We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly.”
Review of Bedford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bedford Hotel
Ranked #429 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly.”
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

After lots of debating I decided to take my 4 year old on a sightseeing trip to London on my own.

The biggest challenge was finding a hotel that would be somewhere not too busy but with good access to the main sights and easy to find from St Pancras.

This hotel in Russell Square was perfect, one stop away from St Pancras and on the Piccadilly line. Mainly used I guess by people on business. I appreciate I visited at a quiet time of year so certainly did not feel too rushed or in the way with my son.

The room was on the back so was lovely and quiet, beautifully clean.
Staff in the restaurant extremely friendly and accomodating for my son, I think it might have been a refreshing change for them to see a child!
Food was good, no complaints at all, standard buffet English style breakfast, set menu for the rest of the day.

Would definitely come again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlottecj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    559
    280
    46
    26
See reviews for
178
421
127
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nth yorks uk
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Once again visiting London in December so decided to stay at the Bedford again.
Had a room on 3rd floor which was excellent. Sheets, blankets, duvets and the usual tea,coffee,bath necessities. Just what we had on our previous visit.
Quiet room facing the small park/terrace. Friendly receptionists. Chatted to the restaurant manageress whilst eating the usual cooked breakfast. Coffee replenished - no problems.
Quiet drinks in the bar when we returned late from theatre visit.
All in all, cant fault this hotel for the price and service offered!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet. Stayed on 3rd and 6th floor - no difference between them
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taptoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Basic business traveller hotel, but good for tourist too. Location is 5 min. walk to Underground Station. 20 min. walk to Trafalagar square and Sherlock Holmes pub. 10 min walk to British Museum. 1.5 hour stroll to Tower Bridge. 20 min walk to Punjab (oldest Indian Restuarant in London).

We got a room next to the elevator on the 4th floor. I was worried, because of noise that usually is associated with rooms near elevator, but it was quiet. I was surprised. I thought perhaps no one else was on the 4th floor, but then the next night (Friday) there was a noisy group that woke me. I only heard the quiet ding of the elevator and they were gone. I never heard anyone else, and we stayed there 3 nights total.

The staff wasn't overly friendly nor were they rude. They greeted us pleasantly and were always polite. The room was clean. Bathroom and shower clean. Good hot water and good pressure. The bed was comfortable, supportive but not too hard or too soft. The room didn't appear to have any thermostat - but it was comfortable, not too hot or cold. The windows did not have double glazing, but the curtains were heavy so the cold stayed out. We overlooked the back patio, so it was very quiet.

We paid the 5 pounds for Full English breakfast, but their conplimentary breakfast was good too. Yoghurt, fruit, cereal, juices, toast and coffee or tea. The full English was tasty.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking back patio are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank walking4beer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Back for the 3rd time. Staff is really friendly and helpful. Since the last time (July 2011) they have renovated lots of room and with the change in furniture the rooms are a little more spacious. The location is really great, very close to the British Museum and walking distance to quite a few attractions. Food at breakfast is pretty good.

Room Tip: Rooms to the back are better as they are very quiet and face a nice garden. WiFi is not good in all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

On check in the staff were very friendly and helpful and advised us where to go for a night out. The breakfast was lovely. The staff in the restaurant were also friendly and we spent a few hours in the bar on Saturday with friends and the bar staff were very attentive and friendly also. A lovely hotel and will definately be back. The walls are a bit thin and you always get ignorant people who dont think about waking other guests and you will never get away from that. We had a room overlooking the garden which was a bit quieter but our friends stayed in a front room and had no problems

Room Tip: Room overlooking the garden is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank IrishJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Have just returned from a 3 night stay in the Bedford Hotel which is only a 5 minute walk from Russell Square tube station. Have stayed in this area before so checked out the hotel on Trip Advisor & must say I was not disappointed. It is an ideal area to stay in as Theare land is also very close. For what we paid it was value for money for a hotel in that area! Room was a good size & would appear to have just been freshly painted. The beds were comfortable, there was tea making facilities,TV, hairdrier & even an iron if needed! The continental breakfast was adequate & there was no real need to pay the extra for a full english. The staff were friendly & helpful. Would definitely stay in this hotel again. As we were at the front there was a certain amount of street noise but perhaps because we were on the 4th. floor that made the difference. Rooms at the back would I am sure be quieter.

Room Tip: On a high floor ( highest is 6) Possibly at the back would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JVP32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

This would be excellent If it was not so difficult to get a second drink at breakfast.
The hotel is good in other ways but breakfast let's it down . Lovely reception staff great location very clean rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eileenharper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#432 of 1,068 in London
1,033 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#347 of 1,068 in London
2,081 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#285 of 1,068 in London
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#64 of 1,068 in London
357 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#501 of 1,068 in London
532 reviews
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Hotel

Property: Bedford Hotel
Address: 83-95 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #429 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Bedford Hotel, peace and quiet is our priority. With the elegant bustle of Bloomsbury on every side, that might sound like an impossible task. Covent Garden and the West End are just a short walk away, and the British Museum is on our doorstep. But at the Bedford, we can promise you a good night's sleep too. How do we do it? Well, many of the rooms overlook our picturesque private garden. The Bedford is small and intimate, offering a warm welcome with a personal touch. And it's a great place to relax with company too, with a charming guest lounge and laid back café occupying the ground floor. Meanwhile, the Bedford Garden restaurant serves home-made British specialities, with a modern twist, overlooking our secret garden. We're able to offer a little corner of traditional English tranquility, here, in a bustling, international city. It's made us a firm favourite with returning guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing