We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Suitable to take a shower and go to bed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mina House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mina House Hotel
Ranked #362 of 791 Specialty Lodging in London
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Suitable to take a shower and go to bed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Just renovated, the tiny room and the relatively tiny price were a good choice for someone wanting to lay their heads after a long day touring London. A great plus is the vicinity to Paddington train station (and from there to Heathrow). The rooms were poorly equipped. Be warned there is no elevator.

Room Tip: Lower levels, as there is no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dvir-ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    55
    46
    26
    52
See reviews for
30
73
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Treharris, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Myself and my wife stayed here for two nights in July.We wanted somewhere cheap and near to transport.
This hotel was very well situated for buses,trains and tubes.
There are loads of shops nearby as well as a few pubs and places to eat.
As another review mentioned-the hotel is undergoing renovation work and the reception and stairs area were being seen to when we stayed.Our double room was quite small but all we needed was a bed,somewhere for our clothes and a shower room.The room was very tastefully decorated and modern and served our needs very well.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.All in all-a very reasonable place to stay near central London.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brent k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

When we arrived first, I was very disappointed - reception areas was in bad not of updating, but soon became aware that they were updating the hotla and we stayed in a very modern, clean and adequate room. Would use again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MIMI1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

This was a 3 night stay and for the price, we couldn't have gotten better. The hotel was under renovations at the time we stayed (no interruption to our sleep) but we did stay in a new room which was well appointed. The only issues we could find was that it was on the small side, but it was in London, and the shower/bathroom didn't have anywhere to put your cosmetics/soap etc. On the upside, the location was wonderful. Half way between Paddington station and Notting Gate (??) tube. Restaurants of all kinds are within a quick walk. Would highly recommend to anyone wanting a great value for money room which they won't be spending much time in - it is London after all!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in mid-May. They are in the process of renovation, so part of the hotel is updated, and the rest is in process. We stayed in the "new" section, which still was pretty basic, and nothing that I would consider overly nice. However, it had everything we needed - beds, bathroom w/ shower, and just enough space for our suitcases. We didn't run across anything uncleanly.

There is no elevator, so plan on carrying your luggage up steep, narrow stairs.

The front desk service was friendly and helpful.

The best part was that this hotel is situated just a couple blocks from Paddington Station which was very convenient for getting around town. It was nice being close enough to good transportation, but away from the craziness in the city center. The surrounding area is charming, close to Notting Hill and Hyde Park.

If you don't plan on spending much time in your room and just need a place to sleep and shower, then this would be a reasonable option. London is very expensive, so it may be worth it save some money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMT13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

The hotel seemed to be in the process of being renovated. As we walked into one part to check in, and up some pretty dingy stairs, then crossed into the 'new' section of the hotel which was pretty nice. We saw hammers/saws/drywall in the part being worked on. Once you cross into the 'new' section, its like a separate hotel. The room itself was very clean. It was small, but it contains everything in one organized package: room, bed, tv (didnt use it), bathroom, shower, toilet, sink, mirror. The WiFi works at the front desk only, and not in your room. The main thing about this hotel is that its close to Paddington station and is semi affordable. London is expensive and if you want to just have a place to sleep and then go on with your travel, this place is great. This is bare bones just a place to sleep.

Room Tip: You might be able to ask for a room near the front desk to get WiFi in the room. Otherwise forget tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfessorX_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
MStay 27 Paddington Hotel
#565 of 1,077 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Abbey Court Hotel
#753 of 1,077 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Brunel Hotel
#741 of 1,077 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Caring Hotel
#474 of 1,077 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#209 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Mitre House Hotel
#515 of 1,077 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mina House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mina House Hotel

Property: Mina House Hotel
Address: 21-23 Craven Road | Paddington, London W2 3BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #362 of 791 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mina House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Mina House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mina House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing