We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”
Review of Bedford Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bedford Hotel
Ranked #436 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2012

perfectly okay. Had actually booked a room at the Tavistock but they moved me to the Bedford (at no extra charge). Room clean and does the job. Great location, could walk to the west end or euston in minutes.

only grip was the over zealousness of the housekeeping staff - knocking on the door at very regular intervals from 9.00 am onwards and trying to let themselves in (luckily i'd bolted the door!).

apart from that perfectly ok stay. Wouldn't like to stay in the height of summer though as the rooms were really hot, even on a cold day with the window open.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABSWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

779 - 785 of 1,165 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2012

stayed at the bedford for three days and found it very enjoyable. the hotel is clean rooms lovely staff very friendly and food very good, would recommend and will be back.

Room Tip: ask for room at back no noise and it overlooks the lovely garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arthur_kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

This hotel is in an excellent location for Central London, Very good breakfast included well worth a visit rooms are a good size and clean.

Room Tip: Request rear room they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnboy102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

A good, reasonably priced hotel convenient to Covent Garden takes research, and sometimes the choices are quite limited. It would not be my first option, but the Bedford makes a good fallback.

The rooms are newly renovated and clean, but very simple. In the twin room I had, there was a television, a tea kettle and an iron - that was about it. The shower and the toilet were in two small separate rooms. The size of the room was pleasantly spacious.

My rate (gotten at a "Secret Hotel" booking site) included Continental Breakfast, which was pretty meager. Cereal, juice, tinned fruit, rolls and boxed pastries. You could skip it easily.

There are more pleasant options in the neighborhood, but sometimes they don't pan out. The Bedford is about on the level of a Travelodge or Motel 6 - with a similar clientele, but it's clean, reasonable and very well-situated.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlyBalletGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

My family, four adult, stayed in two twin rooms for five nights last month. We booked the room directly from the hotel.

As previous viewers said, the hotel has finished renovation so the rooms are very clean and new.

A surprise is the room size is bigger than we thought especially in London area for the price we paid. They still keep the bathroom even after renovation. We enjoyed the bath after walking whole day sightseeing London.

All staff include receptionist, cleaners, waiters, waitress are kind and helpful.

The room rate includes English buffet breakfast. Although the breakfast is same as everyday, it has many choices so we are still happy about this. We always had big breakfast so we only needed light lunch.

The windows, we think, haven't been changed so still are single glazed. We listened to previous viewers' tips to choose rooms facing backyard so it's more quiet which is important to us because we can't sleep if only little noise example chatting.

The hotel is in the middle of Holborn and Russell Square tube station. Quite convenient to access famous excursions by tube.

Overall, my family and I all like the hotel considered the price, quality and location.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed a this hotel for a 2 night theatre break/sightseeing trip of London. We had a lovely room no 105 overlooking the garden. The hotel was very clean, the staff very pleasant and overall I would recommned this hotel.We loved the little garden to sit in. (there is a smoking area) .It is a 20 min walk to the theatres and you can get the Big Bus Tour outside the British Museum(just round the corner from hotel). We would definately stay at this hotel again,

Room Tip: Ask for a garden facing room. We emailed the hotel before our visit and they happily obliged,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeanBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We often stay at one of the hotels in this chain, normally the Imperial as we like the bar but this time we stayed at the Bedford which is smaller but just across the road from the Imperial Bar. We had a quiet room overlooking the garden, it was small but all we needed for 2 days. Small but comfortable beds, nicely furnished and very clean, tea and coffee making facilities and flatscreen TV. Breakfast buffet was great, full English breakfast, included in the price. What sold this hotel to me is the garden out the back, lovely to sit out there when the sun is shining.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shoptilludrop007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#567 of 1,076 in London
2,073 reviews
Bloomsbury
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
Thistle Bloomsbury Park
#456 of 1,076 in London
1,068 reviews
Bloomsbury
President Hotel
President Hotel
#514 of 1,076 in London
3,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Tavistock Hotel
Tavistock Hotel
#583 of 1,076 in London
2,659 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#375 of 1,076 in London
2,147 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#335 of 1,076 in London
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Hotel

Address: 83-95 Southampton Row, London WC1B 4HD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #436 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: $124 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bedford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Bedford Hotel, peace and quiet is our priority. With the elegant bustle of Bloomsbury on every side, that might sound like an impossible task. Covent Garden and the West End are just a short walk away, and the British Museum is on our doorstep. But at the Bedford, we can promise you a good night's sleep too. How do we do it? Well, many of the rooms overlook our picturesque private garden. The Bedford is small and intimate, offering a warm welcome with a personal touch. And it's a great place to relax with company too, with a charming guest lounge and laid back café occupying the ground floor. Meanwhile, the Bedford Garden restaurant serves home-made British specialities, with a modern twist, overlooking our secret garden. We're able to offer a little corner of traditional English tranquility, here, in a bustling, international city. It's made us a firm favourite with returning guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Bedford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing