We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality and affordable price”
Review of Eat Tokyo

Eat Tokyo
Ranked #1,555 of 22,552 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Vaprio d'Adda, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“High quality and affordable price”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The restaurant is really small and you may need to wait in case you don't have a reservation (40 minutes in our case to finally seat at 8:30 on a Wednesday).

The first thing you will notice is the big menu, Not being a Japanese food expert was easy to get lost, even with clear picture of every dishes,but I think everyone should be able to find something for his taste.

Both me and my friend went for one of the bento box with soup, rice, salad, mixed tempura, sashim and salmon. Everything was delicious and in good quantity.

Adding drinks we paid 20 £ each that is really good price compared to other Japanese restaurants and an absolute bargain considering the quality of the food and service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    69
    17
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Crowded, poor queuing/reservation system & dirty”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Been to other branches of Eat Tokyo, which were good, but the experience with Notting Hill branch is not great :-(

A table was booked but they couldn't find our reservation. After a long wait crowded around the entrance, we got a seat by the sushi bar (seat on top of stairs...well use of space!).

There is not enough staff for any service (customers next to us refused to pay the service charge, another customer for take-away gave up and walked out after waiting around 15minutes..). I had to go out to get a menu myself and go out again to have order taken and again for drinks.

The staff in the sushi bar/kitchen are mostly Chinese (speaking), and the environment doesn't look quite clean... no wonder it had a Hygiene raiting of 3 out of 5 as of 12/Oct/12 (http://ratings.food.gov.uk/business/en-GB/455560) and I got an upset stomach afterwards...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick112999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best value for great sushi in london”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Amazing food - at such reasonable prices! Staff are friendly. I can't get over the quality of the sushi and sashimi for the price. Been here 3 times this month already. New fave restaurant!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deeez10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent Sushi & Tempura at reasonable price!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We have been to the Eat Tokyo restaurant in Notting Hill Gate quite a few times now and we have been very pleased with the food and service every time.

Eat Tokyo is a small chain of Japenese restaurants in London (I think there are about four of them) and I think they have another seven in Tokyo in Japan.

Despite being a chain, this branch seems to be family run, it certainly has a family run feel to it. The staff are courteous, hard working and friendly and although the decor is fairly basic, the great food and low prices are what seem to draw the crowds.

Today, we paid just over £40 for the four of us (without alcohol) for quite a lot of food, all of which was excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joshua B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great quality sushi in London, service and decor not so good”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have been quite a few times and it is probably the best sushi place we have found in London in terms of quality fish, authenticity and value for money. However, the place gets packed and then gets super noisy. The interior could really use some refurbishment. Service varies, sometimes extremely quick, but other times not so good and we did experience a handful of items from what we ordered simply being forgotten. So overal good for a casual lunch/dinner, but not for a special occasion and definitely not when you want some peace and quiet or tranquil japanese dining atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PragueGirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eat Tokyo also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Eat Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing