We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”
Review of Mina House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mina House Hotel
Ranked #314 of 908 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Myself and my wife stayed here for two nights in July.We wanted somewhere cheap and near to transport.
This hotel was very well situated for buses,trains and tubes.
There are loads of shops nearby as well as a few pubs and places to eat.
As another review mentioned-the hotel is undergoing renovation work and the reception and stairs area were being seen to when we stayed.Our double room was quite small but all we needed was a bed,somewhere for our clothes and a shower room.The room was very tastefully decorated and modern and served our needs very well.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.All in all-a very reasonable place to stay near central London.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brent k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 209 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

When we arrived first, I was very disappointed - reception areas was in bad not of updating, but soon became aware that they were updating the hotla and we stayed in a very modern, clean and adequate room. Would use again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIMI1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This was a 3 night stay and for the price, we couldn't have gotten better. The hotel was under renovations at the time we stayed (no interruption to our sleep) but we did stay in a new room which was well appointed. The only issues we could find was that it was on the small side, but it was in London, and the shower/bathroom didn't have anywhere to put your cosmetics/soap etc. On the upside, the location was wonderful. Half way between Paddington station and Notting Gate (??) tube. Restaurants of all kinds are within a quick walk. Would highly recommend to anyone wanting a great value for money room which they won't be spending much time in - it is London after all!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in mid-May. They are in the process of renovation, so part of the hotel is updated, and the rest is in process. We stayed in the "new" section, which still was pretty basic, and nothing that I would consider overly nice. However, it had everything we needed - beds, bathroom w/ shower, and just enough space for our suitcases. We didn't run across anything uncleanly.

There is no elevator, so plan on carrying your luggage up steep, narrow stairs.

The front desk service was friendly and helpful.

The best part was that this hotel is situated just a couple blocks from Paddington Station which was very convenient for getting around town. It was nice being close enough to good transportation, but away from the craziness in the city center. The surrounding area is charming, close to Notting Hill and Hyde Park.

If you don't plan on spending much time in your room and just need a place to sleep and shower, then this would be a reasonable option. London is very expensive, so it may be worth it save some money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMT13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

The hotel seemed to be in the process of being renovated. As we walked into one part to check in, and up some pretty dingy stairs, then crossed into the 'new' section of the hotel which was pretty nice. We saw hammers/saws/drywall in the part being worked on. Once you cross into the 'new' section, its like a separate hotel. The room itself was very clean. It was small, but it contains everything in one organized package: room, bed, tv (didnt use it), bathroom, shower, toilet, sink, mirror. The WiFi works at the front desk only, and not in your room. The main thing about this hotel is that its close to Paddington station and is semi affordable. London is expensive and if you want to just have a place to sleep and then go on with your travel, this place is great. This is bare bones just a place to sleep.

Room Tip: You might be able to ask for a room near the front desk to get WiFi in the room. Otherwise forget tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProfessorX_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Advertised as free wifi, but no connection at all, not even at the lobby. Really nice rooms, no breakfast room, and overall low value for money. Staff really friendly, but to no avail-

Room Tip: rooms in top floors (3-4) are newly restored, so those are the most modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calleponken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Stayed one night at this hotel earlier this week. Hotel lobby and communal areas are a little dated and shabby. Expected my room to be likewise but was pleasantly surprised. Lower floor rooms all seem to have been recently updated. Work is continuing elsewhere in the hotel to bring all rooms and communal areas up to date. The only disappointment was that i only decided to stay at this hotel in the first place because they advertised that they povided free wifi and that it was available in all rooms. Unfortunately on the night of my stay this was not the case and it was not available anywhere. Hopefully they will rectify this because if they do I will consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1879fulham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Royal Eagle Hotel
#824 of 1,075 in London
1,099 reviews
MStay 27 Paddington Hotel
#556 of 1,075 in London
311 reviews
Notting Hill
The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Caring Hotel
#536 of 1,075 in London
795 reviews
Rhodes Hotel
#334 of 1,075 in London
1,441 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#211 of 1,075 in London
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mina House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mina House Hotel

Address: 21-23 Craven Road | Paddington, London W2 3BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #314 of 908 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $74 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mina House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Mina House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mina House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing