We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grange City”
Review of Grange City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grange City Hotel
Ranked #353 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Have stayed here on a number of occasions over the last couple of years and will always go back. This is one of the best in london. A really great hotel, with very good service in the heart of London. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twestw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,863)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,794 - 1,800 of 2,863 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I booked this hotel on lastminute.com using the top secret hotels. We rang the hotel up before and requested an early check in. When we arrived they said our room wasn't ready and to come back in an hour, this wasn't a problem and we left our bags with the concierge. When we checked in we were told we were upgraded from a standard double room which we had booked to a superior room on the 10th floor. When we went into our room it was lovely and large and had all of the amenities you would expect. Unfortunately we did not have a view of the tower bridge (infact you could see the tube from our window and an office block where i literally could see the ladies lunch on her desk) however at the end of the corridor by the life we had a lovely view of tower bridge. It is right next to tower bridge tube stop which is very convenient, and for the two days we were there my husband and I jumped on and off the tube and explored the city very well. I would say its a fair location with amenities near by however we walked around by the hotel to find a restaurant and stopped a passer by and he said as we are in the financial district there aren't many and its better to go to times square which we did. Staff were always very friendly. I forgot my swimwear so we didn't use the spa facilities. The hotel was very clean (only thing I spotted was smudges in the lift which my husband said was me being 'pinickitty') worth a stay :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

paid a 5 star price while in London on business, but the hotel felt more like 4 stars. For example, no robe or slippers in the room, view faced directly into an office building even though I paid a higher price for the executive room and requested a tower view, bathroom was tiny, hairdryer was old, heater was extremely lound... etc. Location was good for walking to the tower of excellent, continental breakfast had a large choice, and the bed was very large and comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Another average London hotel.
Great location if you want to do the tourist thing and so close to Tower Hill tube station it'll take you 30 seconds to get there.
Rooms and service were average - this is not a 5* hotel, but perfectly acceptable.

Gym/spa & pool are all 'nice'

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max_scot1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Nice Rooms, if a little dated or rundown in places.
Comfy Beds & Clean Room with good amenities.
Breakfast is great (If included).
Location for the Tower & Bridge is excellent.
Beware at weekends as many of the local bars and restaurants do not open...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MkMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have just stayed there for 2 nights.
We booked the saturday night on last minute.com, top secret hotels. The website said £118, discounted down to £100.
We then decided to book another night, but found that if you use the hotel website, it's even cheaper. £94 and you get a continental breakfast included. English breakfast is available for a £8 upgrade.
We stayed in room 720. This room faced the Tower of London, Tower Bridge etc. A great view.
The receptionist offered us a free upgrade on check in.
The hotel is located approx 2 minutes walk from Tower Hill Underground station.
The hotel bar Isis is nothing special. The toilets felt miles away from the bar. The drinks were very expensive. 2 double gin and tonics were £25!!!
Opposite the hotel is the Novotel, and the restaurant Elements, which serve good cheap food for dinner, but expensive breakfasts. £15!!!
Just around the corner is the Bavarian Beer House, which is a bit expensive for what it is, but the atmosphere was good.

Room Tip: 720, 7th floor, great view of the Tower of London etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentishManofKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Hotel is located next to the Tower, Novotel and Doubletree Hilton. Tube station Tower Hill is only footsteps away. Staff is friendly but not very friendly. Room is very small, small hallway and then you fall directly on the bed all very tiny. Matresses are extremely soft. There was is a smell of sweaty feet in the whole room and even after leaving the open it would not go away. Breakfast is ok but really nothing special. Attended a conference and had also lunch there - nothing to write home about. Pictures on the website seem to show only larger and of course more expensive club rooms. It was ok as the conference was in the same hotel but otherwise disappointing especially for the price paid.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jbps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#227 of 1,076 in London
3,720 reviews
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#331 of 1,076 in London
4,348 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#235 of 1,076 in London
2,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
City of London
Four Seasons Hotel London at Ten Trinity Square
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#85 of 1,076 in London
3,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange City Hotel

Address: 8-14 Cooper's Row, London EC3N 2BQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Spa Hotel in London
#193 Family Hotel in London
#209 Romantic Hotel in London
#234 Business Hotel in London
#250 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $145 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange City Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange City Hotel is a spectacular luxury 5 star hotel. Superbly located with unique panoramic views over the City and just a gemstone's throw away from the Tower of London, the Grange City represents a first for a hotel of this standard in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grange City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange City London
Hotel Grange City
Grange City Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing