We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous hotel in a top location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grange City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grange City Hotel
Ranked #340 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel in a top location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

I had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The room was well presented with everything we needed having been provided. The bed was very comfortable too. The spa had a very calm atmosphere and was a delight to swim and relax in. The decor is very grand upholding its 5 star rating despite being at 4 star prices. I must mention the sushi restaurant as it was delicious with a great head chef! The staff were generally very polite and helpful also. Lastly with Tower Hill station a minute away, it was very easy to get around. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alice785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,082
    923
    411
    161
    103
See reviews for
315
1,178
114
590
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Nice room and services for family. Large and quiet room. Sushi bar and swimming pool. 1 mn from Circle line, 2 mn from London Tower, 10 mn from Ledenhall market. A nice place to enjoy a visit of London.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LFG08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

In the US this hotel would be on par with Holiday Inn or Days Inn. Half of the staff is helpful, the other half pretend to not speak English. Though you have a credit card on file, they demand cash for everything (weird...). The hotel room stank of a thousand rancid beers. The toiletries are strawberry-cherry scented. Men want to smell like 7 year old girls? The wifi is a joke, ethernet cable is useless. At night the area is desolate and there is NOTHING to eat outside of the hotel. I ventured out at 10PM (since my stomach thought it was 6PM EST) and everything was closed up tight within a 5 block radius, ran into a skinhead and then a gang of teens running & screaming. The bed is bizarre. Ended up putting my pillow at the foot rather than the head since the bed had caved in at the head and to sleep towards that end would have been akin to sleeping downhill. Did I mention the scent of a thousand rancid beers? I had to sleep with the window open to keep from dry-heaving. Vile.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere. Really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WriterWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

- The hotel internet DOES NOT work with MacBook or MacBook pro. The in house IT guy took one look at my computer and sighed. He made it out as if Apple products were rare in England.

- We got the room through last minute as others have stated they did as well. It is clear that this hotel uses the site as a means of moving a lot of inventory that they can't sell at the high asking price.

- It is billed as a five star hotel but that is questionable at best. For Europe it is certainly nicer than the average hotel room, by American standards it's a three star. It is not a luxury property in any way.

- The staff is comprised of people from many places but few seem to know where anything is nearby.

- No matter whom you ask for anything they refer you to the concierge. The concierge pulls the usual "I don't know where anything is but you can buy it from the hotel" routine.

- Even though the property is billed as having a "Central London" location it is only central to some tourist attractions and therefore everything nearby closes early. When you are jet-lagged and looking for food at 11pm your only option is room service.

- Room service is cash only. Even though they took a ₤250 deposit from me for incidentals at check in they still insisted on cash payment for room service. I've never heard of that at a five-star (or any other) hotel before.

- I am impressed by the fact that the hotel management doesn't seem to reply to tripadvisor reviews. I see this as a kind of admission that they just run this property as a cash cow and don't have any interest in the quality of the product at all.

- There is no laundry room. There is an overpriced laundry service with next-day turnaround. The closest laundromat is about 20 minutes away by bus.

- Rooms are small, dark, depressing, and ours smells like beer. When we checked in the window was open even though it was freezing rain outside.

Room Tip: There's a Doubletree and a Novotel across the street. Try them first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank htnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheringham
Level Contributor
158 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a five star hotel but five star it is not. On the plus side you have the staff who couldn't be better - friendly, helpful, always smiling. Also the hotel is very attractively decorated but they have problems. The room we stayed in - number 218 - was cramped to say the least. The bed was a basic double size - not good enough for 5*. The view - well if you call a view of Fenchurch Street station platform, a view, then we had a view but we could never pull up the blind as people on the train could then see into our room.
Breakfast is a story in two parts. If you are there over the weekend, it's like a rugby scrum with people fighting over you to get at the toaster - where does any hotelier get the idea that this is what customers want?? On the Sunday at one point they ran out of rolls, fried eggs and baked beans - there was nearly a revolution. If on the other hand you stay on a weekday. it's totally different - eggs to order any way you like them, full range of breakfast fare but then why not the same at the weekend?
As this was a special trip, I was disappointed - not what I was expecting from a chain with such a swanky name as The Grange.

Room Tip: You could try asking for a room with a view - I did and got Fenchurch Street Station
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gailSheringham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catskill, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

I was a little concerned based on the negative reviews posted on this hotel. However, I feel some reviewers have been unfair. We are talking about London here. This hotel is very reasonable for London. I would rate it a 4 Star + facility. If it offered everything that some people demand, they would be paying double what they are being charged. All things considered, Its a great value for the price.

We stayed for two nights earlier this month. We had booked an Executive Room 10 months in advance through the hotel's website which included breakfast. At the time of booking, we requested a smoking room with a tower view.

The hotel is beautiful and well maintained with a very friendly staff. Because we arrived early, our room was not ready. We went to Wetherspoons around the corner and had a very nice lunch. When we returned our room was ready and we were pleased overall. It was very clean, and appointed as you would expect of a 5 star with a "semi-tower view." I say "semi-tower" because there was a building blocking a complete view. The bed was very comfortable and we got a good night's rest.

Breakfast was nicely presented and well prepared. A short walk to the tower, restaurants and the city cruise docks made this a perfect location for weekend sightseeing.

Grange City is located like a 5 star, looks like a 5 star, has all the ammenities of a 5 star, is priced like a 4 star. The staff was very friendly and when requested, the bathrobes and slippers were provided to us. The TV's must have been upgraded since the pictures on this site were taken because the one in our room was a large flat screen with excellent reception.

Grange City Hotel is a great value for London and I would definelty stay there again.

Room Tip: Book as much in advance as you can. When you book, ask for a higher floor with a tower view. Check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Good hotel, but not 5 Star... It's the little things the mess up on, Bathrobe only (no slippers) even when both requested, no water until asked for, bottles of coke ordered on room service but no bottle openers, no sugar for tea/coffee with breakfast room service... it's the little things. However that said: 5 star staff - couldn't be more helpful and very quick and responsive; room great - a peak at the Tower and Tower Bridge but certainly not as bad as some have described (even if someone had stripped the hairdryer of its plug!!! BTW very quickly replaced by staff); Spa very good (could do with loungers/steamer chairs poolside - but space very limited in their basement), Forum Restaurant food good (even if wine heavily over priced); Room Service prompt, discrete and efficient (even if they forget sugar/bottle openers etc..)
All round not a horrible hotel but not 5 star either - a Curate's Egg of a Hotel then!!

Room Tip: Higher Floors in Main Building are your best bet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lol1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#214 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,506 reviews
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#319 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,072 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#248 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#83 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,566 reviews
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange City Hotel

Property: Grange City Hotel
Address: 8-14 Coopers Row, London EC3N 2BD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Spa Hotel in London
#193 Family Hotel in London
#209 Romantic Hotel in London
#234 Business Hotel in London
#243 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange City Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange City Hotel is a spectacular luxury 5 star hotel. Superbly located with unique panoramic views over the City and just a gemstone's throw away from the Tower of London, the Grange City represents a first for a hotel of this standard in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Jetsetter, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grange City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange City London
Hotel Grange City
Grange City Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing