We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO HOT WATER”
Review of Mina House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mina House Hotel
Ranked #457 of 946 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at 8pm to find after a day of walking around london we would not be able to have a shower until the next day and that theres nothing they can do (not even move us rooms) in the end we checked out the next day with no shower and no sympathy from staff!

Great location but poor service... very let down!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessicaalowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 217 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

Before I start this Hotel will not accept cancellations so be warned.

This isn't somewhere you would want to stay in on a romantic weekend or on holiday. But for a short functional trip to see a show, with business or visiting museums its fine. The rooms are well decorated and in good repair and very clean. The reception is spectacularly horrible....almost gloriously so. So in essence this is a nice room at a decent price in a great location...nothing more and nothing less.

Room Tip: Get breakfast on Paddington station, best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brunellechi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Budget hotels in Europe are small so expect that here. We had about 6 inches from the side of the bed to the wall. Shower was super tiny, lucky I lost weight for the trip! Also, 2 flights up on stairs with no elevator. WiFi only in the reception area, which is too bad. Ok, so it lives up to the budget quality.
The location was good, not amazing but good. It is a short walk to Hyde park and that is great. The rest of the stuff you want to see is a fair walk away so you will take the tube a lot. In that, it's great.
If you take the Heathrow Express, that will dump you off at Paddington station. It's a quick ride in but you will pay for it (more on this in other posts).
The location has a few fair restaurants, 2 Indian places right near by.

Room Tip: Get a lower floor if you can. Stairs can be a hassle after walking around all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pbergman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have booked the hotel 2 month before I went to London and aksed with my booking - knowing that there is no lift - a room close to the reception.
When I arrived there I got a room on 4th floor :(
This time at reception they was very helpful and promissed to look for another room, lower down. I asked few days later again and ... this time .. someone different, was very rude, telling me that they are fully booked.

I got room number 402, last floor, dangerous stairs.

The rooms was clean, if you do not look at the beddingbox or mattress, not nice. So let me say it like this: the parts the cleaner (well done!) could clean, has been clean. But there are several things they should still remove.

The room was basic: no safe (!!!), no glass for you toothbrush, no fridger, no hairdrayer , nor a socket next to a mirror to use your own.

So, if you are looking for a very, very basic room, close to paddington, here it is.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melly1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at the Mina House for three nights in early May 2013. The property is only a few blocks from Paddington Station and, if you take the Heathrow Express, is about an hour from your touchdown at the airport.
In my experience, all 2-3 star hotel rooms in Europe are small and our room here was as expected. The nice thing is that it was exceptionally clean thanks to daily maid service.
The hotel is being converted from two building of flats so there was still construction going on in the other building.
Pluses: Convenient to train and tube stations. Clean and in a decent neighborhood.
Minus: I would warn off any elderly that may have trouble with stairs. The staircase is narrow, winding and has a firedoor on the way up. Tough going if you have luggage.

Room Tip: Try to get a lower floor due to the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotell for 4 nights, and was very happy with the standard. Clean and nice room. And they cleaned every day. The staff was very nice, and helpful. Very close to both Paddington tube and landcaster gate tube.

Thank Birgitte M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
MStay 27 Paddington Hotel
#554 of 1,076 in London
321 reviews
Royal Eagle Hotel
#832 of 1,076 in London
1,137 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#733 of 1,076 in London
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Windsor House Hotel
Windsor House Hotel
#977 of 1,076 in London
591 reviews
Elysee Hotel
#606 of 1,076 in London
661 reviews
Comfotel Prpl
#593 of 1,076 in London
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mina House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mina House Hotel

Address: 21-23 Craven Road | Paddington, London W2 3BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #457 of 946 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $57 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mina House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mina House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mina House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing