We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location facilities staff and value in Mayfair.”
Review of The Fox Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fox Club
Ranked #573 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level Contributor
2,498 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6,605 helpful votes
“Ideal location facilities staff and value in Mayfair.”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

No idea this place existed until late the previous evening when it popped up on Late Rooms. Turned out it was perfectly situated just yards off Piccadilly at Green Park and a five minute walk from the RO-SL where we had a dinner event. There was a very slight mix up over the room because of an inadequate email from LR but this was resolved entirely satisfactorily by the Fox Club within minutes of arrival. This is an old house well adapted as a private members club with bar and good quality dining room as well as the nine bedrooms. We used eight and seven which are very well decorated and on the upper floors. There is no lift, probably because of the age, configuration and importance of the classic building which was the home for many years of the Whig radical and notorious politician Charles James Fox. The staff throughout our stay were informal friendly and entirely helpful. The rooms were very comfortable and very well equipped. I was not aware of any traffic noise. My only petty gripe was the lack of a shaving mirror. Wet shaving without being able to get close enough to the main bathroom mirror can be mildly hazardous. But this place scores 98% on everything else. The various and steady stream of members in the cosy little bar and dining room suggest that this is a civilised but unstuffy set up. As hick rustic folk from the far south west we would not get enough use to justify membership but we will certainly prefer this delightful place to others on our three or four trips to London each year. If you are planning a weeknight then you will probably need to book a lot further ahead than we did.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Jannerbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    43
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
86
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

fantastic location just down from the Ritz, across the street from Green Park and close to a tube station.... this feels what it is.... a house with a history.... we were in Room 1... in the basement... with the tube trains rumbling under us all night... probably not the best room in the house... but the bed was sumptuous with silky cotton sheets and the bathroom was the last word in luxury... Molton Brown toiletries a little bonus... the staff were casual and friendly.... the chef called in sick so we went without a cooked breakfast... but the more than adequate continental breakfast was complimentary as a result.... we opted to go and buy some goodies from the Pret a Manger round the corner to eat in our room instead of going out for supper... and because of the free Wifi and the fact that I had brought my iPad with me... meant we could watch more or less what we wanted from the selection online.... we could have used the TV in the room... but there was less choice.... bad marks for not having a bedside light on BOTH sides of the bed.... the room was incredibly hot even after we tried to turn on the rather inadequate airconditioning.... the Wifi key shown in the room blurb was out of date... but despite all this we would go back in a flash.... the friendly, helpful staff made it feel like a home from home with luxurious touches... a good combination for us

Room Tip: avoid Room 1 in the basement unless you don't mind no view and the sound of tube trains under yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

What a great change this place made from the majority of hotel & pub chains.. slightly eccentric service, even odder patrons, good bar & the suite upgrade was a delightful piece of luck.

Huge room with a freshly refurbished bathroom... couldn't have asked for more.

Oh & it's location was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank frank_alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Great location with friendly helpful staff a real home from home and looking forward to returning early in 2013. As a tip instead of heading off to Oxford street head into the back street around Shepherds market a real hidden gem of restaurants, bars and boutique shops.

Room Tip: Rooms on the road side are quiet given you are in the centre of London.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank JayceeGlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Truly exceptional hotel in a great location close to tube station and walking distance to top class shops, bars and restaurants. Wonderful friendly helpful staff. The room we stayed in (room 2) was beautiful and large. Overall 10 out of 10, we can't wait to come back for another child free weekend at the fox club!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank lc1Plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed in July 2012
We booked this very last minute for a sunday night and got a suite for £140. The bedroom was massive and full of character (massive fireplace and mirror), with a small living room attached and a gorgeous bathroom. Molton Brown tolietries most appreciated. Bed was very comfy and king size.

We had a few drinks in the bar and the staff were friendly. Bar was very quiet as it's members only. Location wise, close to Green Park tube and in safe area with plenty of restaurants. We had breakfast and it was cheap for the location.

Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Suites aren't typical 'suites' with large second room, but still good size for location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gcoopernyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Excellent rooms with a nice little bar. Its a private member bar so no 'general public' allowed.
Rooms are clean well furnished. large enough with a nice bathroom.
Location is very good as well.
Breakfast wasn't all that bad either.

Only complaint, thought its a little over priced.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GlennsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Hilton London Green Park
Hilton London Green Park
#563 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,195 reviews
Mayfair
Washington Mayfair Hotel
Washington Mayfair Hotel
#477 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Mayfair
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
#383 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#378 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,149 reviews
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#172 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,634 reviews
Mayfair
Mayfair House
Mayfair House
#693 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Club

Property: The Fox Club
Address: 46 Clarges St, London W1J 7ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#280 Romantic Hotel in London
#285 Business Hotel in London
#343 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fox Club 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Fox Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Club Hotel London
Fox Hotel London
The Fox Club London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing