We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One Hot Night in London”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
Ranked #332 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Fayetteville, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“One Hot Night in London”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

The look of the hotel is very deceiving as it is that of a modern and upscale 4 star, but the room is that of a 2-3 star hotel in America. The hallways had an odd smell that was covered up by some heavy air freshener. The room itself was nice with a super springy bed that was surprisingly comfortable. The bathroom had everything you need. The room also included a makeup table which was convenient. New carpeting would do this hotel wonders and make it look much nicer.

Unfortunately, we were given a room without air conditioning. We found out the last night we were there that they actually have air conditioned rooms, but you must request one. It was consistently in the mid-high 80F the whole time we were there, regardless of the fact that outside it would drop into the 50's and 60's.

The hotel is a short walk from the East Putney tube station. There is also a Co-Op grocery store that is open late nearby. The area feels very safe and family oriented which is very comforting. The location is perfect for a good night's sleep since it is far enough out of the city and the room was not facing any busy streets.

Room Tip: Request air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    456
    173
    87
    45
See reviews for
286
429
99
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

I was here last week due to the Chelsea Flower show preventing my staying at another location.
A very good find. The Lodge is quiet, rooms well decorated, staff pleasant and professional. Best breakfast I've had in a London hotel and I was pleased to see the chef come out to make periodic checks. Only five mins walk from East Putney tube station and Upper Richmond Road is a good place to go out for a drink & a meal.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

This is a little late but we stayed at this hotel on 17th march St Patricks day as we were going to Twickenham... We were a group of 6 and i can only say this place is a little gem our room was fantastic brand new and huge with a big bed and all mod cons.. The bar is small but lovely and cosy and the staff were really nice.. Putney is only a short stroll and is also the train stations. I would definetly stay at this hotal again and recommend it..

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyJoulesRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

The Lodge although not located in central London is an good alternative with quick access via the tube stop which is about a 5 minute walk from the hotel. From there you are about 15 minutes to the Notting Hill tube station. For this bit of travel you get a lot more hotel value for your money than in London proper. We usually stay in the Bayswater area, and although I still like that location, my wife says she'd prefer the better level of room that the Lodge provides for the same amount of money. We only had a standard room, and I thought we might want to upgrade, but it turned out to be better than I had expected and although not large was very comfortable. We did not eat any meals although we had drinks in a the bar a couple of times, no problem other than we were not impressed with the snack offerings that we tried. The Lodge is actually just a couple of blocks into a residential area, so you do have to walk to get to the retail area of Putney for shopping, dining, pubs, etc. We found some pubs, but there is not a huge selection very close by. Overall, we enjoyed out stay at the Lodge. The staff we dealt with were pleasant and very helpful - in fact I had dental emergency and had to find a dentist while there, and the front desk was great in assisting me with this task on a Friday afternoon! Bottom line - we'll go back to the Lodge the next time we're in London.

Room Tip: I'm guessing there is a considerable variation in rooms so it might be good to check out your op...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bavarianbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Stayed at this hotel at the end of april for one night,it's a few minutes walk from the tube station,once we arrived we were greeted by a very nice receptionist. The room was just big enough for one night and very modern,
The hotel had just opened it's resturant when i arrived but didn't have time to eat there. I would stay at this hotel again if i was visiting Putney.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahHill01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outside Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
162 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Nice Hotel, we had a small attic room under the eaves. Up 3 flights of fairly steep steps, no elevator, but very friendly staff that helped us with our luggage. One night it rained and the ceiling leaked, they changed us to a different room for the night and said they fixed our room, I couldn't see that they did, but it didn't rain again so there was no way to test it. The room was REALLY cold, but when I asked about heat they brought us extra blankets and a portable heater which helped. It was an easy walk to the tube station, and the front desk staff was always helpful. The free wi fi was wonderful. The walls were dirty, but the room seemed well maintained overall. The breakfast buffet was nice, I thought 12 pounds/person was ridiculously expensive though and couldn't afford it every day. It was a little far from most of the attractions of central London, but with the easy subway system it was a nice enough place to stay and made for a nice week. I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coffeebeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

We have family in Putney so chose the hotel purely based upon location. We stayed for three nights at a room rate of £240. Initially we were given an 'executive room' which boasted very little cat swinging space and only a shower - no bath. That said, when we asked to move rooms the next morning the reception staff were accomodating and helpful. We were moved to a much larger room at the front of the hotel, with a bath and airconditioning. (Number 44)

We didn't sample breakfast, but did have a nightcap in the small elegantly decorated and suitably relaxed bar

The Lodge tries hard: and if this is where you want to be located it is worth the price so give it a try - I doubt that it will disappoint.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chestertripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
La Suite West - Hyde Park
La Suite West - Hyde Park
#420 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London West
Novotel London West
#408 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,543 reviews
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge Hotel, Putney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge Hotel, Putney

Property: The Lodge Hotel, Putney
Address: 52-54 Upper Richmond Road | Putney, London SW15 2RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#299 Business Hotel in London
#316 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge Hotel, Putney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge Hotel is a boutique haven in Putney, south west London, which over the past 40 years under the same family ownership has grown from a 9 bedroom guesthouse to encompass 77 bedrooms, a delectable all day restaurant & bar: Hide&seed, a library and numerous spaces for eating, drinking, meeting & events. Our unique building combines two grand victoria mansions and former coaching stables completely renovated in 2010, with a new state of the art wing launched in September 2015. We've retained the best of the original features and enhanced the hotel with contemporary additions and luxurious design touches. High end, low key. Features: 77 beautiful bedrooms Moments from East Putney tube station Free Parking Free Wi-Fi Free iMac use Open 24/7 Garden All day dining Conference & Events facilities Launching spring 2016: Gym, and Outdoor Terrance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge Hotel, Putney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Putney
Best Western London
London Best Western
The Lodge Hotel, Putney London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing