We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Threadneedles, Autograph Collection
Ranked #206 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another fantastic stay!”
Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

I love this hotel and everything about it. I stayed with my daughter when we went to see mamma Mia and horrible histories the weekend of the London marathon.

I booked the 2012 package and reception swapped a glass of champagne for coke for my daughter. I thought the room we had on a previous visit was great, but this one was exceptional.

I would heartily recommend the threadneedles to anyone who is staying in London on a weekend. The tate modern is a 10 min walk from the hotel, and central London is a 10/15 min tube ride away.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grunge_Spice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Threadneedles, Interim General Manager at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
So happy to read that you had another fantastic stay at Threadneedles. Thank you for recommending our hotel to other travelers. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Please contact me directly on that occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    304
    101
    40
    18
See reviews for
81
578
52
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I'm currently (11th June 2012) staying at Threadneedles and unfortunately have found it to be very noisy from the services doors in the hallways across from the rooms and even more disappointing is the lack of privacy as the rooms face building works where builders on 3 floors look directly into your room and this affects all floors of the Hotel.
When you close the curtains it means you're staying in darkness (the rooms are naturally dark).
What was a test run for a stay during the Olympics has unfortunately changed my mind.
An expensive test for what I knew to be a peaceful hotel in the past unfortunately.

Room Tip: Ask if the building work next door has completed and whether your room is near the floor entry to yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelG959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Threadneedles, Manager at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. We are truly sorry that you have left with such a bad impression this time. The last of the works to the building accross the way in Finch Lane are coming to an end. We will definitely not have this problem of builders accross the way during the Olympic period. We would have loved to have found an alternative room for you had we known your Privacy was being affected at the time. I would also like to personally apologise for the noise from the service door accross the hall way. This should not have been the case and I am personally dealing with the staff concerned. I do hope that we can restore your faith in Threadneedles and have been in touch with you personally regarding the issues you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston-super-Mare
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed here on a Saturday night. Though the location is in the middle of the financial district it is well served by public transport. We used Boris's bikes to get around and would recommend them.

The room was lovely. Comfortable bed - excellent bathroom.

All the staff were warm and welcoming. We didn't have the budget to have breakfast which is about £23+ but had a morning trip to Sainsburys 2 minutes away for some pain au chocolate to go with our morning coffee.

We stay in London quite often and this was one of the best hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dean_alice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Threadneedles, Interim General Manager at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the location of the hotel. The Boris bikes are great fun and a good way to get around London! Sorry that you found our breakfast to be a little pricy. We do have specials on, and if you book directly with us and order a breakfast inclusive rate in advance, breakfast is discounted. We do pride ourselves in offering a good quality breakfast and have won awards for offering the best breakfasts in the City of London. We hope that you will stay again soon and please do contact me on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Nice quiet location, good service, great food breakfast. Small room, tucked away, no view.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiddlybunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Threadneedles, Interim General Manager at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you so much for staying and for your review. We are so happy that you liked our location, good service and our breakfast. So sorry that you room had no view. Unfortunately, being right in the City, our rooms are limited in terms of view. We do have a Penthouse Deluxe room in the hotel, so perhaps on your next visit, this may be an option for you. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Great location right in the City. Two minutes walk from Bank Station.

Hotel is brilliant. Room was very comfortable, well decorated, amazing huge bed, great bathroom, excellent shower.

Service was great. I would highly recommend breakfast in bed. Their Eggs Benedict are one of the best I have ever tasted!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Izzysea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Threadneedles, Interim General Manager at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We are delighted that we met your expectations and that you loved the hotel and our service. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed at the Threadneedles hotel for 3 nights recently. The area is very quiet on the weekend and although very close to Bank Tube station first time visitors to London may prefer a location more conveniently located to more London attractions. It would be a great place to stay if you had business in the City. Our room was comfortable but quite dark and oddly designed (very narrow with unusually high ceiling). The furniture was jammed in and I couldn't turn on the lamp because the TV and coffee table prevented me from getting to it. The wallpaper was peeling a little and there were other signs of wear and tear around the room. Bathroom was fine and well-equipped. The lobby area is attractive but I found the way the reception staff stood up from their desk everytime we entered the hotel a little disconcerting. Really you don't have to do that and for me it doesn't add value to my stay at all. With a little updating this could be a very nice hotel but for the premium price we paid I was a little disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdabca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Threadneedles, Interim General Manager at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay with us.

We fully take on board your comments about your room needing an upgrade. We are actually in the process of arranging for our rooms to have a soft refurbishment later in the year.

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed and felt that you did not get good value for money during your stay with us. I do hope that you will return and ask you to contact me directly on your next visit so that I can personally oversee your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We stayed at the Threadneedles Hotel over a weekend as we were at a wedding in the City. We had a great experience and were sorry that we didn't have the time to fully appreciate the hotel. We had a very comfortable quiet room with excellent facilities. The hotel is right in the City, near to Bank tube and close to the Bank of England as the name suggests! Breakfast was very good and it made a pleasant change to be served to your table rather than having a buffet style breakfast. The staff were very friendly and service was good, I loved being able to leave my shoes outside our room for the shoe shine service, particularly as it was a very wet London day. When we got back home we received a bill for the use of the mini bar, which we hadn't had chance to use! I rang the hotel and the Manager was extremely helpful and the problem was rectified straight away. I would highly recommend a stay in this hotel in such a beautiful part of London and at the weekend it is so quiet and reasonable for the quality and comfort of your stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Threadneedles, Interim General Manager at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you for choosing Threadneedles and for taking the time to share your experience. It was a real pleasure to read your kind comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed staying with us. We look forward to your next visit! Please do not hesitate to contact me directly on that occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#48 of 1,069 in London
1,936 reviews
City of London
Andaz London Liverpool Street
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel, Gracechurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#38 of 1,069 in London
1,011 reviews
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#324 of 1,069 in London
4,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Threadneedles, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Threadneedles, Autograph Collection

Property: Threadneedles, Autograph Collection
Address: 5 Threadneedle Street, London EC2R 8AY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#157 Luxury Hotel in London
#169 Business Hotel in London
#177 Romantic Hotel in London
#215 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Threadneedles, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a blend of grandeur and warm elegance at Threadneedles, Autograph Collection, a 5-star boutique hotel in London, England. Enjoy elegant amenities and historic charm in the heart of London at our luxury hotel, which puts you in an ideal location places you minutes from popular landmarks such as St. Paul's Cathedral, The Barbican, Shakespeare's Globe, and the Tower of London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Threadneedles, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Threadneedles Hotel London
Threadneedles, Autograph Collection London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing