We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location”
Review of Bedford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bedford Hotel
Ranked #415 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a short break and not disappointed. Very good room and good food with really reasonable menu. Professional staff who were most helpful. Worth staying here, that's for sure, if you want a 'no frills' stay and handy for London's attractions.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

564 - 570 of 1,197 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014

Had a fine stay at the Bedford Hotel in room 602 for 8 days at the beginning of April. We had got a room at the front (320) initially and asked Ryan at the front desk if we could get a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the courtyard and obliged. Good central area in walking distance to many attractions and is between Russell Square and Holborn stations (get an Oyster Card for transit). Rooms were a good size and clean. Free wi-fi in 8 hour slots, just grab another when you need it. The free English Breakfast with the stay was reasonable and a good way to start the morning.

The front desk crew was helpful and nice except one older worker, don't know what his name was but we had asked about the sightseeing tours. He handed me a pamphlet and said that's all they had. I asked why the website had different tours and he said he didn't know about any website for the Bedford Hotel. I showed him (http://www.imperialhotels.co.uk/bedford) and he didn't believe it even though it was an Imperial London Hotel site. He wasn't helpful and didn't care and really didn't want to help at all, he must have been a new worker. Maybe he needs some more training in customer service.

I recommend it.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Andy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Spent 3 nights here and could not fault it. It was spotless, and the staff friendly, courteous and extremely helpful. Previous reviewers had recommended a room at the back away from the main road which is what we asked for and got. It overlooked a small but lovely garden being tended daily by 2 members of staff. It was just not hot enough for me to sit out in! The breakfast was full English and continental so no need to go hungry. It was also very good! HOWEVER, word of warning, it says breakfast served till 10 and they mean it. By 5 past tables were being re-set, the hoover was out and things were being removed.
You can buy your CityTour bus ticket at reception and get on the bus at Russell Square, 2 minute walk away!
We were able to leave our suitcase there whilst we went to Paris for two nights before returning for a last night in London, for the minimal sum of £1.50!
It is less than a 5 minute walk to Russell Square underground which is the Blue Line direct link to Heathrow. Takes around 55 minutes and is so easy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back. We were on floor 4 first time then 6 the second. In fact 628 is a corn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xpitkinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

The Bedford Hotel is really a nice hotel for a citytrip to London. The rooms are clean and with enough space for two people. Everyday nice and clean. The people are also very nice and you can use the Wi-Fi for free!

2  Thank Valerie V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Bedford hotel for one week in March 2014. Cosy, clean, great location and very helpful staff. Would recommend this hotel to all my friends and deffinitely stay there again during my next visit to London.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Pola J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Placed in a very friendly area. Easy acsess to central London and Heathrow.
A superb hotel for my needs. I will be back, and have no problems with recomending this hotel to other travellers. However, the windows must be a problem during cold wintwr days, but if you need a hotel to sleep in and a place to have breakfast; this is it. Friendly and helpful staff.


  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
1  Thank Thore B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I booked this cause of the location and cost. It was fine for my purposes. The staff were a bit hit and miss - some nice and friendly, some grumpy and clearly didn't want to be there. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Bed was really comfy. Breakfast was OK but if you have allergies bring your own bread and milk etc.; they don't offer anything that is allergy friendly. The main problem is that the walls were paper thin - I could hear everything in the room next door, like they were in the same room. Also the traffic from Southampton Row was pretty noisy. I always bring ear plugs with me and they were invaluable for this hotel. Overall it was fine - good location and decent room but bring your earplugs if you are a light sleeper. Good value for central London.

Room Tip: Try to get one at the back of the hotel not on Southampton Row. I imagine it's much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#460 of 1,081 in London
1,118 reviews
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#561 of 1,081 in London
2,116 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#401 of 1,081 in London
2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#505 of 1,081 in London
3,708 reviews
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#563 of 1,081 in London
2,735 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#138 of 1,081 in London
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Hotel

Address: 83-95 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #415 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: $144 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Bedford Hotel, peace and quiet is our priority. With the elegant bustle of Bloomsbury on every side, that might sound like an impossible task. Covent Garden and the West End are just a short walk away, and the British Museum is on our doorstep. But at the Bedford, we can promise you a good night's sleep too. How do we do it? Well, many of the rooms overlook our picturesque private garden. The Bedford is small and intimate, offering a warm welcome with a personal touch. And it's a great place to relax with company too, with a charming guest lounge and laid back café occupying the ground floor. Meanwhile, the Bedford Garden restaurant serves home-made British specialities, with a modern twist, overlooking our secret garden. We're able to offer a little corner of traditional English tranquility, here, in a bustling, international city. It's made us a firm favourite with returning guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing