We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The smallest rooms on earth”
Review of Grange City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grange City Hotel
Ranked #342 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Europe
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The smallest rooms on earth”
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Decent furnishings and good, if limited, breakfast.

However, some of the rooms are so small that you cannot even find a spot to put your briefcase, let alone a suitcase, without it blocking a door and you having to step over it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EfficientTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,112
    943
    422
    165
    106
See reviews for
324
1,203
116
613
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
KC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I arrived at the hotel to first find that the room I had reserved was not available and I would now have a different one. They kindly offered to take care of the upgrade...about 40 pounds per night.. Then that evening I found a note under my door to call the reception desk where they told me I know would have to pay. Fine..I would but tell me when I checkin not at 1030 at night. The receptionist asked me if I had stayed at the hotel before ...I said no and she said welcome back.... Then...in the evening when I put my key card in the room to enable the lights they kept going out. Took quite some time to get it resolved.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MR2matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The hotel has a great location at the end of the DLR and opposite the Tower of London. There is also parking that is only £2 a day Sat & Sun available nearby (Minories Car Park) though it is £2 an hour during the week.

Rooms in the rear of the hotel overlook a railway station platform, though it is far below - rooms on the front have a good view over the Tower.

Room was nice if a little dated. Bed was comfy and sofa was good.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the front of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCKirkyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights and couldnt fault it. We had an amazing view of Tower Bridge and The Tower Of London with a lovely seating area in the room. The service was excellent with a turndown service provided at night. Robes and slippers were also provided which was a bonus for me. Would highly reccomend this hotel

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pippa-Jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I do not understand how this hotel could possible have a five star rating especially compared to other hotels in its class. I give it one star related to value for dollars and what one would expect. A single room is smaller than a closet. I upgraded to an executive room which at least you had a place for your clothes. Rooms are dated, dark and depressing. Bathrooms are ungracious with a cheap plastic shower. Service is perfunctory, not gracious.
No light in the closet, very limited room service.
Bizarre fire doors all over the place, one is just waiting to be trapped. Bar is downmarket, restaurant like a bad catering hall.
It's no better than a basic Hilton.
Would NEVER recommend.

Room Tip: Never get a single, vet your specific room in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MindyGtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Been here before but things are not what they were.
It appears the Hotel is making changes, not always for the better.
It states quite clearly, even in the instructions in the room, free wi-fi. Unfortunately this is both incorrect and misleading. Wi fi is now charged for and is in excess of £20 for 24 hours (£20 is not a typing error) How coffee shops etc can offer this service for free but a five star hotel cannot is difficult to understand).
Bathrobes were available in the room previously, they now have to be requested at reception.
One small bottle of water is provided in the room when you arrive, if you expect this to be replaced on subsequent days you will be disappointed.
Bathroom in our room was the smallest bathroom possible. The room overlooked the Roman Wall, unfortunately numerous other walls too.
The guest in the next room could clearly be heard sneezing, soundproofing poor.
Breakfast was disorganised.
Overall the hotel was clean and staff pleasant and helpful but the decoration is now dated. The hotel needs to move into the 21st century and be less complacent. There are new kids on the block providing more up to date and current facilities. The hotel is not a bad one but now falls short of what I would consider a five star rated hotel to be.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view. Don't expect free wi fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CriticsView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My sister was hosting a charity event at the hotel, we all decided that we didn't want to rush off home after the event, so we booked rooms for the night, what a great decision . The service from the get go , was very good, although reception was busy , staff were proffessional , friendly and helpful. I asked for an upgrade whilst booking on line , and my wish was granted , I had a truly lovely room on the 10th floor , spacious and well appointed.

Continental breakfast was included in the room rate and it was very good,( i must also add that the function room for the event was also very good and the 3 course course meal tasty, at the time I was on a low carb diet, the staff really surpassed my expectations , by quickly organising some fresh vegetables for me, from the kitchen , during the dinner at the ball. Overall a really great weekend at a great hotel and the room rate at £94 was excellent value.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade , the least they can say is no
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shalom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#221 of 1,067 in London
3,581 reviews
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#326 of 1,067 in London
4,179 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#241 of 1,067 in London
2,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#76 of 1,067 in London
3,704 reviews
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
City of London
Four Seasons Hotel London at Ten Trinity Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange City Hotel

Property: Grange City Hotel
Address: 8-14 Cooper's Row, London EC3N 2BQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Spa Hotel in London
#193 Family Hotel in London
#209 Romantic Hotel in London
#234 Business Hotel in London
#244 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange City Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange City Hotel is a spectacular luxury 5 star hotel. Superbly located with unique panoramic views over the City and just a gemstone's throw away from the Tower of London, the Grange City represents a first for a hotel of this standard in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grange City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange City London
Hotel Grange City
Grange City Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing