We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bedford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bedford Hotel
Ranked #399 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Hitchin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and it is very well situated, clean and comfortable. The rooms are small but are quite big enough for a couple of nights and are very well maintained. As we stayed for 2 nights we had a meal included on our first night free of charge - not brilliant but as we did not pay for it we can't complain. Breakfast is buffet style and is okay although not very fresh and not very warm. However tea and coffee are brought round and this was hot and fresh. Everything you would want to visit is within easy access and buses and tubes are easily accessible too. Would stay here again as it was good value for money in central london

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HitchinMoira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    538
    264
    43
    20
See reviews for
168
400
125
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
188 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night stay on a bed and continental breakfast basis. The hotel is very clean and the staff are friendly. The hotel is central for so many places ie British Museum, Theatres, China town, Covent Garden etc. Buses stop just outside the hotel. Although both of the breakfasts are buffet style there is very little choice. We went just down the road to the Wetherspoons Shakespeare Head and their breakfast set us up fpr the rest of the day. The drinks in the bar are very reasonably priced for London and the area has every restaurant that you can imagine. We will definetly return to this hotel especially as the beds are also very good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goldenoldie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

I have made many comments regarding this hotel group. In short the hotels are excellent value, in a good location for business or sightseeing in london. They are not five star and do not pretend to be. They offer good value accommodation and in my view all you need if you want a clean room and breakfast (and bar/food) for your stay. Worth trying if you would rather spend your money on yourself than an expensive and usually impersonal hotel. I have no affiliation or connection to this group of hotels however I do use them for business and pleasure.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back if sone traffic noise would disturb you
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

This is a review of the attached public bar, Cafe London which we visited twice last week. On both occasions we found the atmosphere convivial, the staff pleasant and, for London, the prices reasonable. Would go there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cintas_OsaMinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Simple but clean, comfy rooms. Very good location and great value for money.
There's everything you need close by - 24hrs kiosk, lots of main attractions and very close to tube.

P.S Don't hold your breath to the breakfast...

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank amir_tat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Have often stayed there on trips to London - it's not too big, conveniently situated and reasonably priced. Don't forget to get the free dinner offer when you book if you are staying 2 nights or more. I like the clean white duvets. Staff are helpful with any problem you might have, wifi is free but sometimes hasn't worked in the rooms, in which case you would need to work in reception. There is a big choice at breakfast, I would like more vegetarian choices but always find something.

Room Tip: I like a room fairly high up over the garden at the back, you can see the British Museum glass roof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights it was very clean the reception staff cleaners and porters were very friendly and helpful the room was a double with a very comfortable bed the room was spotlessly clean and obviously well looked after the only complaint was the breakfast we ordered it in our room on sat and sun morning it was cold overcooked and there wasn't much of it when I complained it was dealt with so only a minor hic up would definitely stay here again and recommend too anyone it's an excellent hotel

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stewart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#409 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#581 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,500 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#337 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#286 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#674 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#462 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Hotel

Property: Bedford Hotel
Address: 83-95 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #399 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Bedford Hotel, peace and quiet is our priority. With the elegant bustle of Bloomsbury on every side, that might sound like an impossible task. Covent Garden and the West End are just a short walk away, and the British Museum is on our doorstep. But at the Bedford, we can promise you a good night's sleep too. How do we do it? Well, many of the rooms overlook our picturesque private garden. The Bedford is small and intimate, offering a warm welcome with a personal touch. And it's a great place to relax with company too, with a charming guest lounge and laid back café occupying the ground floor. Meanwhile, the Bedford Garden restaurant serves home-made British specialities, with a modern twist, overlooking our secret garden. We're able to offer a little corner of traditional English tranquility, here, in a bustling, international city. It's made us a firm favourite with returning guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TravelUp and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing