We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good staff but not a great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grange Rochester Hotel
Ranked #491 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed here for one night for business travel. The hotel is a good location that is close to Victoria (10 minutes walk) so useful is arriving in from Gatwick Airport. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and they needed to be to deal with a number issues in the hotel. The rooms are small and very warm with no a/c (a fan was provided). There is no free fixed line internet access and the wireless charge is excessive – 10 euro a day.

Room Tip: high floor with a street side window. The internal facing rooms are airless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bear4Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,032)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

529 - 535 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

Nice building and nice pleasant location in London. Rooms are tiny and there is no air conditioning. Toilet/bathrooms need to be refurbished.

Breakfast was good and the staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I really enjoyed my three days in this hotel. It's about 5-10 minutes walk from Victoria station, yet remarkably tucked out of the way and pretty quiet.

My room was a good size, nicely done up and pleasant; the staff were helpful and friendly, even helping me out by charging my iPad each evening as I'd left my charger at home; & as mentioned, it's a good location. Even the lift / elevator was very quick.

There are plenty of choices in London but if you want to be near Victoria or Westminister, I think this is a really good option. Only negatives were that the breakfast room is quite tiny (though it's not a big hotel - I didn't have wait) and the TV had a slight strange selection of channels.

Minor things! It's not Claridges or the Ritz, but a good solid semi-luxury hotel and I will be recommending it to colleagues and friends.

Room Tip: My room was on the park / square / cricket pitch side, which may have made it quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

A beautifully presented hotel in miniature. Really lovely and elegant with wood panelling, soft lighting, and rich furnishings. The most comfortable beds and pillows. Twin rooms with double beds nicely positioned for privacy. (If you are used to a lot of space like me it was a touch small and needed air conditioning. ) Excellent service. Always acknowledged by concierge and staff when getting off the open view lift. Good breakfast included. Perfectly positioned for walking to main attractions. London extremely clean and attractive. Get the special room rate if you can and this hotel is very good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reikorangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We picked this hotel as we were going on a cruise the following day and needed to be reasonably close to the Victoria station which in fairness it was. Having arrived from North America we got a Limo company to drive us to the hotel ( Justairports.com and which we both thought was a good limo company as well). It should be pointed out that there are several steps – at least 6 up to the lobby area and as exhausted as we were you are expected to lug those cases up to reception. Check in was reasonably fast and staff were helpfull.

The room was small but quite adequate and as it happens overlooked the green space part area with veranda doors opening onto a small porch area. The weather had been warm and dry and thus our room was hot and stuffy so the opportunity to ventilate the room was a big bonus as there are no fans or air conditioning available. Beds were very comfortable but our tired state may have helped here and overall the room was in excellent condition and clean. The room did not include any breakfast and to our amazement a full English breakfast was an extortionate price of 24 pounds i.e. $ 38.5 each, well and truly excessive. As we noted the next day the breakfast area was pretty empty!

So if you want a good breakfast at more realistic prices, literally less than 100 yards down on Rochester Row and just before Vauxhall Bridge Road there is a Café Tejo and their full English breakfast costs 6.5 ($ 10.4) pounds or 10 pounds ($ 16) for two. Needless to say my wife and I opted for this option and tasty it was too.

The room rates are pricy but as the saying goes you pay for what you get and overall it was a good choice and of course if you avoid purchasing food.

Room Tip: request a room that overlooks the green - it appears to be quieter from what we learnt from other gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ratty1741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed overnight before leaving on a cruise. This is a small hotel and guests should be aware there are steps up into the hotel - difficult with luggage. Check in was slow as they were getting used to an Ipad based system which did not seem to like out of country addresses. The room was nice, clean and looked over a park. We did not have breakfast in the hotel as it was 24 pounds each - just down the road was a Portuguese café where we got a huge full English breakfast for 2people for 10 pounds (incl tea).We chose this hotel as it was close to the coach and train stations - a 5 minute taxi ride. Overall, a good clean hotel for a couple of nights stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deganwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were quite pleased with this hotel despite a double size bed ( we knew this going in). The room was a good size for London, nicely furnished , clean and a good bathroom with tub/shower. The staff are helpful and friendly. The hotel is in a quiet area , one side facing a lovely park. There are small cafes nearby to have a well priced breakfast. The hotel is within walking distance of Victoria Park, The London Eye etc. this hotel is very good value and we would go again.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room facing the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatC499248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Grange Wellington Hotel
Grange Wellington Hotel
#219 of 1,078 in London
634 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#33 of 1,078 in London
1,080 reviews
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#325 of 1,078 in London
1,679 reviews
Westminster
The Sanctuary House Hotel
The Sanctuary House Hotel
#163 of 1,078 in London
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Rochester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Rochester Hotel

Address: 69 Vincent Square | Westminster, London SW1P 2PA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#311 Luxury Hotel in London
#365 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $108 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Rochester Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located Hotel housed within building dating from 1922, in garden setting near Buckingham Palace & Houses of Parliament. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grange Rochester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Rochester London
Hotel Grange Rochester
Grange Rochester Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing