We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“London Dosshouse” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lonsdale Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Lonsdale Hotel
Ranked #1,037 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“London Dosshouse”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I wish I had read these reviews before booking this hotel. It is truly disgusting - from the 'welcome' at the reception to the mess, noise, mould etc in the room. A few weeks ago I stayed at another hotel in the same road (owned by Grange Hotels) which was very good value for money, so when this one came up for my trip this weekend I didn't check it out - big mistake! We put a table across the door for extra security, were kept awake most of the night by people talking - paper thin walls, could hear every word, daren't open the window for some air as the rubbish on the steps outside made it very likely that rats were close by, and thought taking a shower would probably be counter-productive! I resented every penny of the £55 this accommodation cost me. I can't believe health inspectors or fire officers haven't shut this place down.

Room Tip: I am quite sure that there are no good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 622SarahA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    30
    47
    63
    345
See reviews for
60
129
64
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Where do I start.............broken furniture, cold shower, miserable inexperienced receptionist (at least that's what she was supposed to be), worn down/dirty carpet throughout, we dare not touch anything as its so dirty.......the list just goes on. Did read up on reviews before we made the booking but thought people were exaggerating, trust me, it's all very true!!!!! Really disappointed that we couldn't find any alternative accommodation. Genuinely please do not make the same mistake. It's disgusting that this hotel is here taking money off people

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SlaterClayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Never before have I left a Trip Advisor review, however, I feel a desperate need to warn all tourists away from the Lonsdale. Whilst the location, within a minute of Russell Square is handy, the hotel itself is a disgrace. At £45 for a last minute booking is cheap for London, the hotel isn't worth a fraction of that price. I'd list all the faults, but there are simply too many. Dirty, unclean, minimal decor, shabby rooms. Take your money and find any of the other budget chains, I urge you. Should have stayed at Ibis Budget for £50- the location isn't as convenient, however avoid this hotel at all costs.

Room Tip: No rooms are acceptable for any length of stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 401adamw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterlee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

dont know where to start, room scruffy, smelly, damp. sick on the carpet outside the door, toe nail clippings in the sink. nackered tv, fridge without a lead just stood there (why). no where to hang our clothes (no wardrobe). decor just awful, cant beleive companies recommend this hotel for a stay. wouldnt care but i reckon a bit money spent on the place and it could be beautiful, just a shame the owners dont see this. to sum it all up, a pure s-hole

Room Tip: read reveiws before you go
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank george h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Me and my fiancè went on a minibreak to London, and chose this hotel based on price and location. The staff was sour and unhelpful,and the room was a shock. After discovering that it looked and smelled worse then a homeless mans sleepingbag, we found out that there was no duvets for the bed, just a skinny cover.

We went out for party that night, and when we came back at about 03.00 the "24/7 open hotels" was nowhere to be seen. We waited outside in the freezing cold for about 30 minutes, banging the door and buzzing the bell. Finally a sourfaced woman turned up, she had obviously been sleeping on duty, and we got in. Ive never ever been freezing so much as in my life as i did in that poor excuse for a hotel!

Its no doubt, Hell is a cold place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

The time and effort that has gone into creating this life like Sarajevo UN safe house is out standing! The realistic mold at the base of the sink, and judging by the fact that there was a roll of toilet paper next to the soap indicated the triple function of sink; wash/slush/rinse.
The novelty's keep coming, the comedy collapsing bed made for a side splitting nights kip, and the life like vomit stains on route to the communal toilet/shower made the dirty dash a treat!
The Terry Waite memorial radiator, set on full with the control tap missing, gave an air of 1990's rave, even the cold water was HOT!Send in the Environmental Health let let alone the Hotel Inspector!

NOT FIT FOR HUMAN ACCOMMODATION!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Based in central london it has no right to call itself a hotel it is more like a bad hostel. No tea making facilities in the room, dirty, smelly paint peeling of the ceiling, mismatched bedroom furniture. Radiator stuck full on so has to open the window with all the inherent noise so even if the bed had been comfortable enough to sleep on you could not because of the noise. A shame there are no minus stars.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jjskuae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
#584 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#667 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Portland Hotel
Grange Portland Hotel
#564 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#302 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange White Hall Hotel
Grange White Hall Hotel
#587 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Buckingham Hotel
Grange Buckingham Hotel
#570 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lonsdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lonsdale Hotel

Property: The Lonsdale Hotel
Address: 9-10 Bedford Place, London WC1B 5JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,037 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Georgian townhouse in Bloomsbury, homey, friendly atmosphere - Near the British Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Lonsdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lonsdale Hotel London
The Lonsdale Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing