We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great location, kitchenette very handly”
Review of Astons Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Astons Apartments
Ranked #717 of 1,064 Hotels in London
St. Albert, AB. Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great value, great location, kitchenette very handly”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband, teenage son and I enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Aston Apartments. The location can't be beat - a short walk to the Gloucester Road Tube Station with good restaurants and pubs nearby on a quiet street. The kitchenette made excellent use of the space with 2 burners, sink, draining board, microwave and fridge. The bathroom was small but serviceable. The room was clean and ours appeared to have been recently refurbished, including a flat screen tv. Great value. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vettyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    103
    60
    39
    20
See reviews for
66
56
56
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limbo
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The road the apartments are on is really quiet for central London. They are conversions of huge old London Town Houses and still have some character. The hallways and the room I stayed in are large and spacious. However being old buildings there's no double glazing which means the rooms are colder than you might expect and some windows rattle in the wind! Still they're big old sash windows that pull right up which would be great in the summer (no a/c).

The room I stayed in had a reasonable t.v. with the usual 'freeview' channels, a good quality table and chairs, a serviceable kitchenette that had doors to conceal it, and a bathroom cubicle (up a step) which is a single fabricated unit that travelers using budget hotels will be familiar with. All the rooms had just had a new (unpainted) fire door fitted and everything was clearly safely maintained and clean.

However the rooms are far from 'new' and in mine the carpet was marked where some bright spark had put a hot pan down on it and some of the paintwork was marked but not dirty, and the wardrobe pokey. I still had a fantastic nights sleep and woke up refreshed in the center of London in a large airy room on a quiet street for just over £50. The reception staff were really friendly and helpful. WiFi is extra but I checked e-mails on the reception computer for free.

The biggy for some people is...there's no lift and some of the rooms are on the 3rd floor (that's 4th for those of you who don't count the ground floor separately from the 1st(!)). So you'll need to specify when booking if you'll have trouble with stairs or have heavy luggage.

There are lots of cafes and shops in the area for food at a reasonable range of prices. There are some great internet discounts (30-50%) available for Astons Apartments at the moment (March '13) so do shop around. I think I could have paid less than I did. Still for the location (a few minutes from Gloucester Road Tube Station and a few more from South Kensingtom) I don't think they'll be beaten on price.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor or first floor room if you struggle with stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bardo_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Great location! It's absolutely fantastic to stay in a hotel in the heart of Kensington! Superb. Astons Appartment is located in an old victorian building. Plenty of pubs, cafes and store are in the area. Gloucester Road is in 5 mins walk.
My room was clean but quite old and it really needs refurbishment. Also it was quite cold in the room. Bathroom is extremely small and uncomfortable. Bed was OK, but my pillow was awful.

Room Tip: avoid rooms in the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis-from-Fulham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gittisham, Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels, B&B's and apartments. I'm afraid that the only good things I have to say about the Astons is location, entrance hall, and the staff were helpful and friendly.
Perhaps the Executive rooms are better, but I chose to stay in a Standard Double Studio, as there was a picture of the room on the website. The size didn't bother me, but if there had been two of us it would have been a bit of a squeeze.
I think what really annoyed me was the obvious total lack of care. The table had a strip of melamine missing from it, the curtains were missing hooks, marks on walls, scuffed paint, sticky substance on beside table.
Shower curtain missing hooks, mould? and rust round base of toilet and door of shower room. Blocked sink (which I have to say the staff cleared promptly), foul smell that I thought was coming from basin, but was still there the next morning. Cracked toilet seat, obviously caused by the water from the shower that goes everywhere. Hook for the towel would have been useful, had to place it in the sink.
Slightly sticky carpet, a collection of plastic and wood hangers. One teaspoon! Plastic cutting board with food on it.
Bed was not particularly comfortable, the pillows were awful. No bed cover - which would have cheered up the room no end!
The pictures on the website suggested a three star hotel. I would say possibly a two star now, which is a shame as the location couldn't be better.
I cannot see myself staying again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahCE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed here and thoroughly enjoyed the room, with great views and very convenient to all the attractions, close enough to walk to museums and the tube was only two blocks away.
We enjoyed the self catering aspect- we had breakfast and dinner in the room. And lunch out!!
The room was very spacious and exceptionally clean, the water pressure was great!!
The staff were extremely helpful.
By the way the price is great too!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 11, which overlooked the gardens. Very quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anglophile84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Room was clean and the linen changed daily. Room and bathroom were both fairly compact but this is to be expected when paying this kind of price for accommodation in one of the posher suburbs of the capital. Staff were always friendly and welcoming so can't complain about them. Location is good as several tube stations are within walking distance as are many museums and shops such as Harrod's. Would return if I revisited London - thanks guys!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trb08150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I wanted to stay in Kensington/Chelsea area during my 4-days London break and Astons offered the best deal, so I decided to try it out despite reading negative reviews on the size of apartments.
Well, it WAS small. I stayed in the single apartment and it is just a tiny room with a single bed, kitchen cupboard and a tiny bathroom. No space to move around or even place my bag!
On the positive side, everything was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The location is wonderful - on the beatiful quiet street with a lot of pubs, restaurants and shops neary. Close to the tube station which makes geeting to/from the airport and travelling around London very convinient.
I wouldn't exactly recommend if you can afford somewhere with a bit more space, but would stay again if on a tight budget. Beware, you need to pay at check-in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NaSnezh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Ashburn Court Apartments
Ashburn Court Apartments
#635 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
South Kensington
Cranley Hotel
Cranley Hotel
#524 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#413 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
Eden Plaza Kensington
#648 of 1,064 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
South Kensington
Saint Simeon
Saint Simeon
#724 of 1,064 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#418 of 1,064 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astons Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astons Apartments

Property: Astons Apartments
Address: 31 Rosary Gardens | Kensington, London SW7 4NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #717 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Astons Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Astons, we pride ourselves in offering an impressive level of service, clean comfortable accommodation, central location, and excellent value for your money. Astons Apartments is a haven of recently refurbished studio apartments, nestled in a quiet residential street in South Kensington. With a range of studio apartments from single occupancy up to our Four Person Executive Studio Apartments, we are ideal for both the traveling executive and the family vacationer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Astons Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astons Apartments Hotel London
Astons Hotel London
Astons Hotel Apartments
Astons Apartments London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing