We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst place ever been to for afternoon tea” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fox Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fox Club
Ranked #565 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worst place ever been to for afternoon tea”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

We did not stay at this establishment but opted for it as a birthday treat for a friend so had afternoon tea there. The staff seemed friendly enough and the hotel was not pretentious in the least but perhaps a little too unprofessional. Service was poor as well as one of the most inedible afternoon teas I've ever had and living in London, have been to many.The scones were stale and the cakes were from Tesco as I recognised them from having popped there before. There was no choice on tea-just given plain old breakfast tea and everything was dry and cold. Scones even though we did not eat them were cold. The room was tastefully decorated but they hadn't cleared up plates etc from other diners beforehand. So all in all a veru disappointing time. So bad almost comical.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank HerbieLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    42
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
84
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
calgary,ab
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights over Easter in the cavendish suite. The suite is kind of like a bedroom and a half since there is a queen bed and a single bed down the hallway to the bathroom, the room is a nice size for 3 with a desk chair and a wing back chair as well ,it looks exactly like the pictures online.
We loved the location of the hotel, it was right by green park tube station and mid day we would stop in our hotel to rest our feet. We did not eat or drink at the fox club but instead grabbed lots of snacks at the pret a manger at the corner that was excellent for breakfast,lunch and snacks.
We are however pretty low maintenance travellers so we handled the steep 3 flights of stairs that would not work for many . Also for whatever reason the phone in our room did not work for outside calls and things like the towels were rather worn in some cases.

We would come back to the Fox club again because we loved the ambiance and location as well as the price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bee-bum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Our Weekend was dependant on the Fox Club living up to its high praise and it did not dissapoint. We were already pinching ourselves from getting tickets to the Queens Diamond Jubilee Concert and picking the right Hotel was essential to making the weekend a memorable event. We did not want the posh doorman and consierge (where you feel that you have to tip for every move you make) and you certainly don't get that at the Fox Club. Instead you get friendly, helpfull staff who talk to you beacause they want to, rather than because they have to, and you feel like you have made new friends who go out of there way to assist in any way they can. The Fox Club is small (just nine rooms), but all the rooms seem immaculately clean and comfortable with everything you need for a comfortable stay.

Cooked Breakfast was a bit of a dissapointment, which may have been down to them having a new Chef, but the fresh fruit and pastries were great and service as always was brilliant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

I can't think of a single fault with this place. It's in an ideal location at a 2 minute walk from Green Park station. The room we stayed in - the Cavendish Suite - was perfect, beautifully decorated and very spacious. The hotel itself is quite small with only 9 rooms and hidden away but this all just adds to its cosy, home-like feeling, especially with all the friendly staff. I would be more than happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay just £20 more for a suite. It is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sapna66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

My girlfriend and I have just got back from a perfect two night stay in the Fox Club which was absolutely superb. The hotel really is a little gem, located 2 minutes walk from the North Piccadilly exit of Green Park tube station, 5 minutes walk from Piccadilly Circus and only a couple of minutes more to Leicester Square and Trafalgar Square, ideal for Theatreland, Covent Garden, Soho, Chinatown, it really is in the heart of the West End.

We arrived late on Friday and were warmly greeted and checked in quickly and efficiently by the friendly staff. We'd been upgraded to the George IV Suite, room 2 of the 9 rooms. Our room was beautiful, spacious, well appointed and beautifully decorated and with high class fittings, Villeroy and Boch bathroom suite etc. The room has a lounge area between the bedroom and the bathroom. Everything you might need was present, a minibar, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, minisafe, TV, free wifi, Molton Brown toiletries and so on.

Drinks at the bar were reasonably priced, every member of staff we met was friendly and helpful, there is a secure entry to the hotel which is manned 24 hours a day.

On checking out we were able to leave our bags till later in the day, no fuss, again all handled with friendly efficiency.

All in all a superb experience and highly recommended, all at a price which was actually cheaper than a Premier Inn!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkMYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbor Springs, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

We happened upon the Fox Club when we changed our travel plans at the last minute to visit London for 3 days. Lucky find, as we had not heard of it before. This very small hotel is in the best location for waking around London! It has a casual atmosphere, and is good for those who want to have a nice cozy room to come back to at the end of a busy day! We stayed in the Dorset, #4, a suite with all you could want. Yes, the lighting in the room was poor, but for our short stay that didn't bother us. The manager was very friendly and helpful in seeing to our needs. As for the breakfast, best scrambled eggs ever!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mythic_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

Two tired parents decided to have a long weekend holiday, without the kids. Already in love with the city itself and now we wanted to pamper ourselves. So we spent time to explore our hotel options and booked a room from this charming hotel. and it was worth it.
The service was excellent, loved the fact that there are only 9 rooms in this hotel, very cosy and felt like home. Location couldn't be any better. Lots to see in a walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Hilton London Green Park
Hilton London Green Park
#559 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Mayfair
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
#336 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Mayfair
Washington Mayfair Hotel
Washington Mayfair Hotel
#482 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#171 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#387 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#97 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Club

Property: The Fox Club
Address: 46 Clarges St, London W1J 7ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#280 Romantic Hotel in London
#285 Business Hotel in London
#342 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fox Club 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Fox Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Club Hotel London
Fox Hotel London
The Fox Club London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing