We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star, not so sure” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grange City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grange City Hotel
Ranked #346 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“5 star, not so sure”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

we arrived at the hotel , on our booking confirmation said we could book in at 2 pm , this is incorrect 3 pm on a saturday , ( although this still states 2 pm in the guest info in the room ) , when booking in was told i had a excellent view , i was told i had a superior room , obviously not superior enough , nice view of office blocks .
we had only one bottle of curtosy bottles of water in the room between two of us,didnt bother with breakfast , on checking out ,it was a massive queue , a lady was going down the queue seeing if we had any bills to settle ( which i knew i hadnt ) i was advised i still had to queue , waiting a further 20 minutes to get to the front to be told i had nothing outstanding .

they really need to sort themselves out , not many good english speaking staff at reception , maybe someone with some common sence at reception would be a good idea

Room Tip: dont book this hotel at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,065
    908
    409
    161
    102
See reviews for
308
1,159
113
584
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (577)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

After searching several hotels, we came across this one for our anniversary weekend. The price was very good, through lastminute.com and when I requested a Tower view prior to our visit, we were given a lovely upgraded executive room with a balcony, which we were very grateful for.
Our trip to London was to visit several markets, The Shard and take in some sights, for which this hotel is perfect and in walking distance of Borogh Market, Spitalfields, Petticoat lane (although a bit disappointing) and Brick Lane. We walked for miles around Whitechapel and Shoreditch and surrounding areas, but this was our choice - there is a tube station adjacent to the hotel which provides easy access to all London destinations.
Our room (403) was large, with a comfortable bed and sofa and was pleasantly decorated. We had fantastic views of Tower of London and Tower Bridge, Thames, Shard and Gerkin. The balcony was a bonus for us, but there is a HUGE step in and out. The bathroom was huge, with a lovely power shower over a very deep bath plus separate shower cubicle. The only couple of gripes are lack of shelving/vanity unit to place any personal toiletries on and the very high step in and out of the bath. Reception staff were not rude, but hardly helpful, the reception area was always busy, but on check-out on Sunday morning it was really disorganised, with queues of people as far back as the lift. Guests are encouraged to check out before retiring, but there is no-where to drop your keys, leaving no option but to queue with the masses??
The leisure facilities were very pleasant and a welcome treat at the end of a day spent pounding the pavements!
We weren't booked in for breakfast and didn't use the restaurants or bars, so cannot comment on these.
Sadly we were woken at 04:00 on our first night by our neighbours having a blazing row and a very loud disco on our second night that went on past midnight. Unfortunately reception couldn't have been more disinterested - I have had much better service from a popular budget hotel chain.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in January due to the location. It was very disappointing in that the staff were not very welcoming or friendly, even on checking out they didn't even ask us if we had enjoyed our stay, probably because they had not had very good responses in the past! The rooms were basic and average but clean as was the rest of the hotel. Probably the biggest disappointment was the breakfast, - it was poorly stocked, lots of staff who never gave way for you, lots of very unhappy people waiting for glasses and plates, tea and coffee served from thermos flasks that you had to keep asking staff for. This hotel definitely doesn't live up to its rating and I would definitely not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire8167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We booked online and they were offering a discount on rooms and breakfast, when we arrived the reception staff were lovely and said that we had been up graded to a room with a view as it was my Birthday. 11th floor and what a view it was amazing Tower bridge and tower of london, and the room was lovely to. Staff could not have been more helpful, we had full use of spa, pool, jaquzzi and sauna both on the day we arrived and on check out to. Breakfast was lovely with so much choice and again lovely and friendly staff. I would recommend this hotel to all its was a wonderful weekend.

Room Tip: Room 1116 had an amazing view of tower bridge and the tower of london
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gemma t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed for just one night in January 2014. Reception staff were very cold and unfriendly on check in. The reception area seemed slightly chaotic whenever we walked through it and the staff seemed a bit flustered. We were celebrating our Anniversary and they did upgrade us which was a lovely bonus and we really appreciated that. The room was on the 9th floor and had great views of The Tower Of London. The room was spotlessly clean but we felt quite dated. We did use the swimming pool and that was really relaxing after doing lots of walking around Borough Market and The Southbank. Had drinks in the Isis bar but that was just an ok experience. Staff seemed a little bit too laid back and not on the ball. Breakfast was an ok experience but they could do a lot better. All in all just an ok time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonHappyhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Lovely hotel - we were lucky enough to be upgraded to a room with a view....what a view of the Tower of London, Thames and Tower Bridge! Good service and large room. Only downside was the temperature for the bath water - it could have been hotter but this could be a safety feature. A little removed from the city centre but a lovely walk along the Thames added to the pleasure of staying there.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaDKipling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed in the Grange City in September for two nights. We booked it through lastminute.com as one of their secret hotels and it wasn't cheap. But, it looked great on the website and a colleague had stayed in another Grange hotel and was very positive about his stay, so we went for it. They didn't have a standard room available when we checked in, so we were upgraded to a better room, but on the smoking floor! We were assured that we would not be able to tell it was a smoking room. I wasn't put off by this, but my partner (an ex smoker) could really smell smoke and it took the edge off the room slightly. We had a great view of the Roman Wall in the courtyard and of Tower Bridge though and the room was really spacious (unusual in London). The bed was enormous and the quality of furnishings in the room was great. The bathroom was tiny though!
To my shame, I didn't use the pool as I'd forgotten my costume, so can't comment on the leisure services..
We drank in the bar on the first night. Very expensive and not much of an atmosphere. We drank in the Novotel across the road the second night, which had a great bar and was cheaper! We liked the location. It was obviously close to Tower Bridge and the Tower of London and good for our trip down the river for Greenwich. Good half an hour away for theatre land, so factor that in to any plans. We didn't pay for breakfast at the hotel and had breakfast in a nearby Wetherspoons on one day (not to be recommended) and in a little Turkish cafe in St Katherine's Dock on the second day (definitely recommended!).
A very smart hotel. And apart from the smell of smoke on our floor, can't really fault it.

Room Tip: Avoid a smoking room if you're non-smokers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stella H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#210 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,459 reviews
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#320 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,025 reviews
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#84 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#244 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Holborn Hotel
Grange Holborn Hotel
#389 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,038 reviews
City of London
Chamberlain Hotel
Chamberlain Hotel
#131 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange City Hotel

Property: Grange City Hotel
Address: 8-14 Coopers Row, London EC3N 2BD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Spa Hotel in London
#193 Family Hotel in London
#209 Romantic Hotel in London
#234 Business Hotel in London
#247 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange City Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange City Hotel is a spectacular luxury 5 star hotel. Superbly located with unique panoramic views over the City and just a gemstone's throw away from the Tower of London, the Grange City represents a first for a hotel of this standard in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Grange City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange City London
Hotel Grange City
Grange City Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing