We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfying stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Cambridge Hotel
Ranked #665 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The hotel is 5 min walk from the Paddington station. We checked in at 10am and the room was ready. The room was quite small, but clean. Once the 2 medium sized luggages are kept, there's not much room left. It has tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Bathroom was old, shower cubicle was very small. For the price paid, breakfast was ok. The Receptionist was very helpful. Upon checkout, we used their luggage storage facility, which is just outside the breakfast room, under the staircase (not a separate room). Smaller backpacks could be left behind the counter at the Reception. All in all, we were very happy for the room and service for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DashYaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
There are newer reviews for The Royal Cambridge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 343 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2012

I stayed in this hotel during a four day working tour of England. My first impression as I went into the main Cambridge centre was of a nice looking hotel but it is on a main road so there is no parking in front of the hotel. The car park is down the side of it, is barrier controlled and costs £8 for residents and £16 for non residents. Hotel reception was reasonable, staff average but not over welcoming. Stayed in single room which was small, TV didn't work properly, looked over a car park and was very hot - even with the window open. Room was adequate but tired and needed refreshening. Toilet smelt and had to leave window open in bathroom. Bar expensive and took a while to get served, better food a short walk into Cambridge in the evening. Breakfast best bit of the stay. A beer £3.70, a shandy £3.70! Lemonade must be expensive in Cambridge. A convenient hotel for the area but I won't stay there again in a hurry - not a disaster but certainly better around!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hippodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Excellent location and value for money. Staff were very courteous and rooms were very clean.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank CameliaGomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Single room small but expected. Shower/toilet small and leaking water. TV not even receiving noise! let alone a picture. Breakfast very basic. Overpriced for even London.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dingo828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalCambridge, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
I am sorry to hear you were dissapointed with your stay and that we were unable to resolve your issues on site. We take all feedback seriously as we strive to improve our services all round and appreciate you took the time to offer your valuable feedback.
We have resolved the television signal issues and our onsite maintenance engineer has been advised to fix issues as soon as they are found.
I hope you will visit us again so we can correct any impressions you may have had

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Very convenient, super close to underground, restaurants, pubs and shops. Fairly clean. I got a very small room, but furnished with all the basics you need. Staff very polite and nice. Wifi did not work, they said there was a temporary problem with the router. I checked out at 6.30am, so I missed breakfast, served between 7.30 and 9.30am.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Service
2  Thank BradleyHeathcote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for your recent feedack. We strive to offer the best possible service and any feedback encourages our team to ensure our guests are feel comfortable and enjoy their stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I stayed for 3 weeks on a family visit from Australia. Staff were very welcoming and helpful. Location was very safe. I will be coming back again next year for my visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank rachelturneruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalCambridge, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Cambridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2012

Thank you for your recent review. We strive to offer an excellent stay to all our guests, and any feedback encourages us and helps us understand our guests needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Booked this hotel on a deal and it cost me £50 and believe me it wasn't even worth that. I would have probably paid £20 as a gesture. Our room was in the basement and next to a generator room. I asked to be moved to another room and I was told that there was not another spare room in the basement so I asked if I could be moved to another floor. That was no problem but at a cost of another £45. Me and my wife both had to purchase some ear plugs to get a bit of sleep but it was not easy with the noise of the generator. Bathroom was very tiny and if you want a shower probably best if you are stick thin and about 5'8", any bigger and you are going to struggle in the shower. I am 6'4" and average build and every time to get anything to show with I was banging my arms on the walls of the shower. Shower is not very powerful either. I had to climb over my partner to get out bed and the room was very hot and had poor air conditioning. As for the breakfast, very, very poor. D.I.Y breakfast and very limited chose and no hot option. As we left I complained and was told as a gesture of will £10 would be refunded to my card "STILL WAITING". Don't wish to be rude or offensive but the staff we dealt had a poor command of the English language so it was difficult to communicate effectively. DON'T BE FOOLED BY THE ROYAL in the name, it is far from it.

WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE!!!

It spoilt my wife's birthday.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elaineandsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#694 of 1,072 in London
361 reviews
Hotel Columbus
#504 of 1,072 in London
511 reviews
The Omega Hotel
#660 of 1,072 in London
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#432 of 1,072 in London
1,060 reviews
The Darlington Hyde Park
#222 of 1,072 in London
2,177 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Best Western Plus Delmere Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Cambridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Cambridge Hotel

Address: 124-126 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 1UB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #665 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: $107 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Cambridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Royal Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Cambridge London
Royal Cambridge Hotel London
The Royal Cambridge Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing