We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service and Falling Apart”
Review of Grange City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grange City Hotel
Ranked #352 of 1,069 Hotels in London
london
1 review
“Poor Service and Falling Apart”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Staying at the grange now. My party has booked for five nights. We booked club rooms on recommendation of our London broker. club rooms get early check-in at 11am. i told the front desk we had club rooms reserved and should be able to check in at 11. they said no club rooms don't, but it's on the website. we were told we owuld get upper floor rooms on floor 10. we were given rooms on floor 6. we asked why, said all club rooms are on floor six. told another in our party they were only on floor five and six. however spoke to someone staying at the hotel on floor ten, they have club room access. two of the females in our party said their hair dryers don't work took an hour to get one new one. a service person showed to see the other and confirmed ya it's not working. thanks for stating the obvious. Very poor service and constantly get a different story from staff. they run a pre-auth on the CC. three rooms, for same nights at same price all got three different pre-auth amounts. seems arbitrary. people not willing to fix thier mistakes, rooms dirty. gave us one room and sheets smelled like mens aftershave. did they change the sheets? don't let them fool you not all rooms are the same. Five star is a joke. look to double-tree kitty corner. for the money, anywhere else is better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cliff c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,127
    958
    428
    170
    107
See reviews for
331
1,219
117
625
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I booked this hotel through Lastminute.com and on my arrival the hotel had no record of my booking, safe to say after a day in the office, I was annoyed. The staff at The Grange worked quickly and effectively to find my reservation and a room suitable.

At all times the staff were helpful and courteous working to make my stay enjoyable. The room was large, clean and the facilities on par!

Located next to Tower Hill tube and with views of The Shard and Thames, I'd most certainly return!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luxury_lover4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

I had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The room was well presented with everything we needed having been provided. The bed was very comfortable too. The spa had a very calm atmosphere and was a delight to swim and relax in. The decor is very grand upholding its 5 star rating despite being at 4 star prices. I must mention the sushi restaurant as it was delicious with a great head chef! The staff were generally very polite and helpful also. Lastly with Tower Hill station a minute away, it was very easy to get around. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alice785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Nice room and services for family. Large and quiet room. Sushi bar and swimming pool. 1 mn from Circle line, 2 mn from London Tower, 10 mn from Ledenhall market. A nice place to enjoy a visit of London.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LFG08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

In the US this hotel would be on par with Holiday Inn or Days Inn. Half of the staff is helpful, the other half pretend to not speak English. Though you have a credit card on file, they demand cash for everything (weird...). The hotel room stank of a thousand rancid beers. The toiletries are strawberry-cherry scented. Men want to smell like 7 year old girls? The wifi is a joke, ethernet cable is useless. At night the area is desolate and there is NOTHING to eat outside of the hotel. I ventured out at 10PM (since my stomach thought it was 6PM EST) and everything was closed up tight within a 5 block radius, ran into a skinhead and then a gang of teens running & screaming. The bed is bizarre. Ended up putting my pillow at the foot rather than the head since the bed had caved in at the head and to sleep towards that end would have been akin to sleeping downhill. Did I mention the scent of a thousand rancid beers? I had to sleep with the window open to keep from dry-heaving. Vile.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere. Really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WriterWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

- The hotel internet DOES NOT work with MacBook or MacBook pro. The in house IT guy took one look at my computer and sighed. He made it out as if Apple products were rare in England.

- We got the room through last minute as others have stated they did as well. It is clear that this hotel uses the site as a means of moving a lot of inventory that they can't sell at the high asking price.

- It is billed as a five star hotel but that is questionable at best. For Europe it is certainly nicer than the average hotel room, by American standards it's a three star. It is not a luxury property in any way.

- The staff is comprised of people from many places but few seem to know where anything is nearby.

- No matter whom you ask for anything they refer you to the concierge. The concierge pulls the usual "I don't know where anything is but you can buy it from the hotel" routine.

- Even though the property is billed as having a "Central London" location it is only central to some tourist attractions and therefore everything nearby closes early. When you are jet-lagged and looking for food at 11pm your only option is room service.

- Room service is cash only. Even though they took a ₤250 deposit from me for incidentals at check in they still insisted on cash payment for room service. I've never heard of that at a five-star (or any other) hotel before.

- I am impressed by the fact that the hotel management doesn't seem to reply to tripadvisor reviews. I see this as a kind of admission that they just run this property as a cash cow and don't have any interest in the quality of the product at all.

- There is no laundry room. There is an overpriced laundry service with next-day turnaround. The closest laundromat is about 20 minutes away by bus.

- Rooms are small, dark, depressing, and ours smells like beer. When we checked in the window was open even though it was freezing rain outside.

Room Tip: There's a Doubletree and a Novotel across the street. Try them first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank htnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheringham
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a five star hotel but five star it is not. On the plus side you have the staff who couldn't be better - friendly, helpful, always smiling. Also the hotel is very attractively decorated but they have problems. The room we stayed in - number 218 - was cramped to say the least. The bed was a basic double size - not good enough for 5*. The view - well if you call a view of Fenchurch Street station platform, a view, then we had a view but we could never pull up the blind as people on the train could then see into our room.
Breakfast is a story in two parts. If you are there over the weekend, it's like a rugby scrum with people fighting over you to get at the toaster - where does any hotelier get the idea that this is what customers want?? On the Sunday at one point they ran out of rolls, fried eggs and baked beans - there was nearly a revolution. If on the other hand you stay on a weekday. it's totally different - eggs to order any way you like them, full range of breakfast fare but then why not the same at the weekend?
As this was a special trip, I was disappointed - not what I was expecting from a chain with such a swanky name as The Grange.

Room Tip: You could try asking for a room with a view - I did and got Fenchurch Street Station
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gailSheringham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#222 of 1,069 in London
3,649 reviews
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#324 of 1,069 in London
4,256 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#232 of 1,069 in London
2,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Four Seasons Hotel London at Ten Trinity Square
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#88 of 1,069 in London
3,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange City Hotel

Property: Grange City Hotel
Address: 8-14 Cooper's Row, London EC3N 2BQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Spa Hotel in London
#193 Family Hotel in London
#209 Romantic Hotel in London
#234 Business Hotel in London
#250 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange City Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange City Hotel is a spectacular luxury 5 star hotel. Superbly located with unique panoramic views over the City and just a gemstone's throw away from the Tower of London, the Grange City represents a first for a hotel of this standard in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Grange City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange City London
Hotel Grange City
Grange City Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing