We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Security incredibly rude and treating you like an american cop”
Review of Walkabout Shepherds Bush - CLOSED

Walkabout Shepherds Bush
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, American, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Shepherds Bush Walkabout is a 1200 capacity Australian themed sports bar, it is a popular music and live sports venue located in Shepherds Bush, London. It is part of a chain of Antipodean themed bars located throughout the United Kingdom, that specializes in music and sports from Australia and New Zealand, and caters to expatriates from those nations by providing food and beverages sourced from both countries. On Australian and New Zealand national holidays, big sporting events such as the Australian Football League grand final, and memorial days such as Anzac Day the Shepherds Bush Walkabout becomes very busy. The live music is usually a mixture of up and coming local acts, and cover bands that play Australian and New Zealand classic songs and contemporary popular music. It is seen by locals as the place where you let your hair down and party the night away, It doesn’t matter who you are or where you come from everyone can have a great time here, A great night out where you can meet new people from all over the world including our resident Aussie and Kiwi bar staff and spend the day or night with laid back people just wanting to have a good time.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Security incredibly rude and treating you like an american cop”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

5 stars for the vibe inside
0 for the managment: bouncers are terribly rude and want to show their superiority by making you do non-sense things: going all around to join the queue...while there is no queue..., shouting at you and treat you like dirt. one of our friend had an ID with no hologram on it, could not get in because did not fit in their machine apparently.
Not worth it just to get in.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ch g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
CHESHIRE
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good value, good quality, pub food, friendly service”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Our first visit to Shepherds Bush, for a gig at the O2 Empire, we wanted to grab something quick and simple to eat, late afternoon time, and as it was only across the road from our hotel we thought we'd try Walkabout.
We ordered the Kangaroo Burger £8 and the Classic Beef Burger £5.50, both came with a good sized portion of chips, onion rings, side salad and coleslaw. Both of the burgers were really tasty, good quality, and we were stuffed afterwards.
Also - good to remember, if you're going to a gig at the Empire, they offer you 20% off your food order, saves a few quid!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SUZELANC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“goin work on monday and looking for fun? place to be...”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

if you just wanna have some good fun, value for money and be a bit crazy, thats the place to be. it closes at 11pm anyways, you can catch the last tube and you are not forced to hang around late night. if you dont mind getting dirty and deal with some funny people, you really should experience it once. you can wear whatever you want, no one really cares.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MsValencia1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Kiwi/Ozzie pub”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Went here today to watch NZ vs Oz..(NZ won..just to get tht in) but had to log online to post a review. The Walkabout has a bit of a bad rep and I was hesitant about going. But so glad I did!! It's a good time, people are chilled, cheap alcohol and great atmosphere. If you are a homesick Londoner as well it is good to come here just to soak up the kiwi accent. Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
452 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3,373 helpful votes
“Definitely not an Australian pub”
Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

I do not know how to desrcibe this premise. I am not even sure if i should introduce anyone to visit this pub.

It is an Australian pub but the culture in the pub is certainly not Australian. Actions from men groping women's body parts to constant human gas smell and drunk people, i am not even sure if Australia has a pub that exist like this one?

Most of the people here are (sad to say) low standard who just touch any girls they could. Lots of random people kissing each other in the back corner of the pub.

The floor is constantly wet which i suspect that it could be something else rather than spilled beer? Who knows?

The only good thing about this pub is drinks are fairly cheap and songs are mainly top 40s.

Definitely will not recommend any girls to visit this pub.

If you think my tips and reviews are awesome and helpful, click 'Yes' for 'Was this review helpful?'

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelQueenie365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walkabout Shepherds Bush also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing