We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wayne Forrest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bedford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bedford Hotel
Ranked #395 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wayne Forrest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

We have used this hotel over the past four years. The rooms are always spotlessly clean, breakfasts substantial, staff friendly and helpful and overall the hotel is good value for money and well situated for holidaying in London. Can recommend.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Waynef123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    529
    261
    43
    19
See reviews for
162
396
124
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Booked this hotel for 1 night on a Les Miz trip. The central location meant tube journeys were kept to a minimum, it was about 5 minutes walk to the British Museum and a bit further to Covent Garden Area. The nearest tubes were Russell Square and Holburn. Nice beds and nice staff. Only slight niggle was we thought we had booked bed and breakfast but it turns out it was continental breakfast as we had booked through an agent. For some reason it is always continental breakfast unless you book with the hotel direct or through Superbreak. We had to pay £5.00 extra each for a full breakfast.

We paid what I consider to be a reasonable price in a central area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junglebook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed with our friends for 1 night. The staff were great. We had to drive so the hotel car park was very handy and we could leave the car after check out which gave us time for sight seeing on Sunday.
Our friends had a room at the rear of the hotel, we were upgraded to a more spacious room at the front of the hotel. Unfortunately for us, I'm a light sleeper so some traffic noise and the bin man at 5 a.m. disturbed my sleep, the wife was ok though.
Breakfast was a bit busy as the dining room seemed small for the amount of visitors. The food was o.k. to start off a busy day.
We all agreed we would stay here again due to location, value and helpful staff

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Hotel is in a great central position in bloomsbury
The rooms are clean with comfy beds
The staff are friendly and helpfull
The breakfasts are nice with plenty of choice
and its a cheap hotel thats better than plenty of other more expensive hotels
Next time im in london...i will be staying here again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Spent 2 nights at this hotel, which included a free first night 3 course meal. The room seemed smaller than sister hotel (President) and found the bed to be a little uncomfortable. Room was on the 6th Floor but the lifts where quick.
With the free night meal you can choose a few different venues to eat, decided to eat at the hotel, if it was not free would have been really disappointed having to pay. Food was poor and found the staff bored/surly/uninterested. Good English breakfast which had a reasonable choice and plentiful.
Location is very good being on the Piccadilly line situated between Holborn and Russell Square.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

The Bedford has been renovated since I was last there and has indeed become a "modern:"hotel. It is in my opinion the best of the Imperial Group as the staff is extremely pleasant and helpful. The room I had was quiet - at the back-overlooking the garden-and was equipped with all one would expect from a 3 star hotel---- the bathroom though small was fine and I have no complaints about the shower or the soaps which were replenished every day. The towels were also of a fair size. The beds were comfortable and sheets changed every day.All the lighting and the tv could be controlled from the bed. We had continental breakfast which was MUCH BETTER than that previously eaten at the President and the Imperial as it included three types of juice- five kinds of cereal,three different tinned fruits and white and brown bread and toast in addition to the tea and coffee and hot chocolate for my grandson. I would definitely return.. My only request would be wi fi in the bbedroom

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lornas4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Sue and I have stopped here several times before. That of itself should be a recommendation! Situated in a pleasant part of London near to the British Museum this Hotel is well located both for the northern rail stations and for central London. For central London the prices are very reasonable. We paid twice this in New York recently. The rooms are comfortable and have recently been upgraded. Go for a room at the back on a higher floor, quiet, with nice views over the rooftops. Our booking included one evening meal (not the drinks) and very nice it was too. The television has a limited number of channels so if you want to watch BBC4 for instance you will be disappointed. I am usually on CBBC if you’re interested; BBC4 is a bit too highbrow for me.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SootyCumbriaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#520 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,271 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#405 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#328 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#669 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#307 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#454 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Hotel

Property: Bedford Hotel
Address: 83-95 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #395 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Bedford Hotel, peace and quiet is our priority. With the elegant bustle of Bloomsbury on every side, that might sound like an impossible task. Covent Garden and the West End are just a short walk away, and the British Museum is on our doorstep. But at the Bedford, we can promise you a good night's sleep too. How do we do it? Well, many of the rooms overlook our picturesque private garden. The Bedford is small and intimate, offering a warm welcome with a personal touch. And it's a great place to relax with company too, with a charming guest lounge and laid back café occupying the ground floor. Meanwhile, the Bedford Garden restaurant serves home-made British specialities, with a modern twist, overlooking our secret garden. We're able to offer a little corner of traditional English tranquility, here, in a bustling, international city. It's made us a firm favourite with returning guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing