We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in good price”
Review of Jimmy's Restaurant

Jimmy's Restaurant
Ranked #6,369 of 27,975 Restaurants in London
Price range: $9 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Wimbledon
Description: EAT YOUR WAY AROUND THE WORLD When you arrive at JIMMY’S, you’ll be shown to your table, & a drinks order will be taken. If you’re a first timer you’ll have the concept explained to you. Jimmy’s is an ‘All You Can Eat Buffet’ with all your favourite foods from around the world; Chinese, Indian, Mexican, Italian, and there’s also a selection of salads & don’t forget to leave room for dessert. There are LIVE STATIONS with chefs who will cook food to order, including mix your own ice cream. So, all you do is visit the buffet & fill your plate. Once you’ve finished your first plate you’re free to go back to the buffet as many times as you like. It couldn’t be easier. We hope to see you soon.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

It has lots of variety and good food quality. I like almost everything here. Desserts always my favourite and I like that alot.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Poojajangid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 499 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

Love this restaurant! Been here three times and will always come back for a special treat. We eat so much that we can only resort to attending once a year but puts a smile on my face everytime. The best dish was the freshly made chow me in where you pick your own ingredients and the chef cooks it in the hot wok in front of you and does not disappoint. The Indian and Chinese stations are our favourite but they have American, English roast and Mexican tacos to choose from. The dessert station is also great if you have enough room after your mains. The bottomless glass choice is also favourable as you can refill your drink as many times as you like. I like the feel of freedom at this restaurant, you can help yourself to anything and nobody is keeping tabs on how much you eat or drink. Your go for your next round and your table has been cleared by the time you get back. You have to come here with an empty stomach and prepare to eat plenty of food, as there is so much to choose from and everything tastes great. As you can tell, for someone who has a huge appetite, I really like it here, and will always return. Can't wait till next year!

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank LukeD740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019 via mobile

We visited on a Saturday at 6pm. Managed to fit in three plates of savoury food and one plate of dessert. £17.99 may seem high for buffet but considering I had four plates of food it seem reasonable. Tap water was free. Small criticism is that the 'sushi' section had more ice than sushi and the crab claws in the Chinese starter section did not actually contain any noticeable crab meat. Staff were helpful and friendly.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2019

We used to be regular at their Epsom branch that closed down few years ago. Since our 1st visit at their new Wimbledon branch years ago, few of the group members had suffered stomach ache issues, however, we decided to give it a second chance. Years later, we visited it to celebrate a family member's birthday, last Saturday.

The restaurant has a massive overhaul dated back in 2012, when it was fined 10k by Ofsted for breaching food hygiene policies. Since, it renamed itself as Jimmys Restaurant taking out Spices (Jimmy's Spices). It appears to have improved it's food hygiene rating since, but read on to see what needs a major overhaul....

We were 15 in our group. Sorry to report but the restaurant has truly gone downhill, at least the food was better last time, but sadly, this time round, it was absymal. Some dishes - like their palak paneer had actually gone off. Most of the starters were something that you get off the frozen packet, deep fry and serve. The curries lacked flavour, the lamb had tons of glutenous fat surrounding it. rendering it inedible. Out of about 15 items that we tried, barely 1 or 2 were good, all others were shockingly bad. The only saving grace were their desserts, which had good variety of assorted desserts. We are not native Indians, but we have eaten a lot of Indian food, to understand the flavours.

Let's talk about the service now. It was pathetic to say the least. One of their large built stir fry chef was meddling around navigating between customers as were serving themselves, was intrusive, standing and watching as you put the food in your plate, trying to mix the curries as the customers were already serving themselves, talking loudly to his colleagues in his, we believe native Indian language, unprofessional attitude. Chefs on some of the stations such as the ice-cream station seemed very bored, there was no passion, no smile.

So, in a nutshell, go here, only if you are a fan of eating 100 items and not focussing on anything else. Then you will be fine.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank reviewsforyou700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2019 via mobile

We went to Jimmy’s after a long day at work and weren’t sure what to expect but we have been curious about this place for a while. I was pleasantly surprised... the Chinese and Mexican offerings were particularly flavourful. The staff was friendly. Not sure the food is of the best quality, but it definitely ticked the boxes of a buffet- and the selection was good.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank elizabethhC1511AR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy's Restaurant also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Jimmy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing