We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but.... Taxi service offered by the hotel is a tourist scam”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Villa Kensington
Ranked #505 of 1,068 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel but.... Taxi service offered by the hotel is a tourist scam”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The hotel is nice and in a good location.The room was cleaned and comfortable.
My only concern is that we ordered a cab in the morning and no one from the people working in the reception to include manager informed us that it is not going to be black cab but private taxi company.We ordered short trip on saturday ( 1.02) morning around 7:15 a.m. from the hotel to Earl's Court / West Brompton easy bus station ( 1,2 mile - 5min ) to go to Gatwick.
The driver in silver Toyota Privia asked us to pay £15.50 ! He had no visible mini cab license,no badge and he was not able to print out receipt ?
I asked is this normal price and he informed us we are lucky as this is minimum he is charging for trip ???
I called hotel duty manager on the same day to ask why we were not informed about on such high price on entry and about ordering private taxi instead of black cab ?
He was defending the driver and said if we want to black cab we must go on street and find one and the price we were asked to pay is not high???
So in short we were scammed on taxi which charge us highly for 1.2 mile trip and the driver had no sign of any license.So to my understanding it was someone related to staff at the hotel operating with a private car and working on a call. No comments.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
I am sorry this unfortunate event with the taxi service has somehow spoiled your experience with us. I do understand you may be upset, but I don't think is fair for you to make such serious allegations. Accusing members of my team to run a "scum"....This is completely out of order. To state the real facts I will say:
The mini-cab company we use has an extremely good reputation.
Their drivers are all licensed.
They can provide a receipt for the trip.
Their service is completely independent
Ultimately it was your choice to take up the service and prices for the trip are agreed between the customer and the taxi company; this has nothing to do with us.
Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    204
    77
    21
    9
See reviews for
117
94
66
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grimstad, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

First of all, the staff is great. Especially the Italian lady working at the desk, what a sweetheart. The room was good, a couple of touch-ups wouldn't hurt. For example the mirror in the bathroom looked like it was mounted by a couple of left-handed baboons. Big plus for aircondition in the room, not that we used it but it's a nice feature.

The localtion isn't super-exciting, but good for a quiet time. For more exciting restaurants and bars you need to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikal_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us and for leaving such nice review.
Best regards
Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I just returned from London where I stayed at The Villa Kensington. The hotel is in a quiet location and has a very helpful staff. The room was very pleasant and clean. The hotel is in the Kensington area of London within a very short walk to the Underground. There are several restaurants nearby. Because of the location you can visit the main sites in London via the Underground or catch a bus. For those of you that like a good cup of coffee there is a Starbucks and a Paul near the Underground. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mitch R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are just so pleased you had a good time staying with us. Best regards. Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

I took my 93 year old Dad to London, for a concert at the Albert Hall and some sightseeing. The Hotel was perfectly placed for the tube and the Hall. We had a good welcome, and when asked if we could have a room next to each other, it was arranged without fuss. The facilities were good and the breakfast just right. I would happily recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MGpete8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us and for your nice feedback. Please forward our very best wishes to your father. Kind regards. Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Agnes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed here after a concert at the Royal Albert Hall. Compared to other hotels in area in was very good value. A 10min brisk walk in quiet side street. Lots of restaurants nearby and a Waitrose.
Booked a twin, but ended up in spacious triple.
Beds were very comfortable.
Room and bathroom very clean.
The continental breakfast which was included in the price was excellent. Ham, cheese, eggs, selection of cereals, fresh fruit, juices, muffins etc. could pay extra for English but wasn't needed.
Staff friendly and unobtrusive.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you have taken the time to leave this review. Thank you very much. Best regards. Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I stayed here for two nights to attend a conference in Kensington. It was a bit tricky deciding how to rate this one, but on balance I decided to go for a 'very good' rating.
Good points:
- Staff are excellent - welcoming, friendly and helpful.
- The room and bathroom were very clean. No complaints there.
- The bed was really comfortable!
- As a lone female traveller, I felt safe and at home in this hotel, which is very important. Because of this, I wouldn't hesitate in returning to the hotel.
- Temperature control. A real luxury in my opinion, meaning that you can control the temperature of your room - ideal for extremes in the winter/summer.
- Great location next to tube station.
Not so good points:
- Noise. Noise travels here. The first night I woke up a few times and heard people moving around, people talking during the night. I'm a light sleeper who usually doesn't suffer badly in hotels for noise, but you can here the doors go, lift working, people using the bathroom, people talking etc.
- Finishing of the room. The hotel has really tried with the quality of fixtures, however, the way they have been fitted really lets the hotel down. In the room I had, for example, there was about an inch gap under the door, a hole in the floor between the bathroom and the bedroom, and chips on furniture.
- I had a single room. Now this was adequate for me, everything you need (wardrobe, safe, desk, tea and coffee making facilities), but others might find it small, particularly the bathroom.

Overall, this hotel is excellent value for money, and the staff make it a really welcoming place. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachelique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for leaving this very comprehensive and honest review. Well, you got everything pretty much spot on.... Next time around, please don't just put up with noisy customers. Let us know, my staff could have definitely had a word with them....Best regards. Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We stayed for one night after going to a Classic Concert at The Royal Albert Hall which was an easy 15 min walk away. We had a basement room and it was extremely comfortable. Everything was spotlessly clean and the beds were comfortable. The shower was huge and there was loads of hot water. All the staff were very friendly and I really could not fault our stay. We would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: I only saw the basement but the room was a very generous size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferdinand P, General Manager at The Villa Kensington, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave these comments. How wonderful is to read that you really liked us so much! We hope to see you soon. Take care. Ferdinand. GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#395 of 1,068 in London
778 reviews
South Kensington
London Lodge Hotel
London Lodge Hotel
#333 of 1,068 in London
678 reviews
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#299 of 1,068 in London
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park International Hotel
Park International Hotel
#350 of 1,068 in London
2,064 reviews
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#170 of 1,068 in London
952 reviews
Earls Court
Mowbray Court Hotel
Mowbray Court Hotel
#454 of 1,068 in London
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Kensington

Property: The Villa Kensington
Address: 10 - 11 Ashburn Gardens, London SW7 4DG, England (Formerly Abcone Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #505 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Villa Kensington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Villa Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abcone Hotel London
The Villa Kensington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing