We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St. James's Hotel and Club
Ranked #88 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Murcia, Spain
Level Contributor
146 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“An absolute gem!”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed here for two nights; entertained 13 people for lunch; ate in the bistro in the evening and entertained another 2 friends on the second day for lunch. It was a really pleasurable experience at every level. The food is superb and the website gives a true portrayal of what one can expect. Do trust the sommelier Marco. We love wine and have some knowledge - but he was able to suggest some perfect matches for the food which we and all our guests loved. Paolina too contributed to a really relaxed and enjoyable meal with her unobtrusive management of a group of people who were served in a timely and friendly manner. In terms of accommodation we had two quiet and really good night's sleep in a Junior suite. All staff were helpful, accommodating and I would use a term they used, and used accurately - they hosted us. Being in a cul de sac, yet so near to lovely shopping arcades, Buckingham Palace etc. makes this a really special part of London to be in. I cannot speak highly enough of St. James's Hotel and Club.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarB524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    165
    55
    8
    6
See reviews for
111
362
52
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
682 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

My daughter chose this restaurant to celebrate her recent promotion (at my expense!). It was a wonderful experience where our group were looked after in magnificent style by the caring and considerate staff. The food was something again but the portions were refined and as both my son and I have a big appetite we were able to top up with a lovely selection of breads. This was a treat which we all enjoyed very much - thank you for the experience and congratulations Sarah!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RogerfromTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

At the last minute booked a 5 night stay at the St. James's. The journey started in London with continuation to Paris with my son during his school break. Our flight arrived at Heathrow early morning Sunday. Figured we could drop off our baggage at the hotel, wonder the streets until check in time. With much surprise and delight we were able to check in immediately.

The room was beautiful and the service was outstanding. When I make it back to London, will certainly book this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room faced the tiny street, was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoGuy0914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Perfect service, elegant rooms, excellent restaurant / room service. Staff is the best I have ever encountered -- professional, courteous, friendly. Location is wonderful -- walk to Buckingham Palace (and parks), taxis everywhere, underground not far, very quiet street in a nice neighborhood. Expensive as hell but worth every cent.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westfen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

An absolute treat, private dining, food, wine and the staff made the evening perfect. They couldnt have been more welcoming, so much effort in making you feel like the whole experiance was about you..Perfect place for a special evening.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sandy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for my wife's 50th birthday. A hidden secret in the middle of London. The staff were impeccable, very helpful and polite without being annoying. They could not do enough to make our stay more enjoyable. The rooms are well appointed and luxurious. We had pre-dinner cocktails in the small bar which were incredible. We then had dinner in the restaurant - Seven Park Place. We were not disappointed. The food and wine were fantastic. We would come back here in an instant.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Grant G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Crendon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed for one night only mid week for my wife's birthday. I had stayed there previously about 14 years ago! Since then it has undergone a lovely renovation. The location is perfect just off the busy main drag in a quiet cul-de-sac.

Steeped in history, the building itself is beautiful and very elegant. Front of house friendly and helpful. The room was spotlessly clean and well appointed with excellent bed and pillows that ensure a great nights sleep.

We stayed on the 3rd floor and had a little balcony, nice touch.

Breakfast was enjoyable (coffee was excellent - well done that Barista!). A little cramped at the small round tables though.

In all, an understated place to stay without compromising on comfort and style and away from the big faceless chains or the over priced too cool for school hotels.

Thanks again for a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: 3rd floor had nice balcony. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#136 of 1,067 in London
1,423 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#28 of 1,067 in London
1,134 reviews
St. James's
The Cavendish London
The Cavendish London
#114 of 1,067 in London
3,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#25 of 1,067 in London
3,927 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#23 of 1,067 in London
1,393 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#10 of 1,067 in London
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Hotel and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Hotel and Club

Property: St. James's Hotel and Club
Address: 7-8 Park Place, London SW1A 1LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in London
#82 Luxury Hotel in London
#83 Romantic Hotel in London
#141 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. James's Hotel and Club 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. James’s Hotel and Club is a five star townhouse hotel tucked away in a quiet cul-de-sac in St James’s, near Mayfair and Piccadilly. It is ideally located within central London and it is the perfect base for shopping, culture as well as business meetings or events. A multi-million pound restoration has created a harmony between contemporary chic and Victorian elegance. With fabulous Penthouse suites and some of the best guest room terraces in London, the hotel boasts stylish, sleek, contemporary yet elegant interiors finished with handmade silk wallpaper, black lacquered furniture, handcrafted Murano glass chandeliers and polished natural stone in the bathroom. A magnificent art collection also features throughout the hotel.The Michelin-starred restaurant Seven Park Place is headed up by award-winning Executive Chef William Drabble and offers a modern-French cuisine made up of primarily British ingredients. William oversees also private dining, room service and the hotel’s more informal yet stylish dining space, William’s Bar & Bistro. Traditional afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your St. James's Hotel and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Jamess Hotel
St James Club London
Hotel St Jamess
St. James's Hotel And Club London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing