We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend break in center of London”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. James's Hotel and Club
Ranked #104 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I needed a centrally located London hotel and couldn't have asked for a nicer experience. The rooms are large, bathrooms wonderful (best shower in England!) and the restaurant is a must-visit.

The baths aren't large, but suitable for a nice relax. The beds and furnishings are of excellent quality and the entertainment / internet services are top notch.

St. James' Hotel and Club is most definitely our 'London hotel' of choice for the future.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room above ground level as it would give you a bit more privacy from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLR1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (887)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

527 - 533 of 887 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed here for business. Well-appointed room. On the small side, but still feels luxe and comfortable. Incredibly helpful and friendly staff at every turn. Perfect location convenient to great shopping and sites. Tucked into a cul-de-sac which adds to coziness of stay. Only sorry I didn't have chance to try Michelin-starred restaurant on premises. Other dining facilities were quite nice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bauman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

First of all, its hard to find as it is located in a tiny street behind Ritz. You can walk Any where...
The rooms are small BUT very well designed. Bed was very confortable. The bathroom is very modern, all in black, great and large bath tub.
There is a lot of technology in the room, the lighting is classy. Its very cozy.
Its a true five star service. You have the impression of beeing in a private house as the public space is very limited.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coolguyparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My family (8 ppl) stayed at this hotel 2 years ago and we were given an upgrade to their Westminster Suite. This suite was amazing and probably the coolest I've ever seen. The suite offered a huge private balcony and was very spacious. The services in the hotel was excellent and everyone from the reception staff to the door man was friendly and forthcoming.

This year we revisited the hotel and booked 3 superior rooms for 2 nights. Unfortunately 2 of the rooms were in the basement and this sadly totally changed our previously great impression of the rooms. The rooms smelled and the air-conditioning was so noisy, which made sleeping impossible.

The service and staff was still very lovely and absolute what you expect from a place like this. The bar was also very nice, offering great cocktails. However, the service there was a little slow. We had to wait 20 minutes for the drinks to arrive, but that was due to only one bar man working and he was very busy.

We are probably going to give this hotel another try soon as the overall experience was still very good. Make sure you don't get a room in the basement.

Room Tip: Basement rooms have A/C unit noise and mouldy smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cityrocker3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. Our room, delux, was small but very nice and comfortable. Good size bathroom. The room was very quiet but you could hear your neighbours slamming the doors. Location is 5* a 5 minutes stroll to Bond Street and 10 minutes to Buckingham Palace or Piccadilly Circus.
The breakfast was good with freshly squeezed juice, fruit salad, good selection of breads and jams and cold cuts.
Seven Park Place Restaurant was fantastic, but beware, they serve a lot of wine with the Menu Degustation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carpediemgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I don't often stay in London as it's commutable for me but my parents were in town for my dad's 70th. I booked this hotel having been at the launch of its refurb a couple of years before. We were given an executive room (upgrade on the booked rate) which was sumptuously appointed and had its own private terrace leading off from tall French windows. The bed was enormous and extremely comfortable, room service prompt & delicious and the lychee & rose Martinis the barman made were perfect!"

As with all hotels, the true mark of what makes a good establishment great, is how it deals with concerns. Our shower screen was letting some water under. I reported it to the Front of House manager and an maintenance were called to fix this the same day. Try getting that response in a chain hotel!

I will definitely be back to the St James. Next time i want to try a roof suite! :)

Room Tip: Ground floor Exec room 202 has a lovely private terrace off the bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheGordyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My mom and I stayed at the St. James for four nights in August. I cannot say enough about the property and the people who work there. Before we even arrived the attention paid by the concierge team was unprecedented. On property, everyone was so friendly and helpful. The property itself is immaculate and tastefully decorated with interesting artwork. The finishing touches are luxurious but none more than the bed----incredible!! Breakfast in the morning is great and service is lovely. The location is perfect and walking distance to many of the sights yet you feel more like a local than a tourist in this quiet oasis.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jules2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#141 of 1,077 in London
1,517 reviews
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#21 of 1,077 in London
1,226 reviews
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#114 of 1,077 in London
1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#13 of 1,077 in London
3,396 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#28 of 1,077 in London
4,234 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#32 of 1,077 in London
3,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Hotel and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Hotel and Club

Address: 7-8 Park Place, London SW1A 1LS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in London
#83 Romantic Hotel in London
#95 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $327 - $512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — St. James's Hotel and Club 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. James’s Hotel and Club is a five star townhouse hotel tucked away in a quiet cul-de-sac in St James’s, near Mayfair and Piccadilly. It is ideally located within central London and it is the perfect base for shopping, culture as well as business meetings or events. A multi-million pound restoration has created a harmony between contemporary chic and Victorian elegance. With fabulous Penthouse suites and some of the best guest room terraces in London, the hotel boasts stylish, sleek, contemporary yet elegant interiors finished with handmade silk wallpaper, black lacquered furniture, handcrafted Murano glass chandeliers and polished natural stone in the bathroom. A magnificent art collection also features throughout the hotel.The Michelin-starred restaurant Seven Park Place is headed up by award-winning Executive Chef William Drabble and offers a modern-French cuisine made up of primarily British ingredients. William oversees also private dining, room service and the hotel’s more informal yet stylish dining space, William’s Bar & Bistro. Traditional afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your St. James's Hotel and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Jamess Hotel
St James Club London
Hotel St Jamess
St. James's Hotel And Club London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing