We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top location and good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St. James's Hotel and Club
Ranked #84 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Woking
Level Contributor
188 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Top location and good service”
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located more or less behind the Ritz, hence very near Green Park, walking distance to Trafalgar Square, Buckingham Palace, shopping in Mayfair as well as the West End. The hotel is full of character on the outside and very modern on the inside. The room was a little small but you would expect that in London and it was their entry level double, the bedding and the toiletries where of top quality as was the service both at reception as well as room service. I decided to treat myself to breakfast in my room which really was top quality produce.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dominik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    164
    55
    8
    6
See reviews for
109
360
52
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

As a treat for two night was very disappointed to find on arrival didn't have my reservation via external agency, instead of being welcomed was slightly insulted when head receptionist quoted " lots of people think they have booked here" I was then annoyed to be asked if I could produce my booking via e-mail on my phone even though I had given booking confirmation number. Was reluctantly told without apology room was available. On first night waited 45 minutes for a drink via room service only to get it wrong twice. Stunning rooms. However tiles missing on bathroom floor. Was made to feel uncomfortable on what should have been a relaxing break for myself and my partner. Very disappointed for a luxury five star hotel, shame.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Graeme G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benedetta F, General Manager at St. James's Hotel and Club, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you very much for your Tripadvisor review. As you can see, I don’t normally reply on Tripadvisor, as I always feel that direct communication is more appropriate and more personal, and I only usually reply if the review is incorrect or inaccurate.

Firstly, I would like to thank you for staying with us! As you booked your stay with us via a so-called “third party”, there is always a chance that the hotel did not receive the reservation as it’s not made directly with the hotel. If you chose to book via the internet with somebody who has no connection with the hotel, unfortunately you take full responsibility.

I would always recommend booking on our hotel website or directly via our reservations number to avoid disappointment. The rates in our case are always the same or better via our website for weekend offers. If you would care to email me directly, I will be able to follow up in a more professional manner.

Thank you.
Henrik Muehle, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Ongar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
437 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Another fantastic stay , consistently good , friendly ,comfortable and just so welcoming!
We stayed for just one night whilst I booked my sister in for a three night stay coming in from the US - they loved it too.
Rooms are always spotless , big thick white towels , plenty of top quality shampoos etc .
Breakfast ,a delight, and the freshness and colour of the poached eggs is amazing.
A lovely bar to enjoy a glass or two before retiring .
Concierge and door staff are brilliant as are all the team !
Reading this you would probably think I had shares in the place , well I dont but wish I had !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldtraveller1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed here for my birthday and it was a wonderful experience. Kudos to a knowledgable concierge who organised theatre tickets and restaurant bookings.
The hotel restaurant is a beautiful treat and you can appreciate its Michelin star when you taste the food.
A lovely touch from the manager on hearing it was my birthday was a bottle of champers to our room.
Watch out for celebs as we saw a few during our stay.
The comfort of the beds is out of this world!

Room Tip: Book a suite, it is worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryTralee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The entire staff at The St. Jame's Hotel and Club were exceptional! We are Small Luxury Hotel members and were treated with VIP service from beginning to end. They accommodated our every request, anticipated our needs, exceeded our expectations and made the experience complete with luxury accommodations. The service is what makes the difference and the St. James Team delivers with service excellence! In addition the location is perfect! There is a secret passage that you can take to go through Green Park to Buckingham Palace and much more within walking distance! The Bistro has the best breakfast buffet and cappuccino, room service is gourmet and afternoon tea in the back lounge is private and feels exclusive. We will be back!

Room Tip: Tell the staff what you want and they will provide it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new orleans
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Just spent a wonderful 6 days in London, including New Year's Eve and day. Staying at the St. James was key to our enjoying the stay. We have stayed at several hotels in the past in the Mayfair and Knightsbridge areas, and we will now be sure our return is to the St. James. This is a wonderful boutique hotel tucked into a small street a few blocks off Piccadilly. It is ideally located with easy access to wherever you want to go. The Concierges took care of all our needs before and during our stay. The Doormen are professional and very helpful. The restaurant has a Star. The rooms are small (we had a junior suite and a superior room) but are well appointed and comfortable. We definitely rate this our best stay.

D

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank wwpnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

A rare treat to stay in a true gem, there can be no adverse comments. Amazing room, with tasteful
Decor through the building, Great location, quiet yet a stones throw from the action. I would love to return to this wonderful hotel, perhaps staying a little longer next time!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndyR17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#29 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#126 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
St. James's
The Cavendish London
The Cavendish London
#108 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#26 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,882 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#25 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,424 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#22 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Hotel and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Hotel and Club

Property: St. James's Hotel and Club
Address: 7-8 Park Place, London SW1A 1LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in London
#78 Luxury Hotel in London
#83 Romantic Hotel in London
#141 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. James's Hotel and Club 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. James’s Hotel and Club is a five star townhouse hotel tucked away in a quiet cul-de-sac in St James’s, near Mayfair and Piccadilly. It is ideally located within central London and it is the perfect base for shopping, culture as well as business meetings or events. A multi-million pound restoration has created a harmony between contemporary chic and Victorian elegance. With fabulous Penthouse suites and some of the best guest room terraces in London, the hotel boasts stylish, sleek, contemporary yet elegant interiors finished with handmade silk wallpaper, black lacquered furniture, handcrafted Murano glass chandeliers and polished natural stone in the bathroom. A magnificent art collection also features throughout the hotel.The Michelin-starred restaurant Seven Park Place is headed up by award-winning Executive Chef William Drabble and offers a modern-French cuisine made up of primarily British ingredients. William oversees also private dining, room service and the hotel’s more informal yet stylish dining space, William’s Bar & Bistro. Traditional afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, ACCOR, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your St. James's Hotel and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Jamess Hotel
St James Club London
Hotel St Jamess
St. James's Hotel And Club London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing