We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the heart of London”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bedford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bedford Hotel
Ranked #402 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Dorset
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A gem in the heart of London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I was unable to book a 4-star hotel close to the British Museum for last weekend. So booked this 3-star hotel, after reading the good reviews on Trip Advisor. I have now recommended it to everyone I know, as I had an excellend stay and cannot fault the hotel. The staff were all very efficient and friendly, the room was spotless and everything I asked for was dealt with very quickly. As recommended, I asked for a quiet room and this was on the second floor overlooking the garden. If this hotel is full, they have about 4 others in the same group and in the same area, near Russell Gardens.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you are a light sleeper. These are at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaroleDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    538
    264
    43
    20
See reviews for
168
400
125
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Talbot
Level Contributor
127 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

My Spouse and I decided to stay at the Bedford Hotel during a mini break to London.
As this Hotel has mixed reviews, I felt a little uneasy at first. However, for the price, this Hotel is good value for money. Clean and comfortable, it is basic, but for the price and location you would be hard pressed to find anything else.
The staff are very friendly and helpful, and our room was right at the top at the back overlooking the garden, so noise was kept to a minimum. The Bedford is walking distance to 2 different tube stations and also the British Museum. Excellent central location.
Breakfast is the usual fare of hot and cold buffet - good selection. But the dining area is small and cramped - best to come a bit early or later to avoid the busy time of 9 am.
We ate one night in the Hotel. Service, food and price were quite good. However, it is let down by tired decor and a limited unexciting menu. There were only two other diners apart from ourselves.If this area were revamped, I am sure a lot more guests would choose to eat in. There are a lot of nearby eateries to choose from though.
However, overall, we were pleased with our stay at the Bedford, and would choose to stay again.

Room Tip: Have a room facing the Garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigFatBudgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here because a friend had already booked, after staying previously. It was convenient to Russell Gardens Underground Station, but the hotel was pretty basic. The price of the rooms were £87 per night for a single, including breakfast, cooked or continental, again quite basic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielswst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Booked bed and breakfast, had room on 4th floor at back of hotel overlooking the garden with views of British Museum and Telecom Tower. Staff helpful and friendly, breakfast ok if busy. Hotel a bit dated from outside but rooms large enough with a comfortable large kingsize bed and had all the facilities required. Bar prices were reasonable for central London. Located 10 minutes from Holborn Station and several Theatres within 20 minutes walk, British Museum and Library both a short walk away. In addition there are several small museums nearby. We ate either in Soho or Covent Garden and again only max 25 minutes away

Room Tip: Ask for room at back overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ianlivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Have just returned from a 2 night stay with friends at the Bedford. The room was at the back of the hotel with a view of the garden and was very quiet and comfortable. The room was basic but very clean. A few hooks around would have helped to hang up coats. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Location was brilliant and we could walk to theatre land and Covent Garden. Our only criticisms would be on the food side. In our room we only had two sachets of coffee, no decaf provided and no biscuits!! The breakfast was adequate, bacon and eggs was good but bit limited on fruit and no yoghourt at all.

For the price we paid we felt we had a good deal and would probably return to this hotel or one in the Imperial Group.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I only stayed here one night and then moved across the road to the Russell. The Bedford was better value than the Russell and it has free internet although there is a strange two hour system and you have to get a new password each time. Incidentally the wifi didn't work unless I logged on in the lobby and then went to the room then it was fine. The room was very nice, a single but very spacious, the bathroom was a little small but adequate. The breakfast was again very good for the price. I knew that the roads around the area can be very noisy at night so I requested a back room which was very quiet.The front desk staff at check in was Nicklaus and he was very efficient and friendly and made a big effort to welcome me and other guests I saw. I have stayed at the Imperial and Tavistock hotels before and decided to try the Bedford this time, although the others are also good this was the best and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter and lower floors mean you don't need to use the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has an excellent location! Close to the tube station and Covent Garden.
Rooms are small but clean. Better tea/coffee in the Rooms would help.
Breakfast is excellent and staff are very helpful !!
Would stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BanbridgeNellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#411 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#583 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,500 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#337 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#290 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#678 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#80 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Hotel

Property: Bedford Hotel
Address: 83-95 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #402 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Bedford Hotel, peace and quiet is our priority. With the elegant bustle of Bloomsbury on every side, that might sound like an impossible task. Covent Garden and the West End are just a short walk away, and the British Museum is on our doorstep. But at the Bedford, we can promise you a good night's sleep too. How do we do it? Well, many of the rooms overlook our picturesque private garden. The Bedford is small and intimate, offering a warm welcome with a personal touch. And it's a great place to relax with company too, with a charming guest lounge and laid back café occupying the ground floor. Meanwhile, the Bedford Garden restaurant serves home-made British specialities, with a modern twist, overlooking our secret garden. We're able to offer a little corner of traditional English tranquility, here, in a bustling, international city. It's made us a firm favourite with returning guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TravelUp and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing