We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A bit dissapointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bedford Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bedford Hotel
Ranked #419 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Eeklo, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A bit dissapointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Bedfort Hotel and left it with mixed feelings. We aren’t inclined to promote this hotel to any friends going on vacation to London due to several reasons:

- The floor of our room was covered in carpet. When entering the room you could ‘smell’ the scent from an old carpet that isn’t vacuumed enough.
- Our bath still contained some hair from the previous guests.
- The windows of the hotel are made of single-glass. This way the wind made our room ‘very chilly’. Furthermore, you could still hear all the cars (especially ambulances, police sirens,…) speeding by the hotel.
- The ‘Contintental Breakfast’ was a joke. We could chose between some toast and cornflakes. However, you could chose to have an ‘English Breakfast’ for £ 5/pp.
Though the breakfast was the same every day.
- The restaurant staff wasn’t really friendly. They were ‘patrolling’ all the time through the restaurant, making it very unpleasant to have a quiet breakfast.
- We were charged for leaving our luggage at the hotel on the last day of our trip.

But I don’t want to be all negative about this hotel, some advantages of the hotel are:

- The location of the Hotel is very good for tourists. Very near the St. Pancras / King Cross station and near a metro-stop.
- The staff at the reception was very friendly and always willing to help and assist you.
- The interior of the rooms are modern.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back end of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    481
    239
    40
    18
See reviews for
143
351
112
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed here with my daughter for 1 night stay on a Saturday. Hotel easy to get to, walk from Kings Cross station (about 10-15 mins) and 3 minute from Russell Sq underground. Reception staff very friendly and we were allowed to leave our cases there before we could check in. Room was clean and tidy, sheets crisp and clean, shower nice and hot. Temperature could be adjusted to suit and windows opened enough to get some air in. Our room was on the front so there is a bit of traffic noise but didn't stop us sleeping. Breakfast was ok nothing special but hot and plenty of it, tea and coffee continually topped up. Overall good price and quality for London centre.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side could be noisy from outside traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

excellent hotel and location stayed here previously and we are visiting again in july .hotel very clean and well presented,staff very helpfull and are always there willing to help.have only had breakfast which is plentyfull and a good choice is given.a short walk away you have the theatres,covent garen,trafalgar square and a little further buckingham palace we enjoy the walk others may prefer taxi or tube which are on the doorstep oh and not forgetting a variety of pubs and restaurants something for everyone.......

Room Tip: twin rooms very comfortable,executive rooms lovely and spacious if you spend a little longer indoors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paulajenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel has two good things going for it - very nice location in bloomsbury very close to Russel Square and amazing pricing for central london.I paid 180 pounds for a 2 mid-week nights in a single room in January which is very low for central London.
Other than that the hotel is very basic. reception are nice enough. you need to leave your key every time you go out of the hotel. There is no WIFI in the room only in the lobby and thats patchy as well. The room is ample but by no means luxurious.
If you are in town for business or on a a romantic getaway I wouldn't choose this hotel. However, if you just need a bed for the night it's a very economical choice.
Tips:
There is a great restaurant/bakery 5 minutes away from the hotel called Gail's Kitchen/Bakery. try it, you won't regret.

Room Tip: The rooms face either Southampton Row which is a busy noisy street or a backyard which is much nicer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellerisrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anston, Sheffield, South Yorks
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed two night in January booked through our travel agent through Super break.

We arrived Friday afternoon via train and tube from the North, a very easy journey with Russell Square tube being only a few minutes walk.

The staff were, we felt much more friendly than the usual London hotels! The room was small although comfortable with usual tea making and tv facilities.

Breakfast was great with good choice and plenty of refilling.

We did the sight in clouding retail therapy on Oxford street (the weekend was a Christmas pressing for my wife) the London eye and Billy Elliott the musical.

Great weekend, and we will return soon.

Recommended

Paul & Dinky

Room Tip: We stayed at the back, we're quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul_and_Dinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

After lots of debating I decided to take my 4 year old on a sightseeing trip to London on my own.

The biggest challenge was finding a hotel that would be somewhere not too busy but with good access to the main sights and easy to find from St Pancras.

This hotel in Russell Square was perfect, one stop away from St Pancras and on the Piccadilly line. Mainly used I guess by people on business. I appreciate I visited at a quiet time of year so certainly did not feel too rushed or in the way with my son.

The room was on the back so was lovely and quiet, beautifully clean.
Staff in the restaurant extremely friendly and accomodating for my son, I think it might have been a refreshing change for them to see a child!
Food was good, no complaints at all, standard buffet English style breakfast, set menu for the rest of the day.

Would definitely come again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlottecj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nth yorks uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Once again visiting London in December so decided to stay at the Bedford again.
Had a room on 3rd floor which was excellent. Sheets, blankets, duvets and the usual tea,coffee,bath necessities. Just what we had on our previous visit.
Quiet room facing the small park/terrace. Friendly receptionists. Chatted to the restaurant manageress whilst eating the usual cooked breakfast. Coffee replenished - no problems.
Quiet drinks in the bar when we returned late from theatre visit.
All in all, cant fault this hotel for the price and service offered!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet. Stayed on 3rd and 6th floor - no difference between them
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taptoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#543 of 1,072 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 1,782 reviews
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#526 of 1,072 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 2,964 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#357 of 1,072 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#561 of 1,072 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 2,301 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#307 of 1,072 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,803 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#268 of 1,072 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Hotel

Property: Bedford Hotel
Address: 83-95 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #419 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Bedford Hotel, peace and quiet is our priority. With the elegant bustle of Bloomsbury on every side, that might sound like an impossible task. Covent Garden and the West End are just a short walk away, and the British Museum is on our doorstep. But at the Bedford, we can promise you a good night's sleep too. How do we do it? Well, many of the rooms overlook our picturesque private garden. The Bedford is small and intimate, offering a warm welcome with a personal touch. And it's a great place to relax with company too, with a charming guest lounge and laid back café occupying the ground floor. Meanwhile, the Bedford Garden restaurant serves home-made British specialities, with a modern twist, overlooking our secret garden. We're able to offer a little corner of traditional English tranquility, here, in a bustling, international city. It's made us a firm favourite with returning guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing