We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Hotel with a Great Staff and Location for touring London”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
St. James's Hotel and Club
Ranked #84 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Mill Creek, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel with a Great Staff and Location for touring London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2009

We were on a vacation traveling throughout the U.K with a 4 night stay in London. The hotel and staff were just perfect. Madeleine Calon, Concierge for the hotel arranged Wimbledon tickets; requested prior to our arrival, arranged for a pickup at the airport (a must after a 10 hour flight). This boutique hotel is located on a quiet street with great access to Green and St. James park (through the back door) as well as a number of very good restaurants. This location is a short walk to Buckingham Palace and several other tourist attractions. We used the St. James tube, a 10 to 15 min. walk from the hotel. The room was very well appointed, including air conditioning a surprised must for the time we were in London.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tennischick60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    162
    55
    8
    5
See reviews for
108
357
52
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2009

MBS AWARDS AND PROMOTIONAL GIFTS
(--)


To whom it may concern.

My wife and I spent last weekend, Friday 14th to Sunday 16th August 2009, visiting London.

Our choice of accommodation was The St James Hotel & Club in Park Place, St James, London.
What a great choice we made! This Hotel has many qualities that others only hope for.

Upon arrival we were enthusiastically greeted by the Concierge and reception personnel. Although a little early, our room was ready for occupation. The beautifully appointed , and spotlessly clean room had every comfort and convenience the business or pleasure traveller could expect.

Throughout our stay we were constantly greeted with a smile and an abundancy of courtesy and helpfulness by every member of staff we encountered, enabling us to feel relaxed and stress free. During our stay we had dinner one evening and breakfast two mornings in the excellent restaurant, and found the meals to be hot, beautifully cooked, comprehensive and well served by the Restaurant staff.

The location of this Hotel is perfect. Fortnum & Mason is just five minutes away. Another five minutes on and we had reached Picadilly and Leicester Square. Just a few minutes latter we were in Covent Garden. Restaurants, Bars, Theatres and so much to see in this vibrant City of London and just a short stroll away from St James Hotel.

With great regret we left our Luxurious home of 48 hours to return home, but with great memories and a final message to all the wonderful staff..."see you again soon."





Mike Bence

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ooo4mkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2009

The St James's is a dream come true. I have stayed in many top hotels during my travels for business and pleasure and more or less all the high-end hotels are much of a muchness...but then there is the St James's.

It is hard to put a finger on why its so fantastic, the staff, the rooms, the atmosphere are all second to none. I shall be staying there for all my London trips and will be suggestion it to all my chums!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monochromeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

From the moment I stepped out of the taxi the staff were extremely efficient, helpful and always greeted you with a smile. Throughout our stay they couldn’t do enough to help us when we needed anything, and they were always friendly no matter how insignificant our request may have been.

I booked the Hotel through Mr & Mrs Smith. I arrived at 8.30am after a night flight from Johannesburg, on arrival they had told me that there was a mistake with my booking as the hotel was ‘full’. So they offered me a free upgrade to the Terrace Suite, this was only available as it is can only be booked for a Friday and Saturday night stay. Even better it meant my room was available straight away.

After being closed for 18 months to undergo a complete restoration St James’s Hotel & Club reopened their doors last September. Each of the 60 guest rooms and suites are finished to the highest of standards and incorporate modern technology, giving the guest the feeling of grandeur. The Terrace suite includes a comfortable lounge area, minibar, iPod docking station, walk-in wardrobe, Jacuzzi bath, steam room, DVD Players and flat screen TVs.

The hotel’s Andaman bar offers a comfortable place to enjoy a traditional English afternoon tea, whilst escape the busy West End. In the evening the bar is a is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy the vibrant, stylish surroundings whilst sampling a St James's signature cocktail.

The breakfast menu was a mouthwateringly brilliant read. The Continental Breakfast consists of everything you could possibly dream of having, the only it lacks a wide choice fresh fruit. The Full English Breakfast uses both local and organic produced foods. For those that want something a little different to your usual hotel offerings then there is the St. James’s A-la Carte Breakfast, with offerings such as Eggs Benedict, Kedgeree with smoked haddock, and Traditional Scottish Porridge to name but a few.

The only negative about this hotel is the valet parking at a steep £58.00 for 24 hours.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mattlemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

We have stayed in many hotels during our time away.We are now to old to go far.
Having found this wonderful Hotel we will not be looking for any other in London.We had
an excellent suite beautifully decorated and furnished.There was also a balcony to
sit out.All the staff we met Vere very helpful and pleasant.
The other bonus is the position of the Hotel close to the Royal Academy Green Park Fortnum and Masons.
The food in Hotel was of a very high standard but if you need a change it is not too far to find alternatives.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cleeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2009

The St James Hotel and Club is tucked away behind the Ritz in a much quieter and more pleasant location than it's more flashy and old fashioned neighbour. I hadn't really known of it's existence that is until a friend had recommended it to me as a chic city break destination. When we arrived we were more than pleasantly surprised by how elegant and chic the whole hotel is, more so than on the hotels own website. The attention to detail was stunning as our room could and should have been featured in World Of Interiors. Everything just shouted quality from the fixtures and fittings to the beautiful art work on the walls which I believe is from the Rosenstein Collection. Our main reason for picking this Hotel was due to it's location as it is just metres away from the Royal Academy of Arts and Bond Street is just on your doorstep. If you just want to take it easy then Green Park is the perfect place to sit and unwind in the sunshine.

The Hotel has a lovely restaurant with great food and excellent service, it has a real intimate feeling about it and it made our stay all the more pleasurable. In fact the service in all areas of the Hotel during our short stay was just perfect. The highlight of our break had to be when we found out that Hollywwood had also come to stay at the hotel in the form of Samuel L Jackson. If the St James Hotel and Club is good enough for him then it is more than good enough for everyone else, as we felt like stars when we checked out.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tintin71uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2009

Having been to a number of the small luxury hotels of the world, I can safely say this is in the same league as them. All the staff were friendly and helpful. My room was exquisite, although for a short person the height of the bed did cause me one or two problems, but once on it, provided a wonderful night’s sleep.

The public rooms are beautifully decorated and provide a calm oasis to the hustle and bustle of busy London just outside the door. I spent an afternoon walking around the nearby shops of Burlington Arcade and Bond street, these are so close they are like corner shops.

I had a wonderful meal served by very professional staff before I went out to the Theatre for the evening.

All in all, this hotel is well worth a visit as it is one of the delights of London.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GreenwichLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#23 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#127 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
St. James's
The Cavendish London
The Cavendish London
#109 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#27 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,833 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#25 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,366 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Hotel and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Hotel and Club

Property: St. James's Hotel and Club
Address: 7 - 8 Park Place, London SW1A 1LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in London
#77 Luxury Hotel in London
#83 Romantic Hotel in London
#141 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. James's Hotel and Club 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. James’s Hotel and Club is a five star townhouse hotel tucked away in a quiet cul-de-sac in St James’s, near Mayfair and Piccadilly. It is ideally located within central London and it is the perfect base for shopping, culture as well as business meetings or events. A multi-million pound restoration has created a harmony between contemporary chic and Victorian elegance. With fabulous Penthouse suites and some of the best guest room terraces in London, the hotel boasts stylish, sleek, contemporary yet elegant interiors finished with handmade silk wallpaper, black lacquered furniture, handcrafted Murano glass chandeliers and polished natural stone in the bathroom. A magnificent art collection also features throughout the hotel.The Michelin-starred restaurant Seven Park Place is headed up by award-winning Executive Chef William Drabble and offers a modern-French cuisine made up of primarily British ingredients. William oversees also private dining, room service and the hotel’s more informal yet stylish dining space, William’s Bar & Bistro. Traditional afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your St. James's Hotel and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Jamess Hotel
St James Club London
Hotel St Jamess
St. James's Hotel And Club London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing