We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Amazing service and location for honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. James's Hotel and Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added St. James's Hotel and Club to your Saves list
St. James's Hotel and Club
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 - 8 Park Place, London SW1A 1LS, England (St. James's)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing service and location for honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed here in January for 4 nights for our honeymoon. First of all, the location is perfect. It is close to everything and we walked everywhere.

Second, the service is beyond words. Everyone knew who we were, addressed us accordingly and were incredibly helpful. The bellmen were amazing and we chatted with them every day for tips.

Our last night my husband saw a supermodel leaving the restaurant so it must be great as well.

Within location of all the great cigar and tailored mens shops.

Just amazing experience and we will always try to stay there upon our return.

Room Tip: Rooms are smaller than we expected but we had a lovely balcony and huge bathroom which totally made...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Genevieve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    123
    49
    7
    5
See reviews for
85
306
50
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vail
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

What a great little boutique hotele in the heart of London. Great service, friendly staff, stunning rooms. They have a barista in the restaurant at breakfast. The coffee was stunning and made for a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dekangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Wonderful, wonderful staff! I firmly believe that the sign of a truly good establishment is that the staff have enough manners to be charming, rather than aloof and snooty, and here is the perfect example of this. The staff were delightful; impeccable manners combined with a genuine welcome. The situation is perfect, nestled down a side street, but close to everything you need. Decor is lovely, classic and tasteful. Our room was on the smaller side, but not unusually so for London.

The only thing less than perfect about it was the breakfast: At £16 for a continental, I would hope for more variety; the choice of cheese was limited to cheddar or brie, the bread selection was bordering on dull. When I return, I think I'll just go to one of the many wonderful eateries in the area... but I will definitely return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjskathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Calm, very British, attentive service. Very good both for business and leisure. Less suitable for family with kids. Well equipped rooms, great bed and shower, excellent breakfast. 3' walk to Piccadilly.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dartzeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at the St James Hotel in November 2012 to celebrate our daughter turning 21. The check-in process was seamless and the reception staff professional. Our Junior Suite was perfect, although a little dark - partly due to the gloomy weather. The birthday dinner was organised using the services of a staff member, Silvia, who appeared in reception on our arrival and arranged to meet me in the function room to discuss final arrangements. We had booked a sit down dinner in the Mayfair Suite, which was a perfect size for the 40 of us. Together with Silvia, I was introduced to the function staff handling our dinner. They were courteous and polite, and encouraged me to check the set up of the room and make changes if necessary. Of course, everything was perfect. We were delighted to learn from the Functions Manager that the hotel were to let us use The Library for our pre-dinner drinks. This room, although small, was perfect. The food served at dinner was excellent (we had so many compliments about the meal, some from very fussy people) and the waiting staff were efficient and very professional. All in all it was perfect! Thank you St James Hotel. Afterwards, we had booked a table at Mahiki for the younger generation - this turned into a non-event as Mahiki informed the group that they had no booking and were very rude....but that is another review!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is one of London's finest places to stay, one that is further added to by having a Michelin starred restaurant as well. The staff are charming and helpful in every way. Highly recommended.

Ok, so there were still small errors such as the bath lever for bath or shower head pointing the wrong way round and the security chain on the door being put on back to front and hence being totally useless. They did tell me that in the four years since their last renovation no-one who had stayed in my room had commented on these matters (which surprised me).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ncw73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

GOOD: We stayed in the Executive Room and we loved it. Our stay lasted a few days and the front staff were exceptional. The doorman knew my name from day 1 and the rest of the staff were very professional, pleasant, and accommodating to our needs. The free umbrellas out front were a nice touch as well.

The room itself was amazing. From other reviews, I would say you want to spring for the Executive if you stay here. True, the shower is small, but the tub is an amazing way to relax at the end of the day. Room temperature control was easy and reliable. Walk in closet has plenty of space.

Location is awesome, as others have said. A great central place where you can walk to most of the main tourist attractions. It's also a really nice area to to walk around in and see what shops you discover.

BAD: There is a 5% "accommodation charge" added to the room rate, which adds up quickly in addition to the 12.5% service charge for any food. We had tea (excellent!) and took it in the back lounge but service was rather poor, almost as if we were forgotten about. TV is small for the room, but we didn't watch it, so no issue for us. Breakfast was not cheap at ~18 pounds for a conservative layout of yogurt, dry fruits/nuts, jams, and a few meats.

Room Tip: Go for the Executive room and make sure you're above floor 2 so you have plenty of natural light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RateAndReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#35 of 1,066 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 924 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#92 of 1,066 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,093 reviews
St. James's
The Cavendish London
The Cavendish London
#91 of 1,066 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 3,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#31 of 1,066 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 3,423 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#26 of 1,066 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,821 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#25 of 1,066 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Hotel and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Hotel and Club

Property: St. James's Hotel and Club
Address: 7 - 8 Park Place, London SW1A 1LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in London
#61 Business Hotel in London
#83 Romantic Hotel in London
#141 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. James's Hotel and Club 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. James’s Hotel and Club is a five star townhouse hotel tucked away in a quiet cul-de-sac in St James’s, near Mayfair and Piccadilly. It is ideally located within central London and it is the perfect base for shopping, culture as well as business meetings or events. A multi-million pound restoration has created a harmony between contemporary chic and Victorian elegance. With fabulous Penthouse suites and some of the best guest room terraces in London, the hotel boasts stylish, sleek, contemporary yet elegant interiors finished with handmade silk wallpaper, black lacquered furniture, handcrafted Murano glass chandeliers and polished natural stone in the bathroom. A magnificent art collection also features throughout the hotel.The Michelin-starred restaurant Seven Park Place is headed up by award-winning Executive Chef William Drabble and offers a modern-French cuisine made up of primarily British ingredients. William oversees also private dining, room service and the hotel’s more informal yet stylish dining space, William’s Bar & Bistro. Traditional afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, ACCOR, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your St. James's Hotel and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Jamess Hotel
St James Club London
Hotel St Jamess
St. James's Hotel And Club London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing