We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected”
Review of Astons Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Astons Apartments
Ranked #725 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Gittisham, Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I have stayed in many hotels, B&B's and apartments. I'm afraid that the only good things I have to say about the Astons is location, entrance hall, and the staff were helpful and friendly.
Perhaps the Executive rooms are better, but I chose to stay in a Standard Double Studio, as there was a picture of the room on the website. The size didn't bother me, but if there had been two of us it would have been a bit of a squeeze.
I think what really annoyed me was the obvious total lack of care. The table had a strip of melamine missing from it, the curtains were missing hooks, marks on walls, scuffed paint, sticky substance on beside table.
Shower curtain missing hooks, mould? and rust round base of toilet and door of shower room. Blocked sink (which I have to say the staff cleared promptly), foul smell that I thought was coming from basin, but was still there the next morning. Cracked toilet seat, obviously caused by the water from the shower that goes everywhere. Hook for the towel would have been useful, had to place it in the sink.
Slightly sticky carpet, a collection of plastic and wood hangers. One teaspoon! Plastic cutting board with food on it.
Bed was not particularly comfortable, the pillows were awful. No bed cover - which would have cheered up the room no end!
The pictures on the website suggested a three star hotel. I would say possibly a two star now, which is a shame as the location couldn't be better.
I cannot see myself staying again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahCE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    103
    60
    39
    20
See reviews for
66
56
56
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed here and thoroughly enjoyed the room, with great views and very convenient to all the attractions, close enough to walk to museums and the tube was only two blocks away.
We enjoyed the self catering aspect- we had breakfast and dinner in the room. And lunch out!!
The room was very spacious and exceptionally clean, the water pressure was great!!
The staff were extremely helpful.
By the way the price is great too!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 11, which overlooked the gardens. Very quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anglophile84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Room was clean and the linen changed daily. Room and bathroom were both fairly compact but this is to be expected when paying this kind of price for accommodation in one of the posher suburbs of the capital. Staff were always friendly and welcoming so can't complain about them. Location is good as several tube stations are within walking distance as are many museums and shops such as Harrod's. Would return if I revisited London - thanks guys!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trb08150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I wanted to stay in Kensington/Chelsea area during my 4-days London break and Astons offered the best deal, so I decided to try it out despite reading negative reviews on the size of apartments.
Well, it WAS small. I stayed in the single apartment and it is just a tiny room with a single bed, kitchen cupboard and a tiny bathroom. No space to move around or even place my bag!
On the positive side, everything was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. The location is wonderful - on the beatiful quiet street with a lot of pubs, restaurants and shops neary. Close to the tube station which makes geeting to/from the airport and travelling around London very convinient.
I wouldn't exactly recommend if you can afford somewhere with a bit more space, but would stay again if on a tight budget. Beware, you need to pay at check-in.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NaSnezh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Recently stayed for 6 nights. Overall a good experience. The location is great, good for trains and buses. Arrived very early, was able to leave my luggage there for a few hours until the room was ready. Luckily I had a room on the first floor, overlooking the street. Noticed very little street noise. Kitchenette was very handy. Bed was comfy. Bathroom was a bit disappointing. Everything is really cramped and the water from the shower goes EVERYWHERE. The shower curtain was useless. They need to look at improving this. But overall a good experience and I look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: Contact them in advance to request a room on the lower floors if available as there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crowsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
195 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Good location, quiet street in central london. Easy reach by underground. Rooms are small, bathrooms "plastic cubicles", but then for the price you pay in central london do not expect more....it is safe, they were just installing new frontdoors for the rooms. Be aware wifi is not for free!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winningspirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
170 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

The location of the property really couldn't be better. It is 5-10 mins walk from Gloucester Road tube station which is on the Piccadily line direct from Heathrow airport. It is also on a quiet side street and so you are shielded from traffic noise. There are also many many restaurants nearby as well as Tesco and Waitross. Really can't ask for more. There is even an Oxfam nearby if you want to give alway unwanted clothes and stuff.

Yes the room is tiny and the bathroom, even tinier. I had a balcony area, but since it was winter, you would hardly step out. But it does the job unless you intend to stay in the room for long periods. The staff are very helpful and professional. Internet connection is not free but reliable.

All in all, good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lowsweeheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Ashburn Court Apartments
Ashburn Court Apartments
#641 of 1,067 in London
34 reviews
South Kensington
Cranley Hotel
Cranley Hotel
#518 of 1,067 in London
770 reviews
South Kensington
Collingham Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#625 of 1,067 in London
1,268 reviews
South Kensington
Saint Simeon
Saint Simeon
#740 of 1,067 in London
352 reviews
South Kensington
Millennium Gloucester Hotel London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astons Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astons Apartments

Property: Astons Apartments
Address: 31 Rosary Gardens | Kensington, London SW7 4NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #725 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Astons Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Astons, we pride ourselves in offering an impressive level of service, clean comfortable accommodation, central location, and excellent value for your money. Astons Apartments is a haven of recently refurbished studio apartments, nestled in a quiet residential street in South Kensington. With a range of studio apartments from single occupancy up to our Four Person Executive Studio Apartments, we are ideal for both the traveling executive and the family vacationer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Astons Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astons Apartments Hotel London
Astons Hotel London
Astons Hotel Apartments
Astons Apartments London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing