We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but clean and neat; excellent location and nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lord Kensington Hotel
Ranked #713 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We have stayed here once for seven nights on the 4th floor - essentially you indeed get what you pay for. Rooms are clean and neat, however quite small as for me. If you've got a lot of luggage, as it was the case with me, hardly will you be able to fit in all the stuff, so better to pay attention to the room size before booking. Service staff is very lovely and supportive - reception is functional for 24 hours and the breakfast is quite adequate.
Among the bad features is a poor noise isolation. If you are a sensitive sleeper you may be bothered by trains of Earls Court and police cars' sirens running regularly. Also, If you are unlucky to get "loud" neighbors, that also might bring some troubles.
I general I would recommend the hotel to others (especially tourists as for business/work purposes I would prefer something quieter) and probably I would stay there again next time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antonina2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 433 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2013

I stayed here for three nights whilst returning to London primarily for my ex works Christmas lunch and drinks. I needed only a clean, single room with en-suite shower and TV. I also wanted reasonable prices from a hotel somewhere along the west side of the Piccadilly Line for easy access to Heathrow. As I do not have roaming on my 3G, Wi-Fi was also a requirement.
I chose The Lord Kensington as it seemed to have all of my requisites. My first impression of the room was how very clean it was and then how small it was. I then thought "compact" a better word to describe the room as everything I needed was to hand and cleverly fitted into the room. The very comfortable bed was either a small double or a large single, I couldn't make up my mind; if my wife had been with me we would have found it a tight squeeze. I was amused by the fact that the bedside table was a dining trolley on wheels to assist access to the door and en-suite shower room / toilet. There was always plenty of hot water for showering, something that does not always happen in a hotel of this class. The TV had plenty of freeview channels and the Wi-Fi was reasonable at £5 per day. I was there during a mild spell and found the room too hot for my taste, even though I turned the radiator down as far as I could; As I am a sound sleeper who could sleep through a rock concert in an echo chamber, opening the windows solved this for me but if the noise of embassy staff racing their Lambourghinis on the road outside or passing groups of loud drunks would keep you awake, then this may not work for you.
I would not hesitate to stay here again should the same reasons bring me back next year. My only real criticism is the breakfast. Cornflakes or rice crispies, ham, cheese, toast, yoghurts, pastries,fruit, orange juice, tea and coffee was the choice. That's fine if continental breakfast is your thing but when I am staying in a hotel I like to have to choice of cooked items as well. But hey, Earls Court Road is just a two minute walk away with all of its cafes and pubs offering traditional breakfasts.

Room Tip: Although it didn't bother me, from the front you will get the noise of passers by and sporadic c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank straggler-steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

everything you need at a very reasonable price for london. clean room (although a bit small - but adequate) comfy bed, clean en-suite, buffet breakfast - tea coffee, juice, bread, toast, croissants, pain au chocolate, cereals, yoghurt, fruit, cheese, meat, jam, eggs. friendly staff. didn't get troubled by the train noise. would definitely stay here again for a trip to london - only a few stops from earls court into city centre-

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 158neilr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The hotel and staff are all lovely & Great location as Earl's court underground station is right around the corner! Although our room was a bit small, it was very clean and equipped with everything you need! Would definetly recommend and will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerseyleanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I have stayed here several times - essentially you get what you pay for. Rooms are clean and comfortable - reception is functional and the breakfast is adequate. Close to Earls Court Station so train noise is a feature. I will stay again as the location suits my business appointments.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are quieter due to proximity to station at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonytoynton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed at this hotel this weekend to visit the London golf show and have a night in London as you do,one group was put in basement room we had room 205 with the noisy pipes which kept me awake. We stated before we travelled there would be 3 men in 1 room so to our horror when we entered room 205 we were greeted to the site of a double and single bed er hello 3 men,men don't do doubles was ready to check out when they told us they would stick an extra bed in our room erm didn't think it would fit but did so if you book a room for 3 make sure you ask for a bigger room with 3 beds in it,Didn't try breakfast so can't comment.

Room Tip: Basement has bigger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Conveniently located next to Earl's court underground. We could look out on the train platforms and also hear the noise.
Bed comfortable but no bedside lamp to read. The TV too small.
Reasonably priced but they charge too much for internet access.
The continental breakfast was boring.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LUIS G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#852 of 1,077 in London
747 reviews
Earls Court
Sara Hotel
Sara Hotel
#675 of 1,077 in London
201 reviews
Earls Court
Mowbray Court Hotel
Mowbray Court Hotel
#444 of 1,077 in London
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Amsterdam Hotel
Amsterdam Hotel
#650 of 1,077 in London
664 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#767 of 1,077 in London
462 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#664 of 1,077 in London
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Kensington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Kensington Hotel

Address: 38 Trebovir Road, London SW5 9NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #713 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $57 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lord Kensington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Lord Kensington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lord Kensington
Lord Kensington London
Lord Kensington Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing