We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but not 5*”
Review of Grange City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grange City Hotel
Ranked #355 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed September 2, 2007

I booked this hotel last minute with Late Rooms and so only paid £85 per night which should be a bargain for a 5*

On the plus side its two minutes from Tower Hill Tube, next to a good bus route, five minutes from the Thames and ten minutes from the City. The very pleasant Trinity Gardens are next door and the view from the front of the hotel is cracking. There is a subway near by for a snack, a costa coffee round the corner and a couple of nice bars nearby. There is also a wonderful pool and gym downstairs (although the hours are designed to keep accompanying children out of the pool on weeekdays for travellers with kids)

On the down side rooms, beds and baths are small and although pleasant not 5*. The back of the hotel runs onto Fenchurch Street Railway so you need to be on a high floor to avoid noise, staff are stretched and not always english speakers and the room service is shocking and highy priced with breakfast for two on two days coming in at over £90! Oh and all floors below 11 back directly onto an office block and there are no voiles in the rooms

A nice hotel that could be great due to its locations but the all important customer focus is missing and it ends up not quite doing it for the price!

Stayed: September 2007
2  Thank aishamorrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,827)
There are newer reviews for Grange City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,426 - 2,432 of 2,827 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2007

We stayed here, Friday to Sunday. We have stayed in many 5* hotels, and this is not even close to being on a par with a single one of them. There were so many things that were wrong with our stay at this hotel that we simply wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

The location is great, on a quiet road very close to the railway (Fenchurch St), the underground, the DLR and major east-London attractions. HOWEVER:

- the vast majority of the staff do not speak English as a first language, so expect to have to repeat or explain yourself;
- the girl who took my wife's order for a liquer coffee in the bar did not know what this was, and after conveying the order to the barman, came back with a coffee in a cup and a side-order of the liquer!
- the breakfast staff did not have us down for having breakfast included in our tariff, to which we had to show them our bokoing confirmation;
- "buffet breakfast" is a cold, continental breakfast, and there is an £8 surcharge per person for a hot english-breakfast;
- the morning room-service takes away bathroom flannels, and these are, according to hotel staff, only replaced by an evening room service, so you do not have any face or hand flannels during the day;
- room service did not empty our bins at all;
- the lobby staff were verbally fighting with a taxi-driver on the saturday, using swear-words, gestures and threats of violence, in front of our children.

We left this all on the feedback forms, but when mentioned to the receptionist on check-out she just put it down to new staff turn-over.

The one ray of hope in all this was Royce, the restaurant manager: we were assured at booking time that the breakfast was a hot buffet, but on arrival it wasn't. Royce tried helping to clear up the situation, and in the end compromised on payment for the breakfast.

Stayed: August 2007
6  Thank Flynn3141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2007

Stayed for 3 nights on business and paid GBP 200 per night + VAT ((excl. breakfast) in late July.

Frankly, I don't understand why some reviewers are rating the hotel as "Excellent". Makes me wonder whether I have been overly harsh when reviewing hotels in other parts of the world. In my view whilst the hotel is good, it is definitely not a top notch hotel and does not deserve an excellent rating. There are other good hotels out there which are a thousand times better than the Grange City.

Pluses:

- good location next to Tower Hill tube station and Tower Bridge and walking distance to the City

- adequate but small room (was given a room facing the train station); but in London expect small rooms unless you are willing to pay extra

- good / adequate gym

Negatives:

- generally inexperienced staff (for an English hotel it is interesting to note that the English language is not easily understood by some staff members) - on the first day asked front desk staff for directions to get to Broadgate in the City and was given convoluted instructions on how to walk there (it took 30 mins) but staff forgot to mention that the tube station is virtually next door and it is just 2 stops from Liverpool station! However, one exception to staff service is the perpetually smiling and obliging waiter at the inhouse Japanese restaurant who deserves a big thumbs up

- expensive, inadequate and poor quality breakfast spread

- bathroom is small (hardly enough room to swing a cat!) and only has a combined bathtub / shower facility which is quite difficult to get in; be careful when getting into the tub as it is quite high from the floor and you can hurt yourself if not careful

Overall, if you can get a good rate and one of the better rooms with a view (the penthouse rooms mentioned by some other reviewers sounds good), the hotel would be a good choice.

For business, promixity to the City is a big plus, but I would still shop around. Traffic in London is attrocious but as long as you stay next to a tube station you can get around quite easily.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyKeen_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2007

First impression was excellent - the receptionist who checked me in was lovely. I got everything that I requested including an excellent view of the Tower of London. The room was nice and clean and decor/beds were good. The bathroom was really small for a room that was described as delux. For a 5* hotel, I thought some of the staff should have been a bit friendlier and more accomodating, I got the feeling that some of them could'nt be bothered. Really good, but I would'nt have quite thought that I was in a 5* hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LuLuMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2007

excellent hotel - friendly and helpful.
top floor views of the tower of london - excellent.
expensive - 180 pounds per night.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank xolo90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2007

Bagged a double room for £85 last minute for a stopover after a gig in Greenwich. On arrival we were upgraded to one of the 5 penthouse suites and we had a complete blast. Lovely suite, great toiletries etc. and with a view of the Tower and Tower Bridge to die for. Check in/check out was a breeze, 24-hour bar very well stocked and reasonably priced. All in all a brilliant stay and I wish we could have stayed longer. We'll be back !

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuperFurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2007

We stayed on the top floor, penthouse, with a fabulous view of the London Tower. I can highly recommend it. On the advice of a notice in the lifts we got up earlier on Sunday morning so as to beat the 9am rush for breakfast. No it wasn't 5 star but it was OK. This hotel has great beds, great linen, great bathrooms and the greatest indoor hotel pool in London. But you have to time that right as well. Get down there for first thing in the morning when it opens or the middle of the afternoon. Avoid the 4pm - 8pm slot.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank shropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#224 of 1,072 in London
3,685 reviews
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#317 of 1,072 in London
4,306 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#229 of 1,072 in London
2,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
City of London
Four Seasons Hotel London at Ten Trinity Square
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange City Hotel

Address: 8-14 Cooper's Row, London EC3N 2BQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Spa Hotel in London
#193 Family Hotel in London
#209 Romantic Hotel in London
#234 Business Hotel in London
#253 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $156 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange City Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange City Hotel is a spectacular luxury 5 star hotel. Superbly located with unique panoramic views over the City and just a gemstone's throw away from the Tower of London, the Grange City represents a first for a hotel of this standard in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grange City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange City London
Hotel Grange City
Grange City Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing