We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff can only get you so far........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada London Finchley
Ranked #641 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly staff can only get you so far........”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

This functional hotel is located on an estate containing a few restaurants, a cinema complex and a leisure centre in suburban North London. There are very few hotel options in the N3/N12 area, so if you need to be in this area, you may still end up "choosing" this hotel.
We were due to arrive very late and phoned the hotel every 15 minutes from 3pm until 6pm to confirm our reservation and warm the staff of our late arrival. For three hours the calls remained unanswered. Either the hotel is seriously under-staffed or they were all outside enjoying the sunshine.
when we finally got through, we were reassured that a late arrival would be no problem. We did check in with no difficulty, but rather than the King size bed we had booked, the room had a conventional double plus a truckle bed for a third person.
London was experiencing an unusual heatwave, so we tried to open the windows. Only one opened, and only about 10cm. There was some kind of free- standing air filter which served only to move the very hot air around and was noisy. It was a hot and unpleasant night.
In the morning I tried to operate the shower, but the fixture which should have switched the water flow from bath to shower was missing. I tried to phone through to reception but the phone had no information giving the reception number. I tried 0 and 9 but got no response, so had to get dressed and go to reception in person. The member of staff agreed immediately that there was a problem and offered me a pair of pliers to pull a tiny screw to operate the shower.
The staff are pleasant and, when specifically asked, quite helpful, but the hotel is shabby and poorly maintained, certainly not worth the mid range price they charge.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back would be away from the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulietGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHMS, CEO of Lester Hotels at Ramada London Finchley, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am sorry we have had a reoccurring issue with the phone lines at Comfort Hotel Finchley and BT are trying to sort out as a matter of urgency this ongoing issue which affects internal as well as external calls.

For Health & Safety reasons the windows have restrictors fitted and an issue with the hotel air conditioning system for the front facing bedrooms [now resolved] meant we could not always cool them to the level some guests required during the recent very hot weather.

The hotel runs on virtually 100% occupancy so your room would have been used the night before and checking the maintenance log no fault was reported, but I am sorry the housekeepers did not pick up the issue so we could resolve it. Whilst I salute the team member who tried to help , we should have spotted this sorry.

I do hope you will use us again.

kind regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    152
    156
    40
    35
See reviews for
119
138
13
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I have stayed at the hotel on one of the hottest weeks for a few years, and in all the hotel write ups I found it mentions that there is air conditioning in the rooms. I guess I got the room without the air conditioning....you get a window that opens a few inches (really not enough for 30+c temperatures) and so being in the room at night is unbearable, I havent slept for 4 nights!!
I know it's not the hotels fault that the weather is hot but they really shouldn't say the rooms have air con if they don't, as it's falsely advertising. It would have been nice if they may have offered fans or something to help try and cool off.
Other than this, the breakfast is ok, nothing to write home about, and if I was paying extra for breakfast I'd get a little annoyed with the choice, but it's ok for something included.
The room is kept clean too.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaoticliloj1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHMS, CEO of Lester Hotels at Ramada London Finchley, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your review and so sorry about the air conditioning. All the front rooms at the hotel, which get the sun during the day have air conditioning but unfortunately an external unit was damaged and it took longer to repair than we would have liked. So sorry and thank you for for putting up with this regrettable situation which was outside of our control.

Hope we see you again.

Kindest regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craiova, Romania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

The hotel is situated in a quiet area with many restaurants around. Bus 263 is 2 minutes away. 263 bus to reach the nearest Metro East Finchley in 10 minutes. Varied breakfast , but the same every day. The quality / price is very good for London.


  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Mioara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gman103, General Manager at Ramada London Finchley, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thanks for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I wasn't expecting much after reading previous reviews, but the room was fine, the decor is a bit outdated and could do with a refresh. Can't complain, it was clean, the bed was huge and comfy and the window open provided enough of a breeze to keep cool in this hot weather.
The reception staff were polite and friendly, the breakfast buffet was definitely ample and the retail / restaurant park next door came in handy if you don't want to eat at the hotel.

Ticked all the boxes - obviously it wasn't amazing, but I had nothing to complain about and would stay there again if I was in the area!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missfrogstomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gman103, General Manager at Ramada London Finchley, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thanks for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were unable to take a comfortable shower since the water flow alternated from cold to hot. Only one bath towel was provided. No floor mat was provided. No shampoo, conditioner, or lotion were provided. It appeared to us that every effort was made to cut corners at this hotel. The breakfast was good with a variety of items to select.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleuterio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHMS, CEO of Lester hotels at Ramada London Finchley, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks for your review but every bedroom has one complete set towels on display with a second set stored in the chest of drawers, and we will always supply more towels on request.

The multi use lotion is a Choice standard for shampoo, soap and gel and has proved very popular.

Thank you for your review and I am sorry you did not contact us during your stay so we could have assisted.

Kindest regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed here on a Saturday when going to see Green Day at the Emirates Stadium, chosen mainly because other hotels were so expensive at short notice. They kindly refunded me the price of a double room when I didn't need it. Overall it was good for what I needed. It's right next to an entertainment complex which includes bowling and cinema. There's ample parking, and if you need to use the Tube then East Finchley station is a 2-5 minute drive away with £2 parking all day at the weekend! Bargain!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbs1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHMS, CEO of Lester Hotels at Ramada London Finchley, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay. Unlike many hotels we dont believe in ripping people off, and as we were able to re sell the room we were happy to reimburse you.

Hope it was a good concert......humming Green Day tracks as I reply....will be in my head all day now.

Hope we see you again.

Kindest regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We arrived late to the Comfort Hotel in Finchley on a Friday evening after travelling for 7 hours on a very busy motorway. When we got there, we were asked to pay for the room straight away, which we did without question. We walked the hallways full of flickering lights which were reminiscent of a cheesy horror film, but the real horror was to come. Upon opening the door to the room, we discovered STACKS of used tissues all over the floor and the very messy unmade bed. The smell of all the 'lurve makin' was still in the air, lipstick on the glasses, even the bathroom looked post-orgie. We called down to the front desk where we were told 'Oh I'm so sorry, the cleaner is new he must have missed that one'. We were squirreled away to a better room, which was fine, but no pleasantries or compensation was offered.
We didn't have time for breakfast the first morning, but on the last day of our stay, we attempted it. We managed to get cereal, but had to wait 15 minutes for a bowl and there was almost a fight over coffee cups, as the staff just meandered through the room smiling and doing NOTHING about the hoards of irate dwellers. The breakfast room was desperately overcrowded and there was nowhere to sit, but i noticed the manager got his breakfast with no trouble at all!!!

After the hard work at the event we were all working, I was sorely disappointed and no, I would not recommend this hotel, nor would I ever give them my very hard earned cash again. Take my advice, pay a bit more for somewhere a lot more customer focussed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHMS, CEO of Lester Hotels at Ramada London Finchley, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
We will investigate this as if you say it happened then it did but I am concerned as all our rooms are double checked before being let.

Can i ask you to please contact the new GM David lloyd who starts this week and see how we can re establish your confidence in the hotel. If he is unavailable plesase leave you number and he will call you straight back.

Apologies

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Premier Inn London Sidcup
#275 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Palm Hotel
#503 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
East End / East London
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#577 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada London Finchley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada London Finchley

Property: Ramada London Finchley
Address: 3 Leisure Way | High Road Finchley, London N12 0QZ, England (Formerly Comfort Hotel Finchley)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada London Finchley 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada London Finchley is located in a quiet area of a large leisure complex minutes from major road links A405 and M1/A1M and within easy reach of tube links into central London and the west end. This modern hotel has 88 spacious en-suite bedrooms all with either King sized or Twin beds, flat screen TV, complimentary tea/coffee tray, direct dial telephones and FREE Wi-Fi. The Comfort Hotel also offers complimentary Full English Breakfast. Flames restaurant, terrace and bar are within the hotel and offer the service of coffee, lunch and dinner from their extensive Mediterranean menu and daily specials board. An extensive range of hot and cold beverages are also available throughout the day in Flames. Flames also includes a fully heated deck area giving you that ‘al fresco’ experience throughout the year, making it the ideal place to enjoy a relaxing drink or meal whatever the weather! The deck is further enhance by the addition of flats screen tv’s. Within the leisure complex there are numerous things on offer, multi-screen cinema, bowling, cafe + restaurants, swimming pool and also David Lloyd's Leisure Club offer gym/tennis/beauty at preferential rates to our guests. The hotel is near - by to Alexandra Palace and a short journey from major venues such as The Emirates – (Arsenal F.C.), White Hart Lane (Tottenham Hotspurs F.C.),Wembley Stadium and Arena, Saracens Premiership Rugby at The Allianz Stadium, the historic Pheonix Cinema, Finchley and Muswell Hill Golf Clubs, plus Brent Cross Shopping Centre is only 15 minutes away, with Central London being 30 minutes by underground. Local shops and bus routes are within 5 minutes walk of the hotel plus East Finchley Underground Station (Northern Line - the black line) is a short taxi or bus journey away, meaning your only 30 minutes away from central London. A large car park is on site offer FREE car parking and is able to offer parking for coaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada London Finchley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn London
Comfort Hotel London
Ramada London Finchley England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing