argued wiith us instead of just saying sorry (as you would expect to happen) and because of this didnt come back to the table at all.Hubby had to flag them down to take our plates away and son would have had a pudding.The food is decent it was the service that let it down.And the quiz was fun but please police the phones a bit more.This was our 2nd visit and the first time had a lovely young man serve us.This time the 2 young ladies had bad attitudes and managed to ruin the meal.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank carladeehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2019 via mobile

Had lunch alfresco and was astonished

We had squid and balsamic tarte followed by tuna and Caesar salad with a bottle of Chardonnay

The food was just sensational

The wine and service excellent

Can’t wait to go back as the menu has so many dishes we want to try

Loved it

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Dawkinsrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2019

Hi there!

Glad to hear you had an amazing lunch here at The Sun Inn, we hope to see you again soon!

All the best,

The Sun Inn team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2019

A glass of port and sticky toffee pudding at The Sun, just after England won the rugby today. Perfection.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank robertfirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2019

Dear robertfirth,

We’re glad you enjoyed watching the six nations with us!

Come back on the 9th!

Best,

The Sun Inn team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sun Inn also viewed

 
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
 

Been to The Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing