We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Hotel”
Review of Grange City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grange City Hotel
Ranked #345 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Teignmouth, Devon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Top Hotel”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had a short stay in this hotel but it was absolutely fantastic. The staff were very polite and helpful. The room was very clean and tidy. Ensuite bath and shower. Breakfast was really good and the staff were very attentive. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tia40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,120
    949
    426
    168
    107
See reviews for
326
1,209
116
623
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ESSEX
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

stayed at the city hotel for 1 night, web site states you can get in room at 2pm on a sunday but when we arrived was told it was 3pm i got the web site up on my phone and she said they are busy and would talk to manager so i said i would be back at 2pm as stated, got back at 2.15pm waited to be seen with was over 15 mins and there was only a man in front the other reception was on phone talking to house keeping( thought customer was inportant) not in this hotel, when i was seen was still told you cant have room till 3.00 i complained this is not what is stated on web site she found me a room ( funny that), rooms are very small not worth the money at all there is a lot better hotels for that money.

Room Tip: choose a diffrent hotal
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PET6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Just returned from another great stay at the Grange City Hotel.

Top Tips - Make sure you get a deal for this hotel as the rack rate is expensive and don't bother paying extra for a full English breakfast as you can help yourself anyway.

Due to a slight delay checking in we got upgraded and had a great room with a fantastic view of the Tower of London and the Shard.

The bathroom as a bit small - but who cares as we were weren't staying in the bathroom.

The hotel is in a great location just around the corner from Tower Hill tube station and there is a great JD Weatherspoons pub very close.

Breakfast is a bit chaotic, like school dinners, but the actual food was great with a good selection and a decent self service cooked breakfast.

Overall another great stay.

Room Tip: If you smoke they do have smoking rooms available - just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GaryHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed here for one Saturday night on the way to visit friends and booked directly with the hotel as they had an excellent deal including continental breakfast. On check in we were upgraded to an 11th floor simply stunning room - two comfy beds, large bathroom and panormaic views of tower bridge, the thames and the shard. Everything in the room was comfortable, clean and inviting. We also had room service which was speedy and good quality. Continental breakfast was much as expected but staff were efficient and polite. Great location next to a tube station and everyone friendly and welcoming. Would not hesitate to stay here again but maybe we were lucky with the room? Swimming pool was good for lane swimming and workout but a bit cold and the suana/steam rooms not working which was disappointing.

Room Tip: a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyLilian14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Got this as a deal on late rooms, otherwise I think it is costly! Lovely big rooms, huge bathroom and a great view of the Shard from the room we were in. If on a deal worth a stay! Very handy location, easy access to the tube station or train. Plus on the doorstep of the Tower of London.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjc75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Spent 4 night at this hotel on a business trip... My secretary booked it at a pretty high rate (last minute trip)... The location is ok, train is only 2 minutes away.... However the area is pretty dull... Breakfast was expensive and average... My room was a corner unit, which was huge by all standards, fitting easily 3 double beds, which did not compensate for the dated furniture and old door... Service was cold and minimal, just sticking to the bare minimum... Overall my stay was ok, I was satisfied in general but for 250+ pounds per night I expect better... Overall low value for money... I would rather this property a good 3 star business hotel, nothing more...

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

I stayed there last weekend and everything was fantastic. The location, view of the tower from our room, friendly staff, cleanlines. I am definitely staying here again when I go back to London. £23 per head breakfast was unjustifiable though but there is a pret just up the road :)

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bahhumbugessexgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#220 of 1,068 in London
3,617 reviews
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#322 of 1,068 in London
4,217 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#237 of 1,068 in London
2,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#78 of 1,068 in London
3,747 reviews
City of London
Four Seasons Hotel London at Ten Trinity Square
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange City Hotel

Property: Grange City Hotel
Address: 8-14 Cooper's Row, London EC3N 2BQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Spa Hotel in London
#193 Family Hotel in London
#209 Romantic Hotel in London
#234 Business Hotel in London
#247 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange City Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange City Hotel is a spectacular luxury 5 star hotel. Superbly located with unique panoramic views over the City and just a gemstone's throw away from the Tower of London, the Grange City represents a first for a hotel of this standard in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Grange City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange City London
Hotel Grange City
Grange City Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing