We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence”
Review of Grange City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grange City Hotel
Ranked #367 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Sue and I have stayed at the Grange City several times now and it is a really great Hotel.

We had a lovely room overlooking the Tower of London and the Tower bridge and river.

Ideal for the East end of London and a trip to Greenwich by boat ( worth a trip to see the new Nelson Exhibition), or if like us you don't mind walking, get the boat to Embankment and walk up into Trafalger square and Regent Street. Last boat back is at 11.08 so plenty of time to see a show etc.

The boat is about 5 minutes walk form the Hotel and a lovely experience.

As Arnold Swarzenegger said......we'll be back.

Room Tip: Executive rooms, especially ones with a view of the Tower of London are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,924)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,567 - 1,573 of 2,924 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at Grange City hotel for 6 nights for New Year Eve's 2014 in London and I accepted to pay extras for Club services up-grade.
The hotel is quiet and well situated near Tower Hill tube's station which give easily access to all London.
We obtained a large Executive room at 4th level with an access to a little balcony and views on London Tower and Shard building. The room was large for London city and included breakfast buffet or continental breakfast, for which we never knew but we had breakfast buffet each morning without any extra charge.
We also had access to the tiny tiny tiny Club Lounge with few seat, incompleted "lunch buffet" and and few beverages offered each day. We were very sorry about the lack of services offered in comparaison with Club services offered in others hotels all over the world in particular in China, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore...even in USA.
So if you book at Grange City hotel and hope to have fine services with Club up-grade, forget it.
Book only an executive room and dont pay for extras which aren't worthed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PLR756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed on the 23rd December for 1 night. On arrival we waited for several minutes to be checked in, whilst the ladies behind counter were talking. We were given an upgrade without asking which was nice. The room was on the 11th floor and had a spectacular view of a railway line!!!.Once we had had a look around the room, a couple of things caught my eye. firstly the carpet had large chewing gum stains on it, secondly the tea and coffee mugs and spoons were all mismatched. In the bathroom there was only one bathrobe and the tiled areas had not been wiped down properly. We then went to the restaurant and again waited to be seated and waited and waited. Eventually we went across the road to the novohotel where we were looked after very well.It seems that quite a lot of grange customers end up across the road.On our return to the Grange we went into the isis bar .This was the highlight of the evening as the staff were nothing short of brilliant.I myself am a publican of some 20 years and know good staff when I see them. So to round up 1:when you give a room upgrade ,make sure the room has a view of anything other than a railway line.2:make sure the room is clean and the bathroom is clean .I have written this review not to run down the grange,but in the hope that they can and will up their game. Pat D.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank villageboy1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed from the 24th to the 27th of December, we had a lovely stay we had booked as a package which included an upgrade, Christmas dinner, 2half hour treatments, late check out and 15% off in the resturants. Our upgrade was lovely perfect view Christmas dinner was lovely but was given the wrong time for dinner 3 times by reception as we arrived 1hour early. The room was spacious and had a great view over tower bridge and tower of London, the only thing to let the perfect room down was the bathroom which was very small and poky even though with room for a bath. The spa treatments which we extended to 1hour each was very relaxing except for after the half hour was up we were told they had finished I had to get dressed to inquire as to the other half hour this ruined the total relaxation as the therapists had to start again. There was lack of communication in all sections of the hotel between staff to staff and staff to customer even though these weren't a major problem but for a standard of hotel was unexpected. Overall the staff were very helpful and we did enjoy our stay

Room Tip: Location average at this time of the year due to been in the city with mostly banks and large office...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sambuca46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

How can a hotel be so bad and so good. If you want lots of stress book this hotel. We booked seven months in advance for a room to celebrate our wedding anniverary and on arrival were given one of the worst rooms we have ever seen. The view was basically the Fenchurch Street railway platform with all the people on the train looking in our room and the room, while not tiny had so many items of furniture in it you could not move for bumping into something.
After complaining three times behind many people also complaing about their rooms we were moved to what can only be described as fantastic, spacious and with a brilliant view. Every time we went past reception there was always someone complaining about their rooms

Room Tip: You need to ask for a room high up and overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tony f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Amazing staff, beautiful presentation, extremely helpful kind and friendly. Would visit again without hesitation. Thank you for such an amazing time, will certainly visit again. Best place to stay in London

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Chanty1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I requested a room overlooking the Tower of London. I didn't only get this but also my room was upgraded free of charge. Will definitely be staying there again in the future. The location is ideal, less than a minute walk from Tower Hill tube station.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#228 of 1,077 in London
3,774 reviews
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#339 of 1,077 in London
4,410 reviews
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#86 of 1,077 in London
4,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Holborn Hotel
Grange Holborn Hotel
#411 of 1,077 in London
2,223 reviews
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#238 of 1,077 in London
2,966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange City Hotel

Address: 8-14 Cooper's Row, London EC3N 2BQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Spa Hotel in London
#209 Romantic Hotel in London
#234 Business Hotel in London
#258 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $122 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange City Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange City Hotel is a spectacular luxury 5 star hotel. Superbly located with unique panoramic views over the City and just a gemstone's throw away from the Tower of London, the Grange City represents a first for a hotel of this standard in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grange City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange City London
Hotel Grange City
Grange City Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing