We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Now Here's A Nice Surprise!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bedford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bedford Hotel
Ranked #395 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Now Here's A Nice Surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

A good quality friendly budget hotel worth considering. Basic room facilities but comfortable, spotlessly clean and in good order.

The location is excellent; a short stroll to the British Museum, Covent Garden and Oxford Street. The tube (Holborn or Russell Square) just a couple of minutes away.

With no air-conditioning be aware that Southampton Row is a very busy and noisy road which, if the windows are open, could be a nuisance. Rooms at the back of the hotel overlooking the gardens are a lot quieter.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vestigium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    529
    260
    43
    19
See reviews for
161
396
124
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed for a couple of days there. It is a very basic hotel, but features good location, with easy access to tube station and British Museum.

The staff are very friendly. London hotels are expensive - GBP 87 for single. It may not have good value for money, but it is London.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyW523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Having stayed at all the hotels in Southampton row over the last 2 years I decided to give the Bedford Hotel. As I normally stay at 4 star hotels I was very apprehensive as to the quality of the hotel. What a surprise I got! The staff on arrival were very courteous and friendly and soon had my room available. The room was very clean and I have never seen such clean white bedding in a hotel before.all the public areas were clean and all the staff had a smile on their faces. The room was spacious and warm. The staff in the restaurant were also all very quick and efficient. I will have no hesitation to stop here again in fact it will be my first choice. I have also recommended The Bedford hotel to al I know. Well done to the team your doing a great job.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed at the Bedford Hotel, strand, London on friday 09/11/12 for a long weekend. Staff friendly, hotel very clean and only a 10 minute walk from covent gardens. Bedrooms very clean and you were supplied with a hair dryer, coffee making facilities and ironing board. Would definately stay there again and would recommend to family and friends.

Room Tip: if you want a quite room away from the noise of the traffic request one out the back which has a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hempstead, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

For starters - this is a three star hotel, so do not expect five star amenities. However, The Bedford goes far beyond being a "best value" hotel. The rates are very attractive, and the location can't be beat: right in Russel Square, minutes walk from two Tube stations and close to Oxford St, Soho and Picaddily. The service is SUPERB. The guys at the front desk are helpful, nice and truly give you a feeling of being welcome. I stayed for 4 nights and each team at the front desk was really good. There was nothing that I asked for that was not provided with a smile. The room (mine was a single - with one single bed) although not huge is large enough for one person, nicely furnished, sparkling clean and newly renovated. While the bathroom is on the smalish side, again its enough for one person and is newly renovated. All in all it is a very pleasant hotel to stay in London for people who want simple but truly superb stay. The restaurant is great too, breakfast and dinner is tasety and service is excellent. I highly recomment this hotel for anybody who seeks a central hotel in a great location and excellent service.

Room Tip: The rooms facing Southampton Row (front of hotel) are noisier than the back rooms, so if you are a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I was unable to book a 4-star hotel close to the British Museum for last weekend. So booked this 3-star hotel, after reading the good reviews on Trip Advisor. I have now recommended it to everyone I know, as I had an excellend stay and cannot fault the hotel. The staff were all very efficient and friendly, the room was spotless and everything I asked for was dealt with very quickly. As recommended, I asked for a quiet room and this was on the second floor overlooking the garden. If this hotel is full, they have about 4 others in the same group and in the same area, near Russell Gardens.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you are a light sleeper. These are at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaroleDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot
Level Contributor
128 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

My Spouse and I decided to stay at the Bedford Hotel during a mini break to London.
As this Hotel has mixed reviews, I felt a little uneasy at first. However, for the price, this Hotel is good value for money. Clean and comfortable, it is basic, but for the price and location you would be hard pressed to find anything else.
The staff are very friendly and helpful, and our room was right at the top at the back overlooking the garden, so noise was kept to a minimum. The Bedford is walking distance to 2 different tube stations and also the British Museum. Excellent central location.
Breakfast is the usual fare of hot and cold buffet - good selection. But the dining area is small and cramped - best to come a bit early or later to avoid the busy time of 9 am.
We ate one night in the Hotel. Service, food and price were quite good. However, it is let down by tired decor and a limited unexciting menu. There were only two other diners apart from ourselves.If this area were revamped, I am sure a lot more guests would choose to eat in. There are a lot of nearby eateries to choose from though.
However, overall, we were pleased with our stay at the Bedford, and would choose to stay again.

Room Tip: Have a room facing the Garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigFatBudgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#404 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#331 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#303 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#668 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#453 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thanet Hotel
Thanet Hotel
#461 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Hotel

Property: Bedford Hotel
Address: 83-95 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #395 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Bedford Hotel, peace and quiet is our priority. With the elegant bustle of Bloomsbury on every side, that might sound like an impossible task. Covent Garden and the West End are just a short walk away, and the British Museum is on our doorstep. But at the Bedford, we can promise you a good night's sleep too. How do we do it? Well, many of the rooms overlook our picturesque private garden. The Bedford is small and intimate, offering a warm welcome with a personal touch. And it's a great place to relax with company too, with a charming guest lounge and laid back café occupying the ground floor. Meanwhile, the Bedford Garden restaurant serves home-made British specialities, with a modern twist, overlooking our secret garden. We're able to offer a little corner of traditional English tranquility, here, in a bustling, international city. It's made us a firm favourite with returning guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing