We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Economical, friendly, and very well located.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lincoln House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lincoln House Hotel
Ranked #207 of 572 London B&B and Inns
Farmington, Maine
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Economical, friendly, and very well located.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was looking for a well-located hotel with a private bath--not that easy to find in London on the price range that interested me. Then I found the Lincoln House Hotel on-line. What a find! Tiny room exactly as described and perfectly suited for me. The staff couldn't have been more pleasant and helpful. The hotel is located wonderfully, about equidistant from the Marble Arch, Bond Street, and Baker Street tube stations, with lots to enjoy in walking distance as well. They also serve an extensive buffet breakfast at a reasonable cost, which is handy. I look forward to my next visit to London and will definitely stay here again. The only thing it lacked, from my perspective, was a lounge to relax in when I wasn't yet ready for bed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silvermainiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    145
    83
    36
    21
See reviews for
70
100
84
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

After the first night, if I had been able to find accommodation at another hotel nearby, I would have moved out. The room was tiny, the bed minute and the shower/toilet area smaller than a postage stamp. Never have I had such an unpleasant night. I am huge at 2m and 135kgs and we had a three quarter bed - not even a double. Showering was hell on earth. After the first night and our complaint, they moved us to another room with a bigger bed - it was a double bed - ON THE THIRD FLOOR - 5 flights of stairs, which was not smart for a pair of 65 year olds, after a day in London. Breakfast was a problem as seating was in short supply and we sometimes had to wait for ages for eggs etc.
I MUST say that the staff went out of their way to assist and the location was marvellous for a 5 day London visit, but as a seasoned traveller, I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: I don't know if there is a good room at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseHotel, Manager at Lincoln House Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
You seem to love writing things that you can dramatise to the extreme without being accountable, while you are supposed to be objective and fair to help other travellers in an useful manner.
Unfortunately, you seem to be an extremely difficult person to please. You expect a King size bed in a large room, at a peak period in summer in the best of location in London at a bargain price.
By your own measure you are “a huge man at 2m and 135 Kgs”, the first room that you have booked was one of our few cheap Budget Rooms, the second room you have moved in was a larger Double that you have seen and chosen as agreeable to your needs. Why complain about the flights of stairs if you have seen and chosen it personally as satisfactory. You expect a 5 star hotel accommodation at a price of 3 star in the heart of London, one of the most expensive cities in the world. Your expectations are out of touch of reality.
You ask for a special request in a Buffet Breakfast that we need to prepare to your satisfaction and you complain about waiting. I am simply lost and don’t know where do you stop.
I know we as people love to complain but this is over the board, especially when we went out of our way to please you on many other aspects by your own admittance.
You might be a seasoned traveller but mainly not to this part of the world.
Frankly speaking, you will always find something to complain about wherever you stay, even in a five star hotel. It seems some of us have lost the art of appreciation.

Thank you,
Joseph
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Arrived early and left our bags. We were told our bags would be safe in the corridor on the ground floor and that bags would be placed in our room. When we arrived back later our bags had been moved across the hallway but that is all. We then had to lug our bags up 4 flights of stairs which was hard work!!! The bathroom is tiny. So small when you are on the toilet you are pretty much in the shower. Used piece of gum on the windowsill. Good location though. A bit pricey for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Other descriptions of the shower rooms dont do them justice.basically when sitting on the toilet your feet are in the shower tray! Room was clean enough although i was disturbed to find rentokil mouse killer under the bed. Breakfast was only £4.90 but waiting for a table to find no coffee and cold beans was enough to send me to wetherspoons next to baker st tube. £3.79 got me sausage bap coffee and orange juice. A nobrainer! Lincoln house has no bar. On arrival i was told i could have wine but if i wanted white he would need to chill it first! Tesco Express! Good location. Reasonably priced.Clean. Use as a base. Eat and drink elsewhere!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LincolnHouseHotel, Manager at Lincoln House Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We take all comments from our guests very seriously and without feedback from our guests and our response, we would not be able to continually monitor our services.

You have chosen to book one of our smallest rooms, possibly because it was cheaply priced due its very limited space, the sizes of the rooms are very clearly stated on our website. Most of our rooms are of an average or even a large size, though naturally the guests are expected to pay more for them. It is not reasonable to expect a large en-suite room at a bargain price in a hotel located in five stars hotel area, except if it was sold on “special offer”. Presumably you are not familiar with inner London hotel prices which tend to be on the high side.

As for the Rentokil “mouse killer” under your bed, this is not a trap but a bait enclosed in a plastic housing serving as a precaution throughout the year on all lower floors rooms. The bait is placed in the rooms by our contractor, even if there is no trace of mice. Should you have immediately brought this matter to our attention, we would have explained it to you on the spot.
As far as the breakfast service is concerned, we regret the inconvenience caused to you by waiting, though we do not rule out the possibility of some delay in service in the busy periods of the morning due to our high occupancy level and of the good value of £4.90/person, as you have previously mentioned, for over 35 items. The timing for breakfast is 6:30 – 10:00, so we allow plenty of time for all our guests to come down.
Yes, we do not have a bar since due to our very central location, there are plenty of good pubs close by. Very rarely guests ask for a drink inside the hotel. Should you have requested before your arrival, the wine would have been chilled for you!
I apologize if we couldn't meet your expectations, though we are already pleasing the great majority of our guests; that’s why they rank us highly.
You seem to find it difficult to give us a high mark on any aspect of our hotel, even the ones you have appreciated, the sum doesn't add up fairly.

Joseph Sheriff
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Good: helpful staff, carpeted floors, detailed and cozy decorations all around, free wifi
Bad: double bedroom was small (single person walking space), bathrooms may be too tight for large people, kettle was broken
Ugly: in between Baker Street & Marble Arch tube stations, with the latter slightly closer and easier to walk but both are at least 10 minutes away for tired legs.

Room Tip: Ask for the first floor as there are only stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lokety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Thank you Lincoln House Hotel for a great weekend.
The hotel has an excellent location only approx 5 min. from Oxford Street. The staff is very nice and helpfull, I could not have asked for better service.
Room has everything you need including a water boiler and free tea and coffee 24 hrs. Although the rooms are small they are comfortable and clean.
Breakfast had a good selection and tasted delicious!
I can recommand this hotel to all visitors who wants a good and cenral place to stay on a Budget.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Svein R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White River
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed for two nights, dropped off the bags early, when we returned later the bags were still one level down at reception. No lift so it was a bit of a struggle to get the luggage to the room up the narrow staircase. We requested a twin room but got a triple, one double and single bed. The bathroom is very small. The room was clean, tidy,functional and free WIFI was appreciated. We did not have breakfast at the hotel but the dining room was very basic and cluttered with luggage. I expected a bit more from the hotel at 150 per night. The hotel is about 10 Min walk from the Marble Arch or alternatively the Baker Street Underground Stations, good location.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs or narrow spaces in bathroom choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kafue1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Z at Gloucester Place
Z at Gloucester Place
#304 of 1,086 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Marylebone
St George Hotel
St George Hotel
#688 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#414 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Shaftesbury Suites London Marble Arch
Parkwood at Marble Arch
#24 of 572 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Barry House
#82 of 572 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lincoln House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lincoln House Hotel

Property: Lincoln House Hotel
Address: 33 Gloucester Place | Marble Arch, London W1U 8HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 572 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lincoln House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lincoln House Hotel is a delightfully hospitable B&B Georgian townhouse hotel, situated in Central London, close to London's diverse scenes and activities, next to Marble Arch metro station and the famous Oxford Street shopping area, one minute walk from Airbus stop to London's airports. We offer a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere: en-suite rooms, full English, Vegetarian & Vegan breakfasts and free wireless internet connection throughout the hotel. CLOSED FOR RENOVATION ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lincoln House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing