We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very worthwhile experience”
Review of London Detours

London Detours
Ranked #126 of 679 Tours in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We take great pride in showcasing the creative side of London with our amazing walking tours. Discover the History, Street Art and Community through the streets of the Capital. Come join the adventure and explore.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A very worthwhile experience”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My friend and I decided on the Southwark tour. We covered so much history and many areas of South London in a few hours and in spite of the length of time Joe managed to stay energetic friendly and passionate all the way through and managed to open my eyes to parts of the City that I had often taken for granted. Joe has a wealth of knowledge and his enthusiasm makes, what could be a casual jog through history and different areas of South London , fascinating. This tour is a must for Londoners and non-Londoners alike and because we had such a good time, we are considering doing the other tours in the very near future. It is definitely worth the five star reviews given by others on this site.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dianethomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Welcome To A Londoner's London”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

There are many great tours to take in the capital but London Detours offer something alternative and show you areas which are not always photographed for the guide books. The guide is welcoming, friendly and down to earth who shows his passion for the capital and his love of working with people.
Street Art tours are new for London and the scene is always changing so you never know what you're really going to see and it makes you look at buildings in a different way.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank east15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Like getting a tour from a friend!”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My friend and I did the Southwark walking tour with Joe, it was just three of us and it was definitely a highlight of our trip! Joe took us down quiet, off the tourist path streets to tell us and show us unique historically places of Southwark. It was great getting a tour from a real Londoner! We've already recommended him to several people!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandaybeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended walking tour!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Take this tour if you like London, walking around and learning interesting things, or if you want to see some amazing artwork and have your concept challenged about "graffiti". Our tour guide, Joe, really knew his stuff and was so enthusiastic you can't help but be infected by his excitement. Even though he does the tour regularly, fresh street art can appear literally overnight, and he is always excited to find something new to show his guests. We enjoyed the Street Art tour and will take others of their walking tours when we can.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Buzzju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top tour Joe :-)”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Had a tour on a 2 to 1 basis with myself and gf. Joe knows his stuff so so well and we did the Westminster tour. Funny and always shows the quirky finds of London, especially the street art which we love. Amazing how it's now appearing in central London.

He's a nice guy and my oh my does he know to make you feel comfortable. My only recommendation would be to stop half way during the tour to have a drink and a chat but that was as we had travelled all morning.

Keep it up Joe and have a good holiday.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 109TommyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed London Detours also viewed

 

Been to London Detours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing