We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in a great location”
Review of Bedford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bedford Hotel
Ranked #433 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
“Good value in a great location”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel has an excellent location, about 9 minutes walk from Holborn tube station and a little less to Russell Square tube, which has lifts ( very convenient for those with heavy luggage). Lots of buses pass right by the hotel, and this is a more interesting ( and slightly cheaper but slower) way to get around.
The hotel looks a bit tired from outside, but my room (230) had very modern furniture and fittings, was very clean and the lighting was really good for reading in bed. The room was a bit small by Australian standards, but this is London, and I appreciated the wardrobe space and not having to live out of a suitcase. There was a flat screen TV and tea and coffee making, but the coffee was not to my taste; it's best to bring your own coffee, as the convenience stores across the road stock only the cheap instant stuff.
Rooms at the back of the hotel overlook a garden and do not get much traffic noise.
The staff are very friendly and helpful, and there are several lounge areas for spending quiet time. There is a nice outdoor area next to a small kids' pool, but on my visit it was too cold to stay out there.
The free wifi worked very well in my room, but strangely enough you have to ask for a new password every 8 hours, and you have to do this at reception (not by phoning from your room).
The breakfast room faces the pool and offers a selection of fruit juices, cereals, toast with jam and bacon, sausages and fried, scrambled or boiled eggs.
The coffee lounge/bar serves coffee for £1.40-£1.80, probably one of the cheapest in London.
I paid £90 a night from Monday to Thursday, £75 a night on Friday and Saturday, and £52 on Sunday. This is good value for comfortable accommodation in a great location about 400m from the British Museum.
I felt very relaxed here after busy days out seeing the sights in the bustling crowds and traffic.

Room Tip: The back rooms look over a garden and get very little traffic noise, apart from the ambulance and po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stickman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    563
    280
    47
    28
See reviews for
180
426
127
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

A very tired looking hotel from the outside and in the reception area; but very helpful friendly staff ;rooms had at least been updated but the showers were dangerously hot and cold continually and unpredictably with no warning signs

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustineDawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teesside
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Bedford Hotel, as it was our Wedding Anniversary.
All of the staff are very pleasant & helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
The bedrooms are very well furnished & have recently been refurbished.
At this time of year it was nice to have the central heating on all of the time.
We had a free evening meal on our first night, my only complaint was too many chips.
Breakfast was excellent, full English, with a great choice & everything was reasonably hot, not like some other hotels I could mention.
The bar prices were a lot cheaper than the central London pubs.
We will certainly return to this hotel on our next visit to London, and would highly recommend to everyone looking for a good hotel reasonably priced.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room & were allocated 307 which overloooks the rear of the hotel, nice &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Bedford this weekend. I find the negative comments on here hard to compehend - we had 2 nights in a spacious, clean room. All the staff we came across were highly efficient and friendly. Breakfasts were excellent and our evening meal lovely. Well done - we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank percher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Lived in London for the first 40 years of my life. Now live in Scotland. 8 years ago took my then 7 year old grandaughter to London, chose the Bedford for its location, we had a great time, nice room at the back overlooking the garden. And how nice to have a central London hotel with a pleasant garden. In 2012 took my 10 year old grandson for 3 days in London. Based on previous experience, went to the Bedford again, and asked to be at the back. Hotel had been nicely redecorated since my earlier visit. Room was clean, comfortable, and quiet. Staff on both visits very helpful and welcoming to children. Food ok, not great but not bad. As that hated outcast, a smoker, really appreciated the garden, with it's tables with ashtrays. If you don't want to eat in the hotel, plenty of other places bearby. My granddson and I had a dreadful meal in the local pizza place, and a wonderful meal in the Turkish restaurant next door. All in all, would definately go there next time I go to London.

Room Tip: Go for the back, overlooking the garden, rather than at the fron overlooking the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ann c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed one night in March 2013. Overall, my stay was a pleasant surprise; given that hotels in central London are either ludicrously expensive or plainly uninhabitable, the single room for £80 including "continental" breakfast represents very good value.

The Bedford is one of those reasonably large if aging hotels in the Russell Square area. From what I could see, it is definitely the pick of the bunch. Both the rooms and the public areas are clearly well-maintained and the room had clearly been refurbished in the recent past. Most important of all, the hotel was very clean throughout.

The single room was a decent size and the bed was comfortable. An upholstered chair served both as a "comfy chair" and a desk chair, which was a useful space saver. The flat screen TV seemed to have a good range of channels. The en-suite bathroom was a little small, but again in good order and had a bath with shower (which was very powerful). There were two small bars of soap and two small shower gel/shampoo squeezies.

The room I had faced the rear, overlooking a garden rather than the busy Southampton Row; if the road-facing rooms have the same single-glazed windows as the rear bedrooms, I suspect noise might be an issue. At the rear, there was very little noise, in truth (not bad for central London).

Breakfast wasn't too exciting, but perfectly adequate (cereals, toast, rolls and pastries). The cooked breakfast was an extra £5, but I didn't partake.

I would certainly stay here again. The hotel is very handy for Oxford Street, the British Museum and a number of Universities. It is midway between two tube stations - Russell Square and Holborn - but others are within walking distance too (e.g. Goodge Street, Euston Square etc). All the staff I met were efficient and courteous.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the property to be away from any traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BulbousSquidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Bedford Hotel is in good location for those who are visiting London for the touristic purpose very near to Russel square and Holborn Tube station. Price wise it is worth. They serve good British and continental breakfast though it is same through out the week.

Room Tip: If you want silent room it is better to choose back side room and front one is bit noisy though they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devendra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#575 of 1,069 in London
2,037 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#441 of 1,069 in London
1,043 reviews
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#511 of 1,069 in London
3,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#360 of 1,069 in London
2,092 reviews
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#594 of 1,069 in London
2,619 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#300 of 1,069 in London
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Hotel

Property: Bedford Hotel
Address: 83-95 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #433 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Bedford Hotel, peace and quiet is our priority. With the elegant bustle of Bloomsbury on every side, that might sound like an impossible task. Covent Garden and the West End are just a short walk away, and the British Museum is on our doorstep. But at the Bedford, we can promise you a good night's sleep too. How do we do it? Well, many of the rooms overlook our picturesque private garden. The Bedford is small and intimate, offering a warm welcome with a personal touch. And it's a great place to relax with company too, with a charming guest lounge and laid back café occupying the ground floor. Meanwhile, the Bedford Garden restaurant serves home-made British specialities, with a modern twist, overlooking our secret garden. We're able to offer a little corner of traditional English tranquility, here, in a bustling, international city. It's made us a firm favourite with returning guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, TravelUp, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing