We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view, very nice room”
Review of Grange City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grange City Hotel
Ranked #340 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Boston area
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic view, very nice room”
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Our family of 4 stayed here in mid April - the view was of the Tower of London and London Bridge - the best view I could imagine. Our room was very nice - and included a very comfortable cot/bed set up by the big window for our younger daughter. We had no complaints about the room - the only things we'd change would be to increase the efficiency of the reception desk and to have the hot tub working (it was out during our stay). The staff was helpful once you got them, but the check-in, check-out situation did take too long. The City area is pretty quiet on weekends - but location worked out fine for us.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MassMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,102
    934
    417
    164
    105
See reviews for
320
1,196
115
603
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Far corner of Wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Service
Good service however just after we arrived it became very busy at reception and there is no organised queueing system which left people confused and not sure where to go. Same goes for the luggage storage, it all seemed a bit dis-organised.
Room
When asked whether we wanted a smoking or non-smoking room I asked for the one with the best view. As there none left available we were given a free upgrade to an executive room. I'm glad we were upgrading as the room was smaller than basic Travelodge/Premier Inn rooms so I dread to think how small the others were. The room overlooked Fenchurch Street station which wasn't so bad but there were a lot of office windows looking directly into our room so we kept our curtains closed - shame as it was gorgeous weekend so the sun in the morning would have been nice.
Location
Literally 30 seconds from Tower Bridge underground and just across the road from the Tower of London but that's it. We walked back from Southwark/Embankment 1 night at a gentle stroll and it took at least 45 mins.
Amenities
Spa was nice though you feel like you're intruding on the staff and that you should know exactly where you're going and what you should be doing. Pool was too cold so spent all my time in the jacuzzi!
Room service took ages (over 1 hour for 2 meals) and we had to ring to see where our food was a couple of times. We ordered Pizza (which you could tell was not fresh and tasted very cheap) and spaghetti bolognese (very bland with cold sticky pasta by the time it arrived).
Breakfast
Very impersonal, took ages for tea and coffee to be done so much so we gave up and had drinks in our room. Food was OK.

To be honest for a 5* hotel in London it's not worth it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bint86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed there for two days in April after the Royal Wedding rush. London was really busy and exciting at this time. But Grange was a peaceful haven for us. We had our 2 year old with us and he was hyper but the staff was really helpful in getting everything set for us. We did not go to the restaurant but the lounge bar & cafe was a godsend for us. They helped us with the morning milk for my son and coffees for us and they brought it to our room as i didnt have any hands free with my runner of a son with me. The room service food was also really great. After a day of sightseeing we didnt feel like traipsing our again. So room service it was and very tasty. We will definitely go back. I already recommended it to my friend and one of them has already been there.
A special mention for the conceirge and bellman. Very helpful. They got us tickets to all the touristy places and also recommended witherspoons a great breakfast fast place which is a couple of minutes walk..

Room Tip: expedia and ask for it at the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kvbanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Location is far from alot of the main attraction, will have to take the tube to majority of the attractions with the exception of the Tower of London which is across the street. Hotel itself was good, clean, and has pool & gym. Staff was friendly and helpful. Not alot of places to eat for dinner however tube station is very very close.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jesslca321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

I can't say that I will ever stay here again. The reception staff are rude, unhelpful and couldn't really care less, which is not a good front for the hotel.
The rooms are fine, with nice beds, but mine on the 3rd floor was dingy and overlooked the fenchucrch st station platform directly which was odd. A member of staff just walked directly into the room to replace the water, saying he didn't think anyone was in the rooms at this time even though it was 2.30pm and check in is at 2pm, luckily I was dressed.
They then started room maintenence in the room next door at 8am the following morning, which was very noisy and even made my bed move as they were banging on the walls. I told the receptionist of this and she didn't really care.
Breakfast was way too expensive at £23 pp so we went round the corner to one of the other hotels.
Also be aware that most things are shut in the city at the weekend.
The hotel was also full of hen nights that spent their time running up and down the corriders. There was at least 2 groups of 20 hen weekenders checking in when i did.
I must say though the spa was nice and the therapist I had was very profesional.
I would not recommend this, not if you want a relxing break or a decent nights sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor they might not be so dingy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank h0peful75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

We booked this through the secret rooms function on LastMinute.com, and got a brilliant hotel for a fantatic price.
The hotel is right next door to the tube station, which makes it really convienient to get to and from. The check in process was easy and the staff friendly. I arrived just after work so myself and a number of ther people were trying to check in at the same time. I agree with other reviews that it could do with some kind of organisation to stop people jumping ahead of each other, but everything was calm and well handled and I only had to wait about 5 min.
We had a room on the 9th floor, which was great. Not much of a view (office and railway) but the blinds worked well and the room size was fantastic, enough space to have a bed, a sofa, a desk and a couple of chairs and still be able to move around! The room felt clean and comfortable, although some of the chrome items in the bathroom were slighty scuffed and the air con was slightly noisy. Neither of these things spoilt our stay in the slightest, but maybe if I had paid full price??

Room Tip: ask for a room on one of the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate_t51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

The check in process is so slow. We waited ages to book in and the room wasn't ready. We then waited another 15 -20 mins just to hand our luggage over. We came back late in the afternoon and found they hadn't taken our bag to the room as they said they would.
Overall the hotel is good, comfortable and clean. Some areas of the bathroom could do with attention, as the fittings are chrome and tarnished in places. There were also some marks on the tiles around the bath area and under the sink. There was also some kind of stain on the underside of the tap. The wine glasses were coated in dust, and the mini fridge had pressure sensors, so anything you moved in the fridge, even if you put it back was charged directly to your bill. Meaning you cant use it to store your own items. There are ice machines on some floors which are very handy for drinks. The air con unit was effective in controlling the room temperature. The hotel is ideally located for visits to Tower Bridge, Tower of London and right next to the tube. Plenty of bars and restaurants all within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank non-stop-orb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#214 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,543 reviews
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#326 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,131 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#247 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#81 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,631 reviews
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
City of London
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange City Hotel

Property: Grange City Hotel
Address: 8-14 Cooper's Row, London EC3N 2BQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Spa Hotel in London
#193 Family Hotel in London
#209 Romantic Hotel in London
#234 Business Hotel in London
#243 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange City Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange City Hotel is a spectacular luxury 5 star hotel. Superbly located with unique panoramic views over the City and just a gemstone's throw away from the Tower of London, the Grange City represents a first for a hotel of this standard in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grange City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange City London
Hotel Grange City
Grange City Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing