We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best London hotel I've stayed in !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. James's Hotel and Club
Ranked #102 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Having stayed in a few 5 star hotels in London, you think you know what to expect. The St James Hotel and Club exceeded our expectations and was delightful.

The doorman welcomed us on arrival, check in was fast and we were soon whisked up to our beautiful room. The service was impeccable with polite well trained staff. Having mentioned to one member of staff that it was our wedding anniversary treat, we were presented with an anniversary cake made in the Michelin starred restaurant!

The hotel location is excellent, however it's quiet location made it seem like you were miles away from the husstle of the busy streets nearby.

The rear door entrance on to Green Park was a nice touch.

The bed was comfortable and the room size good for a London hotel. Penhaligons toiletries in the bathroom added to the sense of luxury.

At breakfast the service was attentive and the selection of food was just what you'd expect from a Michelin restuarant, as was the full - english breakfast which was right up with the best I have ever eaten.

A special mention to Dan the charming doorman who could not have been more helpful and friendly.

We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (896)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

493 - 499 of 896 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was really good. The rooms were lovely, the staff and service were everything you would expect for a hotel of this standard but without being intrusive as you sometimes find. The breakfast was excellent. We didn't eat in the restaurant but had room service which was OK - my pasta was overcooked.

The location is everything though - a couple of minutes from Piccadilly and Green Park Tube puts you in the middle of everything.

We would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexHeddell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

In London on business and have now stayed at the St. James three times in the past two months. I stay here due to an affiliation with my club in the states, as such, there is about a 10% discount. First off, the staff is exceptional, from the doormen, to check in, to restaurant, all smiles and will do whatever possible to make your stay comfortable. Beds are exceptional and rooms rather large by European standards. Make no mistake, it's a great hotel. As always, I will now nit pick. Am currently in room 107, it's insanely loud, the restaurant is just above me (hence I hear ever time a chair is slid across the floor), in addition the housekeeping office is very near me, so it's a bit like grand central station. Avoid this room. My last few stays have been much better. Also, I expected some level of amenity, be it an upgrade, a bowl of fruit etc... For the loyalty I have shown. Was discouraged there was nothing. Again, great hotel with access to everything and a Michelin starred restaurant in house. Recommend you avoid room 107, and if you are a frequent guest, make sure they know at reservations... Sure my issues were just that their systems were unaware of my frequent visits. Will stay again, but be a bit more discerning on my room choice.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
4  Thank Donjo_ms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My wife and I loved this little gem of a hotel. Down a quiet street in the heart of Westminster. Close to all major art dealers, Buckingham Palace, Mayfair, National Gallery and many parks. Friendly and helpful staff. Awesome breakfast with an amazing wait staff. Well appointed room with a comfy bed, linens and nice bathrooms with high quality soaps, lotions etc. Overall great value compared to other similar hotels nearby.

Room Tip: The rooms with terraces might be nice when it's warmer, but we loved our simple room without the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bennettcale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

From the moment you enter, until you say goodbye, you will love this hotel.
The service is excellent, the rooms very nice.
Location is in the centre. Walking distance to Regent street.
We had dinner at the restaurant and this is also very good.
It does not come much better than this.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dutch-inspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel dozens of time and look forward to every time. Location is great, the staff is amazingly friendly and helpful every time, rooms, while on the smaller side, are tastefully decorated and lack nothing, breakfast has great choice. Definitely one of the best hotels in London; I have tried many in the neighborhood only to return with pleasure every time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Its a beautifull hotel, with great service, and excellent restaurant, located in the center, behind the Ritz.
it's indeed not common to find such a nice place in the center of london, combining service with top food :)
A must!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inesperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#140 of 1,081 in London
1,530 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#20 of 1,081 in London
1,244 reviews
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#118 of 1,081 in London
1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
The Cavendish London
The Cavendish London
#122 of 1,081 in London
4,161 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#16 of 1,081 in London
3,425 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#32 of 1,081 in London
3,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Hotel and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Hotel and Club

Address: 7-8 Park Place, London SW1A 1LS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in London
#83 Romantic Hotel in London
#95 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $298 - $542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — St. James's Hotel and Club 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. James’s Hotel and Club is a five star townhouse hotel tucked away in a quiet cul-de-sac in St James’s, near Mayfair and Piccadilly. It is ideally located within central London and it is the perfect base for shopping, culture as well as business meetings or events. A multi-million pound restoration has created a harmony between contemporary chic and Victorian elegance. With fabulous Penthouse suites and some of the best guest room terraces in London, the hotel boasts stylish, sleek, contemporary yet elegant interiors finished with handmade silk wallpaper, black lacquered furniture, handcrafted Murano glass chandeliers and polished natural stone in the bathroom. A magnificent art collection also features throughout the hotel.The Michelin-starred restaurant Seven Park Place is headed up by award-winning Executive Chef William Drabble and offers a modern-French cuisine made up of primarily British ingredients. William oversees also private dining, room service and the hotel’s more informal yet stylish dining space, William’s Bar & Bistro. Traditional afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your St. James's Hotel and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Jamess Hotel
St James Club London
Hotel St Jamess
St. James's Hotel And Club London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing