We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional and Mediocre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ramada London Finchley
Ranked #650 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The problem is that in this area of London hotels are pretty thin on the ground.
This is one of those classic roadside hotels aimed at serving business travellers and those on a budget. Given the price we paid for a relatively run down part of North London it doesn't represent that good value. For £100 you can get nicer and better placed hotels in the centre of town and cheaper ones a bit further out. Welcome was mechanical and reading from a script not listening to customer questions. Rooms were good basic standard, hot due to a poor aircon system and towels were hidden in the bedroom drawers not the bathroom. Internet never worked, lady at reception said it only worked in certain rooms. Breakfast was served at unlaid tables with no real help from staff. Restaurant tries to be everything to everybody and fails. Café Rouge next door is much better. Good points were the bar staff who were very helpful and understanding and though close to the road there is little noise and parking is right outside though limited.
All in all an average hotel for the money that belongs to a group that does not go the extra mile.

Room Tip: Rooms above the number 220 on the first floor suffer from poor internet access
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHMS, CEO of Lester Hotels at Ramada London Finchley, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you for your review and sorry we did not live up to your expectations. Wi fi is available throughout the building and unlike most of our competitors ours is free. I am sorry that when you visited there appears to have been a glitch, and I appreciate how aggravating this must have been.

We have air con in our front facing bedrooms and most guests find this a welcome boon to their stay, again I am sorry that it wasnt to the standard you required.

We deliberately dont give our team scripts so they do their best to treat every guest as an individual which seems to work as we run on a very high occupancy, however we take your comments on board and will try harder.

There is always one complete set of towels in the bathroom then a spare set in the bedroom. We find our guests really appreciate this as you dont have to phone down and wait for housekeeping to bring them to the bedroom.

Unlike our competitors we include a free cooked breakfast.

We are what we are, but judging from your review, which we take on board, we need to be better and will strive to do so.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Kind regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
There are newer reviews for Ramada London Finchley
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 467 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

Ideal location
decor was tired throughout bedroom and bathroom
lack of choice at breakfast I am gluten free and could hardly eat anything!
bed was clean and comfortable
generally a pleasant stay we were warmly greeted but found the decor dated.






Room Tip: modernise your decor and update your bathrooms they look extremley dated
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHMS, CEO of Lester Hotels at Ramada London Finchley, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thanks for your review and so pleased the team looked after you so well and you found the hotel welcoming, comfortable and clean.

We will speak to the restaurant operator about dietary requirements and sorry we were not really set up for a gluten free breakfast.....apologies.

Kind regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I had to book the Comfort hotel in Finchley for the location after reading some of the reviews I was a little bit worried , First and foremost the staff was wonderful the bedroom was spotless fresh towels every day the breakfast was very good , I will be using this hotel any time I am in London my husband and I would like to thank all the staff for a wonderful stay at the Comfort Hotel

Room Tip: all the rooms are good
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMANDA360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHMS, CEO of Lester Hotels at Ramada London Finchley, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thanks for your review so pleased you enjoyed.

Kindest regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This functional hotel is located on an estate containing a few restaurants, a cinema complex and a leisure centre in suburban North London. There are very few hotel options in the N3/N12 area, so if you need to be in this area, you may still end up "choosing" this hotel.
We were due to arrive very late and phoned the hotel every 15 minutes from 3pm until 6pm to confirm our reservation and warm the staff of our late arrival. For three hours the calls remained unanswered. Either the hotel is seriously under-staffed or they were all outside enjoying the sunshine.
when we finally got through, we were reassured that a late arrival would be no problem. We did check in with no difficulty, but rather than the King size bed we had booked, the room had a conventional double plus a truckle bed for a third person.
London was experiencing an unusual heatwave, so we tried to open the windows. Only one opened, and only about 10cm. There was some kind of free- standing air filter which served only to move the very hot air around and was noisy. It was a hot and unpleasant night.
In the morning I tried to operate the shower, but the fixture which should have switched the water flow from bath to shower was missing. I tried to phone through to reception but the phone had no information giving the reception number. I tried 0 and 9 but got no response, so had to get dressed and go to reception in person. The member of staff agreed immediately that there was a problem and offered me a pair of pliers to pull a tiny screw to operate the shower.
The staff are pleasant and, when specifically asked, quite helpful, but the hotel is shabby and poorly maintained, certainly not worth the mid range price they charge.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back would be away from the car park.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulietGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHMS, CEO of Lester Hotels at Ramada London Finchley, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thank you for your review and I am sorry we have had a reoccurring issue with the phone lines at Comfort Hotel Finchley and BT are trying to sort out as a matter of urgency this ongoing issue which affects internal as well as external calls.

For Health & Safety reasons the windows have restrictors fitted and an issue with the hotel air conditioning system for the front facing bedrooms [now resolved] meant we could not always cool them to the level some guests required during the recent very hot weather.

The hotel runs on virtually 100% occupancy so your room would have been used the night before and checking the maintenance log no fault was reported, but I am sorry the housekeepers did not pick up the issue so we could resolve it. Whilst I salute the team member who tried to help , we should have spotted this sorry.

I do hope you will use us again.

kind regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I have stayed at the hotel on one of the hottest weeks for a few years, and in all the hotel write ups I found it mentions that there is air conditioning in the rooms. I guess I got the room without the air conditioning....you get a window that opens a few inches (really not enough for 30+c temperatures) and so being in the room at night is unbearable, I havent slept for 4 nights!!
I know it's not the hotels fault that the weather is hot but they really shouldn't say the rooms have air con if they don't, as it's falsely advertising. It would have been nice if they may have offered fans or something to help try and cool off.
Other than this, the breakfast is ok, nothing to write home about, and if I was paying extra for breakfast I'd get a little annoyed with the choice, but it's ok for something included.
The room is kept clean too.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chaoticliloj1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHMS, CEO of Lester Hotels at Ramada London Finchley, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you for your review and so sorry about the air conditioning. All the front rooms at the hotel, which get the sun during the day have air conditioning but unfortunately an external unit was damaged and it took longer to repair than we would have liked. So sorry and thank you for for putting up with this regrettable situation which was outside of our control.

Hope we see you again.

Kindest regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The hotel is situated in a quiet area with many restaurants around. Bus 263 is 2 minutes away. 263 bus to reach the nearest Metro East Finchley in 10 minutes. Varied breakfast , but the same every day. The quality / price is very good for London.


  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Mioara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gman103, General Manager at Ramada London Finchley, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thanks for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I wasn't expecting much after reading previous reviews, but the room was fine, the decor is a bit outdated and could do with a refresh. Can't complain, it was clean, the bed was huge and comfy and the window open provided enough of a breeze to keep cool in this hot weather.
The reception staff were polite and friendly, the breakfast buffet was definitely ample and the retail / restaurant park next door came in handy if you don't want to eat at the hotel.

Ticked all the boxes - obviously it wasn't amazing, but I had nothing to complain about and would stay there again if I was in the area!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missfrogstomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gman103, General Manager at Ramada London Finchley, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thanks for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#723 of 1,072 in London
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Premier Inn London Sidcup
#333 of 1,072 in London
239 reviews
Travelodge London Whetstone
#483 of 1,072 in London
385 reviews
East End / East London
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#579 of 1,072 in London
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada London Finchley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada London Finchley

Address: 3 Leisure Way | High Road Finchley, London N12 0QZ, England (Formerly Comfort Hotel Finchley)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range: $83 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada London Finchley 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada London Finchley is located in a quiet area of a large leisure complex minutes from major road links A405 and M1/A1M and within easy reach of tube links into central London and the west end. This modern hotel has 88 spacious en-suite bedrooms all with either King sized or Twin beds, flat screen TV, complimentary tea/coffee tray, direct dial telephones and FREE Wi-Fi. The Comfort Hotel also offers complimentary Full English Breakfast. Flames restaurant, terrace and bar are within the hotel and offer the service of coffee, lunch and dinner from their extensive Mediterranean menu and daily specials board. An extensive range of hot and cold beverages are also available throughout the day in Flames. Flames also includes a fully heated deck area giving you that ‘al fresco’ experience throughout the year, making it the ideal place to enjoy a relaxing drink or meal whatever the weather! The deck is further enhance by the addition of flats screen tv’s. Within the leisure complex there are numerous things on offer, multi-screen cinema, bowling, cafe + restaurants, swimming pool and also David Lloyd's Leisure Club offer gym/tennis/beauty at preferential rates to our guests. The hotel is near - by to Alexandra Palace and a short journey from major venues such as The Emirates – (Arsenal F.C.), White Hart Lane (Tottenham Hotspurs F.C.),Wembley Stadium and Arena, Saracens Premiership Rugby at The Allianz Stadium, the historic Pheonix Cinema, Finchley and Muswell Hill Golf Clubs, plus Brent Cross Shopping Centre is only 15 minutes away, with Central London being 30 minutes by underground. Local shops and bus routes are within 5 minutes walk of the hotel plus East Finchley Underground Station (Northern Line - the black line) is a short taxi or bus journey away, meaning your only 30 minutes away from central London. A large car park is on site offer FREE car parking and is able to offer parking for coaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ramada London Finchley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn London
Comfort Hotel London
Ramada London Finchley England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing